Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Food bank radishes

I wasn’t able to go to the food bank this past week but my neighbors did. They gave me these extras from their stuff.  I appreciate any fresh produce.  What did I decide to do with these?

Food and kitchen 2015 548

I knew I had enough celery in the freezer already and I can’t eat all those radishes by myself before they go bad.  What will I do with all this? Hmm… can them of course!

I washed the radishes very well and sliced them sorta thin.  I originally thought I’d do the radishes by them self but I still needed to do something with the celery.

Food and kitchen 2015 551

I decided to add the celery  and three red onions that were starting to sprout to make it a sort of garden mix.  I’m mixed it all together and I’ll pickle it.

Food and kitchen 2015 552

This is the pickling mix I used. I believe I first saw this mix in a Rodale Garden book back in the 70s.  I wrote it down and have used it ever sense.

  • 5 cups water
  • 4 T canning salt
  • 3 cups honey
  • 2 cups apple cider vinegar
  • 2 t peppercorns – whole
  • 2 t mustard seed
  • 2 t dill seed

For those not old enough to know.  Big T means tablespoon, little t means teaspoon.  Heat everything on medium until it just barely starts to boil.  Turn off the heat and let set until it cools to warm.  Pour over the veggies in the jars, de-bubble, water bath can for 20 minutes.

I ended up with 9 pint jars of mixed veggies.  My small canner holds only 7 pint jars and I didn’t want to drag out the larger canner. So I divided the jars and water bath canned in two batches.

Food and kitchen 2015 554

I processed them for 20 minutes.  Aren’t they pretty?  The red from the radishes turns the liquid a pretty shade of pink.

Food and kitchen 2015 556

This makes a nice condiment.  You can use the same mix to pickle just about any garden vegetable.  Its often called end of garden pickles.  I sometimes change the spices.  I use whatever I have on hand.  I plan to give half the jars to the neighbors who gave me the radishes and celery.

2 comments on “Food bank radishes

  1. Amy Wilson
    August 2, 2015

    This looks interesting. I am asking for a small pressure canner for my birthday. I know this is just a water bath for pickling, but is making me make plans!! You have such a knack of inspiring!!

    • Na Na
      August 3, 2015

      Thank you Amy, that’s my hope.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
