Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Apples apples apples

This week I found apples on the discount table at the grocery.

Food and kitchen 2015 273

Apples were also on sale ten bags for ten dollars so I bought three more bags.  One had been emptied before I realized I hadn’t taken a picture for this post.

Food and kitchen 2015 286

Then on food bank day I got more apples.  I was the last person in line and said I would be canning the apples so they gave me extra.  I also got 5 onions and four little cuties.

Food and kitchen 2015 278

So I got started canning applesauce.  I really had thought about making dehydrated apples or apple butter or canning apple pie filling but applesauce was quickest.

Food and kitchen 2015 287

I ended up with 13 pints of applesauce.

Food and kitchen 2015 289

Apples cook down alot in the process.  I use applesauce in place of oil in baking sometimes which is why I make it more often.  Ok, I like it as a healthy snack too.  🙂

7 comments on “Apples apples apples

  1. Nathalie
    May 7, 2015

    Oh yeah, you scored apples! It seems only recently that you were wishing you were getting some.

    We’ve been buying a lot of apples recently. The kids and my husband like them as snacks. My local supermarket, Publix, which is usually pretty expensive when you don’t use coupons, has had the 5-lb bags of Red Delicious apples for $1.99 for 2 weeks. I’ve been tempted to get more but I have several jars of dehydrated apples in my fridge right now and canning hasn’t worked for me. Remember how you had advised me to only do pressure canning? I thought of you earlier this week when I saw an article about someone’s home canned potatoes causing a listeria outbreak in potato salad served at a church dinner and one person died from it. Yikes!

    I made some orange marmalade using the hot water bath canning method and that seems to have worked (i’ve been eating it and I haven’t been sick or died!) but I totally messed up the grapefruit marmalade that I had tried and had to get rid of it. I also tried making that apple syrup you posted about with apple peels and cores but I’m not sure what I did that turned it into hard (as in rock hard!) candy. Maybe I just didn’t use enough water? I don’t think your post mentioned specific measures for the ratio of apples to water so I eyeballed it and failed. I had to melt it down with water in the microwave and get rid of it as well 😦 So I’m back to composting our peels and cores and I’m not keen on trying to make my own applesauce. Apparently canning IS a skill that I’m not mastering very well despite following the instructions.

    I do use applesauce when I bake as well, in lieu of vegetable oil, especially in cakes or muffins/cupcakes or fruit/veggie breads.

    • Nathalie
      May 7, 2015

      hmm, I meant to type “Oh yay!…” not “Oh yeah!”. Not sure if it makes a difference but I didn’t want you to read this with the wrong tone of voice in mind, lol.

      • Na Na
        May 8, 2015

        No difference to me. I take everything lightly.

    • Na Na
      May 8, 2015

      It sounds to me like you cooked the strained juice too long after adding the sugar. Yes, you made hard candy. The water was to be enough to “cover” the amount of peelings you had while you simmered the juice from them.

      Please don’t give up on canning. Get yourself a Ball Blue Book of canning. They are sold in grocery stores and department stores for about $6. You may be able to find a copy at the library too. Read, read, read. Follow the instructions in the book very carefully. If you don’t the consequences could be deadly.

    • Amy
      May 9, 2015

      I am a composting fiend. Over the years we have built up some fine compost which is an asset to any garden. However I am getting interested in canning now watching these posts.

  2. Kathleen
    May 7, 2015

    I have used applesauce in baking for years. It makes everything so much more moister then using oils.and it’s a lot healthier…pancakes,cakes,muffins,coffee cakes,anything that calls for oil.
    I really need to start canning my own.I usually buy the local shursave brand when its on sale.I just haven’t canned for years,last time was about 30 years ago.bread & butter pickles.hmmm. …need to get off my backside and learn again..refresher course.. 😉 I have all the tools to waterbath.waiting for my big harvest. 🙂
    Thanks for the Goad… 🙂
    Kathleen
    And Good Morning to ya!!! 🙂

    • Na Na
      May 8, 2015

      You’re welcome Kathleen. Home canned will taste a whole lot better.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 243,603 Hits
