Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Freezing whipping cream

I came across a really good bargain a couple of days ago.  I found 4 one quart containers of whipping cream marked 90% off.

At first I was thinking about making ice cream but I’m afraid that would simply ruin my diet.  I would eat way too much of it.

I’ll make butter with two of them and freeze two to be used in cream of soups or other recipes calling for cream.

Food and kitchen 2015 660

All you do is pour the cream into ice cube trays and freeze.  Each cube is two table spoons. Two quarts of cream should last me for quite awhile.  If I need more butter or whipped cream these can still be used for that too.

I also found broccoli on the discount table.  There were 4 small ones which are now in the freezer too.  I’m all set for some cream of broccoli soup or maybe a broccoli casserole when the winter weather keeps me indoors.

5 comments on “Freezing whipping cream

  1. Patricia
    October 25, 2015

    Great bargains! Wish I could find them in my markets. We have no drastic markdowns – don’t know where all the “past the sell by dates” go when they expire but not to the customers. I didn’t know you could freeze cream so I’ll pick up a container when it goes on sale (usually around Thanksgiving).

    • Na Na
      October 26, 2015

      Next time you are in the store check the sell by date on the cream. Most stores mark it down one or two days before that date for a quick sale. The day after that date it goes into a dumpster. Cream is actually good for several days after that date and can be made into butter when it starts to go off.

  2. sarasinart
    October 19, 2015

    It’s good to grab those bargains when you see them! And make good use of them for now or later.

  3. Sandy
    October 19, 2015

    I never knew you could freeze cream. I guess an old dog can still learn a new trick.

  4. Linda S.
    October 18, 2015

    Gotta love those serendipity bargains!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 18, 2015 by in PINCHING PENNIES, PREPAREDNESS, PRESERVE THE BOUNTY and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
