Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

T-shirt make over

This is the other shirt I found at the free clothes closet.  I didn’t really care that it had a logo on the front.

Make do and mend 2015 046

I cut up the sides like this.

Make do and mend 2015 047

Then angled toward the collar for the next cut.

Make do and mend 2015 048

Cut around the collar at the back leaving a 1/2 inch for a hem.

Make do and mend 2015 049

Then repeated the same thing on the other side.  Now it looks like this.

Make do and mend 2015 050

I decided to add a bit of lace to make it a little more feminine.  This is how the collar looks now.

Make do and mend 2015 052

I turned it over and added lace to the bottom edge, upside down.

Make do and mend 2015 051

Turn it back over to the front, fold it up, and mark three lines. One in the center and one on each side of that.  Equally spaced.  I sewed on the marked lines which created 4 pockets.

Make do and mend 2015 053

I sewed a small hem all the way around the outside except the bottom of the pockets.  Go up one side, around the collar, and down the other side.  I next took one sleeve and cut it into strips. I sewed those strips into two ties and sewed those on.

Make do and mend 2015 054

The shirt now looks like this.  Aprons are starting to be popular again.  I can use this one to hold my fabric markers, chalk, thread snips, and other things while at the quilting machine.

Make do and mend 2015 055

Easy to do and best of all it was free.   The lace was in my notions stash.

4 comments on “T-shirt make over

  1. Faye
    September 3, 2015

    Love it!!! Is it OK if I also steal it.

    • Na Na
      September 4, 2015

      Help yourself. I think this post has become very popular for such a simple idea.

  2. sandy
    August 12, 2015

    LOVE this idea. OK if I steal it? I can see some Christmas gifts in the making.

    • Na Na
      August 12, 2015

      Sure! Help yourself.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,140 Hits
