Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Mother is better

I visited my mother today and she is much better.  She was bright and alert and able to eat regular food.  Even with no teeth.

Mom 2015 007

I had gone to the administrator and voiced my concern about the heavy medication she’s being given.  I spoke very sternly saying that just because the staff wants to calm her down (or doesn’t want to deal with her) is no reason to dose her to the point she can’t eat. I know I wouldn’t be able to eat if I’m barely awake either.  It could be that she is so sleepy she forgets to swallow.

If she MUST be medicated to calm her then it should be AFTER her meals, not before.  I insisted that the dose be just enough to calm her, not put her to sleep.  If she is ready to sleep then she should be put to bed for a nap.  I don’t want to see her slumped over in her chair sleeping anymore….. ever.  I put it in such a way that I mean business. I can be strong when I need to be strong.  And gentle when I need to be gentle.  I’m going to continue my daily visits for awhile just to keep an eye on things.

Anyway I wanted to update everyone about how she is doing.  BTW since I filed a complaint about her missing clothes none have gone missing.  I did make a comment to the administrator about their foreign workers.  I told her that I have no problem with workers of other countries but if the worker doesn’t speak English…. how the devil is the worker going to understand what a patient is saying to them?  I didn’t wait for an answer.

 

 

10 comments on “Mother is better

  1. Faye
    August 6, 2015

    I have worked in many nursing homes :
    1.) Visit often
    2.) Visit at various times/days
    3.) Do not leave anything valuable in your Mom’s room.
    4.) Make yourself known to the administrator and director of nursing.

    • Na Na
      August 6, 2015

      Yes, I agree and I’ve done all those things. My Mother’s clothes have stopped disappearing so often and I speak to the nurse practitioner regularly about her care. Thankfully they have stopped giving her a sedative right before meals. Its now given after she has food in her stomach. Works much better for her.

  2. MsNaUnd
    June 21, 2015

    I’m glad to read your mom is better.

    • Na Na
      June 22, 2015

      Yes, thank you. Have you removed your blog or changed the address?

  3. Kathleen
    June 17, 2015

    Glad to hear she is doing good. 🙂 I am proud of you for giving them “what for”! Great job!
    Take care
    God Bless

    • Na Na
      June 22, 2015

      Sometimes I just HAVE to do what must be done. 😉

  4. Linda Smith
    June 17, 2015

    Good for you! Before my mother passed almost everything she had was stolen, including a mini fridge we had put in her room! Can’t tell me they sneaked that out. I am so proud of you.

    • Na Na
      June 17, 2015

      Oh my goodness, that would really get me riled up. My mother’s room is right next to the exit so anything can go out the door (including patients without monitors) and no one would notice.

  5. sarasinart
    June 17, 2015

    Good news. I’ve had a lot of experience with older relatives in nursing homes. Sometimes you have to keep on top of things……..and intervene. Good for you, and for her.

    • Na Na
      June 17, 2015

      Thank you. I’ve made a point of showing up at different times so they don’t know a routine.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2015 by in MOM and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,312 Hits
