Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Homemade mayonnaise for one or two

I wrote this almost a month ago but completely forgot to post it until I was telling someone I make my own.  Thats when I realized I hadn’t actually posted it.

This recipe is simple and is just enough for one or two in a salad or on sandwiches.  A stick blender works best but I think any type of blender or mixer would be ok.  I used a canning jar and a stick blender.

Food and kitchen 2015 700

Put all these items into a jar in the order listed.  If you don’t already know, little t means teaspoon, big T means tablespoon.

1 whole egg (or 2 egg yolks)

1 t ground mustard

1/8 t salt

1/2 t lemon juice

1/2 t vinegar (I use cider vinegar)

1/2 cup oil of your choice (I used canola because its flavorless)

Food and kitchen 2015 701

The egg should be on the bottom and the oil on top.  There is no need to drizzle the oil as most recipes will tell you to do.  Now put your blender in the jar all the way to the bottom.  Start on low speed but don’t move the blender. Keep it on the bottom of the jar and let it do its work.

Food and kitchen 2015 702

When it starts to turn white then switch to using a high speed.  Blend until all the oil has disappeared from the top and is well incorporated into the egg.

Food and kitchen 2015 703

You now have mayonnaise.  It makes a bit over 1/2 cup which is a good amount for one or two people.  I put a lid on the jar and put it into the fridge to chill. It will last a couple of weeks. Mine never does though.  I usually make it right before I need it.

Very simple to do and taste great.  I like it in potato salad or on pimento cheese sandwiches.  The best part is that its chemical free. If you make some let me know if you like it too.

5 comments on “Homemade mayonnaise for one or two

  1. Miss Dinie
    November 6, 2015

    Nice! Just need lemon juice for this, then I can make it!

    • Na Na
      November 6, 2015

      Bottled lemon juice works too.

      • Miss Dinie
        November 6, 2015

        Cool.. I find it has a funny aftertaste!

  2. rachelmcastro
    November 5, 2015

    Silly question, but do you have to worry about salmonella since the egg is raw? Thanks for all of your helpful tips!

    • Na Na
      November 6, 2015

      No question is silly! I’m glad you asked. There is a risk of food borne illness with just about everything these days. Eating anything is a gamble. Even with cooked foods and manufacturer processed foods there is a risk of illness. There is some type of recall almost everyday. Just look at the USDA recall site to see what I mean.

      If I’m going to gamble on whether or not I will get sick by eating then I prefer to do it with foods I make myself that are chemical free. I believe the acid in the vinegar, the lemon juice, and the salt kills bacteria. If you are worried, don’t do it.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,312 Hits
