Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Putting groceries away

A man staggers into his home panting, sweating, and exhausted. His wife looks at him with concern and asks…. what’s wrong honey? The man smiles and says…. I just ran all the way home from work behind a bus. I saved us $1.50. The wife replies…. Well honey, why didn’t you run behind a taxi instead and save us $30?

Shopping day or food bank day means the next day (or two or three) is for preserving that food for later consumption.  This past shopping day I found some ground beef discounted.  Geeze, even discounted it was expensive.  I hadn’t planned to buy beef until the prices came down again but these days ground turkey and ground pork is just about as expensive as beef.

Food and kitchen 2015 618

The original price for ten pounds of ground beef was $47.50 but with a sale and the discount it came to only $26.  Not a bad bargain even though I worry more about how much I spent rather than think of the savings I get.  (am I running behind a bus or behind a taxi)  Well anyway I canned the ground beef right away.  It was the most expensive item.  I used some brand new EZ seal Tattler lids. Yes, I invested in some new ones.  The frugal person in me couldn’t resist the lure of re-usable instead of one time use lids.  I love them!

Food and kitchen 2015 627

I ended up with 21 half pints of ground beef and a little less than a pint of lard for cooking.  That is the right amount for my recipes.

Food and kitchen 2015 629

I also cook with mushrooms quite a lot.  My stock was down to two half pints so I bought more that were also discounted.  I canned those next because they go bad so quickly.

Food and kitchen 2015 620

It was a long day in the kitchen.  There is more work to be done tomorrow but I have some quilting work I really need to finish first.

6 comments on “Putting groceries away

  1. Patricia
    September 16, 2015

    You know I find that being poor is HARD work – although I’m actually not poor, except in the way the government sets as a median income level for the poverty line. But we seniors living on a fixed income have to work hard to eat well, live comfortably and stay healthy. I don’t mind the trips to pick up my senior CSA or the stop to pick out what I need from the Food Pantry, its the work in figuring out what I will do with everything, stretching it out over the two weeks between pickups and packaging it in small portions to be pulled out from the freezer for cooking.

    • Na Na
      September 18, 2015

      It sure is hard work. And time consuming too. I’m with you about the figuring out what to do with the food. Whether we like to plan or not it must be done in order for the food to last.

  2. Dorothy cripplewing
    September 15, 2015

    I think canning the beef is a great idea then you just can add it to what ever you are making….ie shepherd pie,spaghetti, stuffed peppers etc. The ground beef here is expensive too. Aren’t you clever….I must get some more jars and try this. ..also the mushrooms. When it is done up in the small jars it is used more carefully. I dried some mushrooms and that worked pretty good …they are little more chewy than the canned ones but okay. I had a glut of Italian prune plums and have spent days canning and drying them….I then read your blog about not eating too many and had a good laugh….been there done that! love your blog….keep up the good work I look forward to each one. I am not a quilter but still enjoy the pictures and seeing what you are up to. I’m over on the west coast of Canada…Vancouver Island.

    • Na Na
      September 15, 2015

      Yes, I believe once you try it you’ll like having the canned meats. Since I got my pressure canner I’ve canned chicken, beef, and pork. Its a great time saver for quick meals. I plan to try canning salmon and tuna if I find a good bargain on any. Those are selling around $15 to $18 a pound here. Thats way out of my price range and nobody ever donates fish to the dare to care food bank. I’m sure if it is ever donated the volunteer workers would get it.

      I have grand kids that live in Alaska.

  3. Linda S.
    September 13, 2015

    You are one busy lady!

    • Na Na
      September 14, 2015

      But I feel as if I’m moving at a snail pace most of the time. Too many chores and not enough time.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
