Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Spreadable butter

Sometimes you just want a little bit of butter without having to wait until it comes to room temperature.  Wouldn’t it be nice to have a nice soft spreadable butter whenever you want it. Even when its cold right from the fridge?  Real butter, not margarine.

You can buy a spreadable butter at the store but if you are trying to keep your food expenses low you can make your own.  Its really easy.  Here’s how.

Put one half pound (2 sticks) of butter into a mixer bowl.  Let it set until its room temperature.  I used my own homemade butter since I had just made it and it was room temp already.

Add 1/4 cup of liquid cooking oil.  You can use any type cooking oil you want.  I prefer to use canola oil because it has no taste to interfere with the butter taste.

Food and kitchen 2015 690

Now whip those two together until thoroughly incorporated.  It will be nice and fluffy.  That’s it.  All done.  Now wasn’t that easy?

Food and kitchen 2015 691

At this point you can put it into containers and refrigerate.  It will remain soft enough to spread even when cold.

Food and kitchen 2015 695

Grandma Mama used to make really small amounts of butter stretch farther by adding mashed potatoes or milk or white sauce to it.  She’d say she was making heavenly butter by whipping the devil out of it. Many times she stretched butter by adding lard. Lard was sometimes used instead of butter because the cream would be sold. Yes, I ate lard sandwiches as a kid and loved it. I still do.

Restaurants have been serving whipped butter for a long time.  If you want a flavored spread you could add that too. For example honey butter or garlic butter or herb butter.

10 comments on “Spreadable butter

  1. Kathleen
    November 1, 2015

    Na Na ,
    Sometimes it takes me up to 2 weeks to use up a stick ,that’s how much fits in the bell.
    It is always good to the last bit….just keep that water fresh and it stays fresh and in a cool part of your kitchen…we keep ours on our dining room table.
    Kathleen

  2. Kathleen
    November 1, 2015

    Na Na ,
    My husband bough me a French butter crock….Ceramic butter keeper..it keeps your butter fresh,soft and clean and SPEADABLE. 😉
    Just change water in bowl every 3 or4 days….or when you think of it.
    Bed bath & Beyond have them for ten dollars.
    That way you don’t have to add any ingredients and have pure butter.
    Only use mine in the winter months..summer time in New Mexico is a bit warm.
    Kathleen

    • Na Na
      November 1, 2015

      I had heard of those but never really looked into how they worked. I looked it up and like the idea. I might think about getting one sometime. What do you do when there is just a little butter left in the bell. Will it last just as well as when full?

  3. Nathalie
    November 1, 2015

    Neat “trick”, thanks! I don’t buy spreadable butter and I usually just microwave the stick a little when a recipe calls for soft butter, but having a little bit of this on hand for spreading on toast would be nice. I’d probably half the recipe so I don’t make too much and risk wasting it.

    • Na Na
      November 1, 2015

      Both butter and canola oil have a very long life so its unlikely you’d waste it. You can also freeze half of it for later.

  4. sarasinart
    November 1, 2015

    Mmm, honey butter……I haven’t had that for a long time and you just reminded me, thanks!

  5. Sandy
    November 1, 2015

    I have made soft butter before by slowly beating in milk. I have never tried using oil.

    • Na Na
      November 1, 2015

      I use and drink powdered milk from the senior commodities. It doesn’t work very well for making soft butter. How long will your soft butter last using the milk?

      • Sandy
        November 1, 2015

        I usually use it up in about a week and have never had a problem.

        • Na Na
          November 1, 2015

          Thanks. I don’t think I would use all the butter that soon by myself. Maybe if I had company for a few days would be better.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,140 Hits
