Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Downsizing the STUFF

My Grandma Mama would be shocked to see this.  How on earth do I accumulate so much STUFF?  It seems to multiply itself when I’m not looking.  I can’t count the number of times over the years I’ve cleared STUFF out of my house only to realize STUFF has sneaked its way back here again.  No matter how far away I send it, somehow STUFF shows up here over and over again.

This is how my food storage room looked right after I purged and donated a hugh amount of commercially canned food last year. I wrote a post in 2012 on my other blog that has a photo of the room completely empty and a video of another room full of STUFF.  I found another post that has a photo of an empty computer room  after I cleaned it. Just so you know the rooms have been empty before. I continually struggle trying to keep them that way.

My intention was to have this as a guest room plus food storage space. Ladybug claims it will be “her” room for when she spends the night.

Organizing 2014 073

I also wrote a post about clearing this room. Donating excess food.  I’m gonna embarrass myself yet again by posting some photos of the STUFF.

This is looking in from the door.  There is a whole lot more in this room than is visible from the photos.

Organizing 2015 022

This is looking to the right inside the room.  Majority of the stuff in this room is food or quilting related along with several things that have no other storage space. Like a bunch of plastic storage containers, air compressor, and weed killer.

Organizing 2015 027

This is from inside the room looking toward the closet.  More STUFF!

Organizing 2015 040

I’m a hoarder but at the same time I can’t stand having so much STUFF.  Does that make sense to you?  It confuses the heck out of me.  I keep asking myself why do I continually accumulate so much when I really hate having it?  I let the STUFF go for only so long before it gets to bugging me so badly I have to get rid of it.

Well anyway, once again, I’m trying to rid myself of THE STUFF. Ladybug was here over the weekend which meant I couldn’t do any quilting work. Her Mommie is not feeling well.  I believe its allergies.  Ladybug is good at helping me pull stuff out of hiding to be looked at.  I guess all kids like seeing what grandparents have hidden away.

With her help I’ve now purged more canning jars.  I won’t be needing as many as I did in the past.  I plan to use only pint and half pint size which are just right for me.  I need a limited amount of those.

Organizing 2015 041

A few days ago one of my customers asked if I had any fabric I could donate to a charity group near her.  Wow, have I got fabric for her!  I told her I’d probably get together 5 or 6 big tubs if she could use it.  She said yes so that’s really what started me clearing this room again.  Here are 4 of them ready to go. I have a couple more I’ll be adding to these before she comes to pick them up.

Organizing 2015 046

At the end of the weekend this is what it looks like now. As you can see quite a bit of the STUFF is gone now. There is plenty still left to be sorted into groups ready to donate to the right person or place.

Organizing 2015 047

I didn’t get to the closet or the other side of the room yet.  I will just as soon as I recover from the weekend.  I can’t believe I had so much STUFF crammed into this room.

Organizing 2015 048

The remaining STUFF?  If I don’t need it then I don’t want it.  Its time for almost all of it to go!  I only want to keep the food and about half of the quilt STUFF.

12 comments on “Downsizing the STUFF

  1. Toni in TN
    October 18, 2015

    Just found your blog. Looks like this will be a fun site. Nothing better than food storage and quilting!

    • Na Na
      October 18, 2015

      I agree.

  2. Patricia
    October 14, 2015

    I keep trying to get rid of more “stuff” – I pull it out and sort it all through and then every October put out bins of it for the village-wide tag sale. I sell about four bins of “stuff” but when I go back upstairs, its as tightly packed in my storage room as if nothing has left it. This weekend I’m determined to take all my CD’s and DVDs and stack them in a small bookcase – then take all the cassette tapes (and there are lots of them) and sort them into “keep and get recorded” and “toss out”. I don’t even have a cassette player any longer but really want one. I’m trying to use up my two bins of fabric and old patterns seem to be multiplying when the lights are out.

    I admire you for your determination to get rid of so much. I’d look at those bins of fabric and know, just know that if I kept them, I’d find a way to use one or two pieces in the future.

    Keep up the good work!

    • Na Na
      October 14, 2015

      Thank you, I did have quite a few second thoughts but kept telling myself “if I haven’t used it in all these years I’m not likely to do so now” and kept going. Did you know cassette tapes are selling really well these days? For some reason they’re making a comeback. You might consider donating them to a charity that has a fundraising sale.

  3. Jean
    October 13, 2015

    This past weekend, I took a large trash bag of fabric to my granddaughter. She is 13 and has just started to sew a little. She was absolutely thrilled! Of course, that was probably only about 20% of the fabric I have.

    • Na Na
      October 13, 2015

      That’s a great way to let a new sewer experiment to their hearts content.

  4. KAYTHEGARDENER
    October 12, 2015

    My family claims that house elves rent U-haul trucks & drop it off when we are away from the house!!

    • Na Na
      October 13, 2015

      Ha, ha, ha, I like that one!

  5. sarasinart
    October 12, 2015

    Stuff appears by magic at my house too. Turn around once and there’s more stuff, lol. You did good!

    • Na Na
      October 12, 2015

      Too bad it isn’t money appearing behind our backs.

  6. Linda S.
    October 12, 2015

    I don’t know about the rest of your stuff but I know how you end up with so much fabric – it breeds in the dark. Happens to me every year.

    • Na Na
      October 12, 2015

      Fabric does that doesn’t it? I think fabric breeding is worse than mice, rats, and lemmings.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
