Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Making peanut butter

Commercially processed peanut butter is loaded with sugars and hydrogenated oils and other stuff that are not good for a diabetic.  I stopped accepting it from the senior commodities, the food bank, and the neighbors because I’m working to control my diabetes.  If I can’t eat it then I don’t want it in my house. I leave it for the next person getting food if they want it.

But, gee whiz, I do like peanut butter and jelly sandwiches every now and then.  So, I decided to make my own chemical free and sugar free peanut butter.  I bought these dry roasted peanuts.  I checked to be sure it was only peanuts and nothing else.

Food and kitchen 2015 662

I put the peanuts into a microwave safe glass bowl and warmed them for two minutes.  You need the peanuts to be warm.

Food and kitchen 2015 664

Then into the food processor.   A blender would work too.  After a few seconds the peanuts look like course ground cornmeal. I used a spatula to scrape down the sides.

Food and kitchen 2015 666

Gave it a few more seconds in the food processor and it starts to clump up but is still dry looking.  This is where peanut butter recipes tell you to add oil.  But adding oil is honestly not necessary. Don’t add anything.  Just keep processing.

Food and kitchen 2015 667

I scrape down the sides and process a few more seconds. You see the peanut butter has started to smooth out and release its own oil. At this point the peanut butter would be the chunky version if you like that kind.  You could stop and its ready to eat.

Food and kitchen 2015 668

I keep processing until it goes very smooth and creamy looking, plus a few seconds more.

Food and kitchen 2015 669

I added nothing.  It was the warming of the peanuts that brought out their own natural oil.  The food processor did the rest.  I was looking forward to a peanut butter sandwich.  I started to put the newly made peanut butter into a jar when suddenly I saw this.

Food and kitchen 2015 670

Dang!  Dang!  Dang! When did that happen?  Somehow, without noticing, I had cut the spatula with the very sharp processor blades.  I searched through the peanut butter but the piece was not to be found.  Disappointed, I threw away the peanut butter.  No way was I going to eat it with ground up rubber spatula all through it.  So I get out more peanuts, a different kind, to start all over.

Food and kitchen 2015 671

I had bought two types of peanuts to see which one tasted best as peanut butter.  This time I was very careful when scraping down the sides.  The final result was great!  It tastes just like eating fresh peanuts. So much better than the store kind.

Food and kitchen 2015 677

Its very smooth with no oily taste.  No added salt, sugar, or oil…. or rubber spatula either. Just simply peanuts.  My daughter suggested I add some honey but I’m gonna leave it plain just as it is.  When I want it sweet I’ll add the sweet to my sandwich by using honey or homemade apple butter.

This needs to be refrigerated and will keep for about 6 months. You could leave it out on a counter but the oil could go rancid.  It will keep for a couple of years if frozen but really who keeps peanut butter that long?  It can’t be home canned because of density issues.

I see some warm morning toast with a little bit of peanut butter in the future.  Hmm…. maybe with some of the apple peelings syrup I made.  Next time I’ll make half this amount or even less.  I also have a tiny, single serve food processor so I could actually make only enough for one sandwich if I want.

Hazelnut, cashew, walnut, almond….. oh the possibilities!

13 comments on “Making peanut butter

  1. Anne
    January 12, 2016

    I’m so glad I saw this. We’re almost out of peanut butter and my husband wants to buy more of the processed kind, whereas I like the natural kinds, and this sounds like it might be better than either! Thanks!

    • Anita
      January 12, 2016

      Be sure to heat the peanuts before you process them. It helps bring out the peanut oil so it gets really creamy.

      • Anne
        January 13, 2016

        I tried this yesterday and it turned out great! Heating the peanuts really did seem to help. I think I might try adding a little spice next time, red pepper flakes or sriracha.

        • Anita
          January 14, 2016

          Sriracha peanut butter. Interesting. Never heard of it before. Any flavor is possible when you make your own.

          • Anne
            January 14, 2016

            My husband likes all things spicy, but we both like a Chinese dish called cold sesame noodles, which has a spicy peanut sauce. I’m thinking that – on toast. We’ll see!

          • Anita
            January 15, 2016

            Oh, now I understand. I was thinking about peanut butter sandwiches, not dishes flavored with peanuts.

  2. Kathleen
    November 20, 2015

    Hello Anita,
    A few days ago I made homemade peanut butter….I “dusted off” my food processor as you suggested and it turned out wonderful!
    Thanks so much for your inspiration.
    Loving your blog 😉
    Next thing is pressure canning Turkey broth.
    I have a new pressure cooker and canning is one of its perks…”they” say it’s not the same as a canner canner and not to use it as a canner…but there are lots of people have them and can all the time ,works great.
    Oh,and home made Mayo…for Turkey sandwiches….
    Thanks again

    • Na Na
      November 21, 2015

      I’m so glad you dusted off your food processor. There are many things you can do with it.

      I would be extremely cautious about using a pressure cooker for canning. Please do more research. They may look the same and operate in a similar way but they are NOT the same. A canner is designed to hold food at a higher temperature for a long time after the heat is turned off while a cooker doesn’t. You know I’m all about saving money but some things just aren’t worth the risk. All I can say is that any long time canner like me wouldn’t take that chance. You can find Presto brand canners for less than a hundred dollars at places like Walmart of Target. I saw one at Kroger not long ago for 79. Amazon had some listed for less than fifty. Look for the words canner/cooker but not cooker/canner. Canner needs to be listed first to be safe to use.

      • Kathleen
        November 21, 2015

        I knew it was too good to be true.ok ok …Thank you for your advice.I respect your opinion very much. 😉
        I guess my husband is buying me an early Christmas present 🎁….but he just doesn’t know it yet…lol..A Canner it is.
        I was throwing that out there to get your opinion so I best listen to it.
        Kathleen
        My Mom has been gone 18 years now…or I probably would have called her and she would have told me what you said… 😉
        Listening to God’s whispers.
        Kathleen

        • Na Na
          November 22, 2015

          I hear those whispers too. Being safe means never being sorry you were’t. Pick up a Ball Blue Book of canning and read it to get yourself started. Its sold anyplace you find canning lids and jars and costs about five dollars. Its very good to own a copy. Also down at the bottom of my blog are some “addresses to keep” that are links to respected canning sites. The top and bottom links. Kauffman is where I sometimes order things.

  3. Patricia
    October 25, 2015

    This actually made my mouth water. What a great idea – never thought about making my own peanut butter and will now give it a try. You have such great suggestions.

  4. Kathleen
    October 25, 2015

    Hello Nana,
    This looks wonderful…I love my peanut butter and Apple snack in the afternoon…don’t want to give it up so eating regular peanut butter..but you make this look soooooo easy…I have one of those food processors that my Mom gave me years ago…I don’t use it much …I see it being used as soon as I find the right peanuts….I tried almond butter…it’s just NOT the same.
    Thank you so much,
    Kathleen

    • Na Na
      October 25, 2015

      Kathleen I hope I can inspire you to dust off that food processor and give it a workout more often it can be a great time saver and money saver.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
