Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Cherry season

The cherry tree in my back yard is full of cherries.  Its not quite as many as last year though.  I believe it was the lingering cold weather that kept it from blooming as much.

Food and kitchen 2015 383

So, it was time to make cherry pie filling.  It took most of two days to pick, pit, and can 13 pints.

Food and kitchen 2015 378

One jar didn’t seal.  I had planned to make a pie with it but the jar had gotten lots of canning water in it so that was out.  I hated throwing those cherries away but it was not salvageable.  There are more cherries on the tree.  I’ll pick those that are reachable with my ladder.  The rest that are too high to reach will be left for the birds to eat.

4 comments on “Cherry season

  1. Nathalie
    June 5, 2015

    So jealous! I wish we could have cherries. I planted 1 plum tree last 2 years ago and 2 nectarine trees this year so I’m hoping that at some point I’ll be able to harvest some of those. I really want a Japanese Plum tree (loquat) but I’m not sure where I would plant it.

    Be careful on that ladder!

    • Na Na
      June 6, 2015

      I had hoped to have an apple tree and a peach tree with the cherry but both died soon after planting and I never replaced them. Hmm… maybe I can plant them this year. I’m going to look into it.

  2. sarasinart
    June 5, 2015

    I have a cherry tree but it’s constant competition with the starlings to get many of the cherries.

    • Na Na
      June 6, 2015

      The cherries on my tree are a tart pie cherry. The birds don’t seem to want these cherries until they are almost over ripe. I can’t reach the top of the tree so the birds get those and leave the ones on the bottom half of the tree for me. I’d say it works for both of us.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 240,682 Hits
