Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Bad week

I’ve been in bed with some type of virus for a week.  I missed Thanksgiving completely by sleeping right through it.

Obviously I haven’t been to the food bank and I’ve not been canning or anything.  I’m going to give myself a few more days before attempting to do too much.

18 comments on “Bad week

  1. KAYTHEGARDENER
    November 29, 2015

    Hope that you will be feeling better soon, Na Na. Here is my recipe for a soothing sore throat or chest picker-upper.
    1) Fill a mug with water. Add a good pinch of powdered ginger & stir.
    2) Run 1 minute in microwave to heat it up.
    3) Add about 1-2 spoonfuls of lemon juice.
    4) Add about 2-3 spoonfuls of honey to cover sharpness of lemon juice.
    Stir well & sip slowly. Make it about 4-5 times per day till better.

    Ginger is good for the throat & lungs.
    Lemon juice gives you Vitamin C to help get better.
    Honey gives you energy & soothes the throat & chest.
    Warm water keeps you hydrated while getting better.

    Kaythegardener

    • Na Na
      November 29, 2015

      Thanks, I’m gonna make some right now. I’m better but it won’t hurt to stay ahead of more sickness.

  2. Jackie
    November 29, 2015

    Feel better soon!

  3. Kathleen
    November 28, 2015

    Anita,
    Really sorry to hear that you have been sick!! 😦
    Just a quick note,I got my new 23 quart pressure canner….processing Turkey barley veg soup today….14 pints done. 😉
    Hope you get better soon.
    Thanks
    Kathleen

    • Na Na
      November 29, 2015

      Ooo, what’d ya get? what’d ya get? Is it a Presto? What recipe book are you using? Barley veg soup sounds really good.

      • Kathleen
        November 29, 2015

        Yes it is a Presto on your suggestion…it’s great!thanks.
        I have never used a recipe when I make soup….with leftover roast or chicken or Turkey I just make broth from bones,cool in fridge ,skim fats off..and put the kitchen sink in…leftover veg from Thanksgiving…potatoes chopped carrots ,barley,onion etc etc etc…and meat…sometimes rice or noodles or just stew…I make a lot of soup….nothing goes to waste…veg peels make great veg broth…I freeze them until I have enough.
        We both love soup.
        I did get a canning book at the same time we ordered the canner from Amazon…and a set of green tools for canning…I am set.
        One question,I only had soup for 5 pints last batch..went ahead and filled jars with water….can a batch be short?
        Do I need to plan better?I got twelve pints all together…after processing first 7 ,,,learned from the book I could have double decked…lol 😉
        Feel better soon,
        Kathleen

        • Na Na
          November 29, 2015

          Yes, its ok to have fewer filled jars than the canner holds. I often do small batch canning. More than once I’ve had only two filled jars. I weigh the options of the cost of canning only a couple jars against the amount of time and utility costs. I use jars filled with water, no lids, to occupy space so the filled jars stay upright. They won’t can properly if they tip over during the process.

          Ooo, you got a double batch canner! Double batching is good when you have bunches of stuff to can. I rarely have that much. A question for you this time, how did you know how long to process the soup you made? Please tell me you didn’t just pull a number out of thin air.

          • Kathleen
            November 29, 2015

            BY THE BOOK!!! .the one that came with the canner……altitude and pressure canning meat,poultry,soup..4001-6000 ft.13 pounds.
            I have been doing 15 ….over a little won’t hurt …under will…I read that somewhere else.
            The canning book I got is “Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving.400 recipes…..edited by Judi Kingry and Lauren Devine.
            😉 I have been in bliss for the last 2 days ..canning away…very gradifying.
            Kathleen

            • Na Na
              November 29, 2015

              Whew, thank goodness. I was worried because someone a couple of years ago did that. He ‘guessed’ at how long to process his food. I’m so happy for you. Now you know why so many of my posts are about canning cause you’re doing it too. Canning is a great hobby that pays for itself many times over. That’s more than many other hobbies can say.

              You got a really good book. I use mine often. You might want to look at another one called So Easy to Preserve by the Cooperative Extension of the University of Georgia. It has canning, dehydrating, and freezing but lots of really frugal recipes too. I use it almost as often as I use the Ball Canning book. I wouldn’t recommend it if I didn’t think it was a great book to own.

              • Kathleen
                November 29, 2015

                Anita,
                Honestly, I don’t NEED to be so frugal,we could still get by if I spent more on food but, I like being frugal…I want to eat healthy…I hate waste… I waited tables for 32 years..have been retired 2 1\2 years because of sciatic nerve problems.
                Frugality reminds me of my Mom, she raised 5 of us all by herself..her way of cooking is my comfort food…..we never knew we were poor.
                Always looking for things the way they did them” back when” and before I was born.
                I have over 200 digital 1850-1960 cookbooks downloaded…collected over the last 20 years.
                Hope you are feeling better 😉
                Kathleen
                Thanks for everything

                • Na Na
                  November 30, 2015

                  Yes I am. Much better. Oh wow, that is a lot of books. I bet there are some really good scratch recipes in them.

  4. craftytadpole
    November 28, 2015

    Hope you feel better soon.

  5. johndent
    November 28, 2015

    Hope you are on the mend soon. I, too, have been dealing with illness – ear infection and tonsillitis. Grateful for meds and good old fashioned salt with water to help the throat!

  6. Frugalwarrior2
    November 28, 2015

    so sorry to hear that. I wish I could shove Thanksgiving through the computer for you. I had that happen last year. Feel better

  7. pattinround
    November 28, 2015

    Aw Nana. Please look after yourself. I’ve been missing your posts but assumed you were busy finishing up stuff for Christmas. Get well soon.

  8. boblosan
    November 28, 2015

    I’m so sorry you’ve been very ill. I certainly hope you have a quick and easy recovery.

  9. Linda Smith
    November 28, 2015

    So sorry to hear you’ve been sick. I had missed your post & was hoping you were ok. We’ll be thinking of you.

  10. sarasinart
    November 28, 2015

    I hope you are feeling a whole lot better right away. That was already too long to be sick! 🙂

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2015 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
