Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Busy, busy, fair time busy

I’ve been finishing up fair entry stuff and posting about it on my quilting blog.  I decided not to enter any canning this year.  My stock is running low now that the food bank has moved farther away.  I can’t afford to let the judges spoil any food that could be eaten instead.

Food and kitchen 2015 526

Actually I’ve done a lot less stuff this year than is usual for me.  I’ve not made any rugs at all and very few quilts.  I can’t blame it on illnesses as I haven’t been sick since slowing down my quilting schedule.  I’ve thought about it and most of my time has been spent visiting my mother and riding on city buses and standing in lines to get food then preserving that food.

Food and kitchen 2015 199

I entered quilts and one textile art piece this year.  Far less than my usual. There was a new category for recycled textiles so I entered my t-shirt apron.  I don’t expect a ribbon.  Its really not that good but I wanted to enter something so the categories will be kept for next year. I’ll have a whole year to prepare something to enter those categories.

So, if I plan to go to the fair I really must get some customer work finished.  I’m headed to the studio now.

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2015 by in JUST THINKING and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
