Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Frugal DIY gnat and fly traps

Yes, its that time of year again.  The pesky fruit flies and gnats are back.  This super simple, super cheap remedy is all over the internet these days.  I’ve used it for a number of years.  If you’ve not tried this method to rid your home of these pests yet then you really should.  Just give it a try.  I think you’ll be surprised at the results.

Put some apple cider vinegar into a jar and set it on a counter. That’s it.  You don’t need anything else.  It doesn’t have to be organic either.  I use what I bought from a dollar store.  Ok, some people recommend putting a drop or two of dish liquid in the cider vinegar and plastic wrap over the top with holes punched in it too. You can if you want but I found those things are not necessary.  It works without them.

Food and kitchen 2015 542

I used a plastic peanut butter jar with about a cup of cider vinegar. I used one jar which I set on the counter near the sink so it was out of the way.

What happens is that the fruit flies and gnats think its rotting fruit. They get drunk on it and drown themselves.  Simply leave it overnight and you should see the results in the morning.  I don’t remove the jar but let it set there all summer.  I refill as the vinegar evaporates.

Food and kitchen 2015 541

I hope you can see the tiny specks in that dark liquid.  Its not easy to photograph.  Next is the pesky black flies.  I don’t see as many as I did last year.  I have this on my front door.

Food and kitchen 2015 547

Its simply water in a plastic bag with four pennies taped to the back.  Supposedly the reflection of sun on the water messes with the thousands of eyes on flies.  You ever see any flies hanging around a swimming pool?  The pennies look like a predator in the reflection and scares the crap out of flies.  They don’t hang around to investigate.   This thing only works when the sun is shining.

On cloudy days there are flies that buzz right past it each time the door is opened. Once inside my house the flies tend to congregate at one window right next to my quilting machine.  I don’t have a clue why that particular window unless they think its a way out.

I decided to try something else for those flies who actually make it into my house.  I used an empty water bottle (given to me by a neighbor) and made a fly trap.  Drill a pencil size hole in the top. Put a piece of raw meat and some water in the bottle.  Leave to start rotting.  You should see results within a few days.

Food and kitchen 2015 544

Yes, its really smelly if you open the top but otherwise the smell stays in the bottle.  The smell of rotting meat is irresistible to flies. The indoor flies find the source and also drown themselves.

Food and kitchen 2015 546

Its hard to see but there are four or five flies in the liquid.  The hole in the top is not to keep the flies from getting out.  The hole is there to keep the smell from being too strong while allowing the flies to find it and get in.

I hope you find these suggestions helpful.  It can’t hurt to give them a try.  What have you got to lose except a few pests?

2 comments on “Frugal DIY gnat and fly traps

  1. Linda S.
    July 31, 2015

    Shame on you, contributing to the alcoholism of fruit flies! Haha Good tips; we don’t start getting flies here until late summer or early fall. I’m going to try your fly repellent.

    • Na Na
      August 1, 2015

      Ha Ha Ha, I hadn’t thought of that. Bad Na Na.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,312 Hits
