Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Female role model

Sometimes things just simply bug me.

State fair 2015 143

Here is a quote from an email I got yesterday.  I get emails like this all the time.  Is it legitimate or is it spam?  I don’t want to be rude to an actual reader but neither do I want to contribute to a scam.

I really love how you give your readers advice on living frugally. I sent the organized freezer post to my daughter 🙂

I was surprised to learn from a recent CNBC article that only 53% of us working-age women have started planning for retirement compared to 65% of our male peers!

I’d love for you to pick a female friend or family member to showcase in a post on your blog as a female financial role model. Maybe she writes a grocery list before shopping to fit her budget, or started walking to work to save money on gas.

Small decisions like these really add up over time and help people save for retirement. I think this would be inspirational for women reading your post who may not have a strong female role model, and haven’t thought much about saving money for retirement.

Please let me know if you’re interested and I would be happy to answer any questions you might have. Through October, we will be sharing some of our favorite posts on Twitter and Facebook, where we have over 10,000 followers each. I hope to see yours 🙂

You read it, is it real or is it not?  Here are some questions I asked myself before hitting the delete button.

You want me to pick out a female role model and write a post about someone else?  Ok so what am I?  Chopped liver?  Does this person really not know that Na Na is a female nick name for Grandma or Grandmother?  Did this person not read at the top of my blog that “I” am attempting to be a role model for other folks?  Did they not read that I’m no longer one of the working people because I’m already retired?

If they have that many followers (10,000 each) then why the heck are they contacting me? Wouldn’t one of their own follower’s role models and success stories be a better post for their blog?

Does this person actually read the blogs of the people they contact? Apparently not.  Has this person read the information about who my role model was?  Now deceased, rest her kind hearted soul.

If this person really likes my blog why don’t they simply provide a link and refer their readers to my blog instead of request a specific post be written?

Actually, if I had ten thousand visitors to my blog over night I’d probably fall out of my chair.  At most I get about 25 to 100 hits in each twenty four hour period. Every once in awhile I get as many as 200 but I don’t know why.

Ok, you’re right, it is all about the money.  I don’t know about this person’s site in particular because I refuse to look.  Those sites are always filled with ads and other money making stuff.  They are attempting to get “hits” which means more money for them.  Sites like that get paid “per view” or hits. It doesn’t matter if you actually read it.  They get paid if you just click out of curiosity.  Sometimes the sites like that are hoping to get new followers who will pay a fee or purchase a product.

MY blog is simply me willing to share everyday things from my life that may benefit someone else in some small way.  I make NO money from my blog and don’t plan to either.  WordPress does offset the cost of offering free blogs by placing a small ad on each post.  I’m ok with that.  Its a fair trade off.  My blog actually costs me money to keep it going.  I pay for internet and I pay for photo storage.  I pay for electricity and I pay for computer up keep.

When I get a new follower I’m happy because it means someone finds my blog posts useful or interesting and that gives me a reason to keep writing.  Not all my posts are going to be helpful.  In fact some posts might be down right boring but that’s just the way my life goes.  Some days just happen to be more interesting than others.

So, if a post written about my Grandma Mama and how she influenced my entire life is really needed then its already done.   That person should look on the side bar for “Who is Grandma Mama?”  Hmm…. maybe that person should also read my “about” page too.  I do need to update it though.

To my real readers I send a hearty THANK YOU.

8 comments on “Female role model

  1. KAYTHEGARDENER
    October 9, 2015

    The examples of financial savings that the would-be poster wants written seem more like common sense that even children might know about.
    There seem to be lots of blogs written for those adults under 40, but few written from the viewpoint of older citizens, so keep on writing your own stuff, Na Na!!

    • Na Na
      October 9, 2015

      Yes, it does. The older folks like us have special concerns beyond just financial. Younger folks are money, money, money and lots of possessions while the older generation wants less. Fewer possessions and more happiness.

  2. Nathalie
    October 8, 2015

    Hmm, I looks like it’s meant to be flattering (the compliment at the top that actually refers to an actual post on your blog), but I have the same reservations as you have for the exact same reasons.

    Coincidentally, I also received an email this morning from a lady who said she had a small cleaning business and proposed to write a guest post on my blog about cleaning tips. I declined since my blog is written primarily for myself since I have a really bad memory and I enjoy going back and re-reading my own posts to motivate myself.

    Personally, when I think of frugal role models, you’re definitely one of them. Thanks for sharing all of that with us!

    • Na Na
      October 8, 2015

      That’s how they make the email seem so legitimate. Evidently its some type of robo capture of the post title. I got one just like it a couple of days ago but from someone different. I’ve learned to simply delete or mark as spam so the filter catches it the next time.

      Thank you. I appreciate that.

  3. Cindy Nielsen
    October 8, 2015

    I like your blog just the way it is. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Linda S.
    October 8, 2015

    The whole thing read just a little too slick. Seems we have to be suspicious of everything any more. We, your loyal readers, do look to you as an inspiration & hope you’ll stay with us.

    • Na Na
      October 8, 2015

      Thanks Linda. I do plan to keep blogging as long as I’m able.

    • Jackie
      October 9, 2015

      I second this! You ARE the role model! Lol!

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 240,682 Hits
