Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

I’ve been canning again

You know how ground beef recipes will say “brown the beef” at the beginning?  Well, I like making sure the beef is already browned and waiting for the rest of the recipe.  It sure does shorten the time necessary to make a meal.  That goes for other types of ground meat too.  Chicken, turkey, pork, can all be pre-cooked for convenience.

I could have packaged this in convenient one cup size for the freezer but instead of letting packages of cooked meat take up valuable freezer space I choose to can my ground beef.  I canned it in half pint size which is about the same as 1/2 pound or one cup. Thats just right for a recipe for two people or one person with leftovers for a second meal.

Food and kitchen 2015 480

Have you ever bought a small can of chicken for quick meal prep?  I don’t buy chicken in a can.  I can my own.  Why?  Well, if I can my own I know exactly whats in it.  No ingredients I can’t pronounce or spell goes into MY chicken.

Food and kitchen 2015 481

I also canned 10 half pints of mushrooms I got from the discount produce at the grocery.  I had already used my last jar and needed more. I eat mushrooms a lot.

Food and kitchen 2015 489

While I was busy canning anyway, I decided to use the zucchini for relish before it went bad.  There simply isn’t enough room in the freezer for zucchini right now.  I didn’t want to waste them and I do use lots of relish too.  I like pickle relish on sandwiches and in salads so why not a zucchini relish.  I had a packet of Mrs Wages I bought last year from the discount bin so I used that.

Food and kitchen 2015 484

I got a little over 12 half pint jars of relish from those.  I put the little bit extra in the fridge to use after 48 hours.  There is enough for one sandwich.  Waste not want not.

Food and kitchen 2015 488

So that’s what I’ve been doing the last few days as well as finishing a quilt for a customer.  My canning was done during breaks from the quilting machine while storms went by.  I turn off or unplug anything electric during storms.  Especially my quilting machine.

I hope everyone has a great, safe, frugal, fun, holiday weekend.

3 comments on “I’ve been canning again

  1. mea
    July 26, 2015

    I agree, if possible, do avoid funny sounding ingredients in food. I used up a canned spaghetti sauce yesterday and ended up with a head ache. Turns out it contained MSG, and high fructose corn syrup. From now on I will only buy pure tomato sauce and add proper ingredients myself. Isnt it the dickens that food manufacturers insist on adding chemicals to their products?

    Today I experimented and threw in veggie peelings (that I had saved up in the freezer) into the pressure cooker, seeing if this would make a useful stock for cooking. If one does not try, one will not know.

    • Na Na
      July 28, 2015

      I didn’t use to look at labels so closely but these days I look at every label for hidden ingredients. How did your stock turn out? Tasty?

  2. sarasinart
    July 3, 2015

    Hope you have a good holiday too!

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,268 Hits
