Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Canning and canning

I’m at the end of the Christmas rush on quilting which leaves me with very little computer time.  I have 4 more quilts and it will be over for a month.  If I finish them by the end of this month it means I’ll have me time in December.

But, I must eat.  So I’ve been hurrying between the food pantry, the kitchen to can it, the quilting studio to work, and some doctor visits too.

I visit the food pantry once a week.  Following a food bank day there are at least four or five consecutive days of canning what produce I get.  Neighbors ask me all the time, “have you finished canning yet” and I explain it never ends.  If I eat something I need to replace it the same way they replace their store bought food.

This week I canned apples.

Food and kitchen 2015 707

And apple syrup from the peelings.

Food and kitchen 2015 711

I canned dry beans for quick meals.

Food and kitchen 2015 714

I canned yams.

Food and kitchen 2015 719

Next week, I get to start canning more of these all over again.  Its apple, yam, cabbage, and bean season.  These will be the food bank regulars through the winter months.  I’m glad I actually LIKE those foods and that they are good for a diabetic diet.

7 comments on “Canning and canning

  1. Kathleen
    November 28, 2015

    How do you keep water deposits from jars and lids…I put white vinegar in water like the book said…still covered with ugly film..yours are all nice and clean…
    Get well sooooonnn!!!

    • Na Na
      November 29, 2015

      I stopped putting vinegar in the processing water. Not sure but I feel like it corrodes the metal rings. I wash the jars the next day after they have cooled completely. I remove the rings, check to see that the lids are actually secure, then wash with dish soap with a little vinegar in that water. If completely sealed its ok to submerge the whole jar in warm, not hot, water. Washing the jars after canning will also remove any food particles that may have floated out during the processing. I label the jars after I’ve washed them. I store the jars without the rings.

      • Kathleen
        November 29, 2015

        Good to know! Thank you! 😉

  2. Dorothy cripplewing
    November 20, 2015

    Do you can cabbage or just make and freeze? I must do more….yours looks so good.

    • Na Na
      November 21, 2015

      Usually I make it and freeze but cabbage doesn’t last very long.

  3. Linda S.
    November 12, 2015

    Your canned food always looks so pretty!

    • Na Na
      November 12, 2015

      Thank you Linda. I don’t do anything special. It must be the sparkle of the jars. 😉

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,140 Hits
