Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Zucchini pie

This past food bank day I rode with a neighbor who had planned to go that day.  The line wasn’t too terribly long.  I guess many people stayed home because of the heat.  The heat index was about 103 that day.

Art ideas 2014 024

One of the items we got was zucchini.  My neighbor doesn’t like zucchini so I took them.  I’m not sure what I can do with so much zucchini before they go bad but I’ll figure something out.

Food and kitchen 2015 454

Then I remembered that I could make a zucchini pie that tastes just like apple pie.  Its a very old recipe.  I got busy and cut up enough to make 8 cups for one pie recipe. These were very small so no seeding was necessary.

Food and kitchen 2015 456

I put them into a pan to cook with nothing but a slight sprinkle of salt and a tablespoon of lemon juice.  Cook just until translucent.

Food and kitchen 2015 457

I made a double pie crust. Which I haven’t done in ages.  I’m so out of practice.  I’m gonna have to change that real soon.  I forgot to take pictures.  But the pie turned out good.

Food and kitchen 2015 458

Ladybug tested it first.  I told her it was still hot but she insisted so I gave her a fork which she stuck through the hole to get some apples.  Mmm….. Na Na, this is good!  I like your apple pie.  Then my neighbor came to the door and blew it.  He asked if the zucchini pie was done yet.  NA NA! You lied to me but I like your pie anyway.

Food and kitchen 2015 459

I gave the neighbor a couple of slices and let Ladybug have a slice.  She ate that and asked for more.  She didn’t even notice it was made with Splenda baking sugar.  Neither did my neighbor.  I ate a small piece myself.  So if you make one of these for yourself, just be sure you don’t tell anyone its zucchini.  They’ll never know.    Use any favorite apple pie recipe substituting the zucchini for the apples.

14 comments on “Zucchini pie

  1. Faye
    August 6, 2015

    I dehydrate zucchini and then use them in homemade vegetarian soups and stews all winter…yum yum…stew or soup + cornbread= a full meal…cheap and healthy

    • Na Na
      August 6, 2015

      I’ll be dehydrating some for winter too. I’m not a vegetarian but I do like veggie dishes.

  2. Patricia
    June 29, 2015

    I love this idea. Many years ago I made “apple pie” using Ritz crackers – no one could tell the difference and I really enjoyed the looks on their faces when I explained there were NO apples just everyday Ritz crackers.
    I’d love your recipe for this zucchini pie – what ingredients did you use and what were their measurements? I make chocolate loaf cake using zucchini and every simply loves it – when it comes out of the oven and cools a bit, I sift confectioners sugar over it – once I even used an old paper doily and when I sifted the flower and took off the doily, it was so beautiful, like lace on the cake.

    • Na Na
      June 29, 2015

      Use any apple recipe you want but substitute zucchini for the apples. There are a couple good zucchini pie recipes on allrecipes.com

      I remember cracker pie made from Ritz too. There is also an Amish version made from oyster crackers.

  3. Jackie
    June 28, 2015

    Will definitely give this a try.

    God bless.

  4. Sarca
    June 28, 2015

    Mmm! I hate zucchini, but a sub for apple pie might be worth a try, especially since my husband likes zucchs.

  5. sarasinart
    June 28, 2015

    My aunt used to grow them and make the best zucchini bread. When she had too many at once, she would shrewd the zucchini and then freeze it in the right amounts, thaw and have almost fresh zucchini for her bread most of the winter.

    • Na Na
      June 29, 2015

      I’m gonna freeze some too.

  6. Sandy
    June 28, 2015

    I like to use zucchini as a substitute for cucumbers in pickle recipients, especially relish. It is also good with grated carrot and onion in pseudo potato pancakes.

    • Na Na
      June 28, 2015

      I still have several zucchini left and thought I might make relish with them. I never thought about potato pancakes. I’m gonna try those too. It should make eating potatoes a little bit healthier for me. Thanks for mentioning it Sandy.

  7. Amy Wilson
    June 27, 2015

    The pie looks delicious, and one I have never heard if. With zucchini season right around the corner here in Colorado, I will have to try this. I didn’t know you could bake with Splenda!!

    • Na Na
      June 28, 2015

      I tend to call all artificial sweeteners by the name splenda. What I used in my pie was actually the Kroger brand called “Zero Calorie Brown Baking Sweetener” Splenda does make a baking blend that looks and measures just like sugar. Look for the package that says “granulated” and has a picture of a pie on the front or one of their sugar blends. The pie is great for using up an abundance of zucchini and your tired of eating the bread.

  8. Linda Smith
    June 27, 2015

    I would have never thought of that! And if that pie looks that good when you’re “out of practice” I can hardly wait to see what you call looking good. Hope your mother is doing well.

    • Na Na
      June 28, 2015

      The crust should have been thin and flaky but wasn’t. It tasted ok but I could tell it wasn’t quite right. Nobody else noticed. Perfect excuse for making more pies when I need practice. Mother is still doing fine so far. Thanks for asking.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
