Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Canning beans

I was feeling better but not quite ready to work at the quilting machine.  I thought some canning would get me going again.  I hadn’t been to the food bank so there wasn’t any produce to can.  I was out of canned dry beans which I eat often.  So, I canned a batch.  When I took them out of the canner this is what I saw.

Food and kitchen 2015 730

I was really puzzled.  What happened?  I stood staring at them for a few minutes before I realized I had used 1/4 cup beans instead of 1/2 cup per jar.  They won’t go to waste.  When I’m ready to use them in a recipe I’ll simply use two jars instead of one.  I guess I wasn’t mentally ready to work after all.

Today I’ll process another batch and write a tutorial post about it.

9 comments on “Canning beans

  1. Amy
    December 1, 2015

    Poor Anita! (No pun intended) I hope you are feeling 100% soon. It seems there is a bad bug going around my extended family with one of my grand babies having to stay in the hospital for several days. His Mama can’t get any rest, and I am unable to help as I am out of state for Doctors appointments. It sure puts a damper on the Holiday spirit!

    • Na Na
      December 1, 2015

      Hope you are ok. Is the baby ok? Yes, being ill during the holidays is no fun.

      • Amy
        December 2, 2015

        I am trying not to get sick or sicker. I went to visit my son’s family for the week of Thanksgiving, and had to turn right around and head to Arizona for medical reasons. I think I am more exhausted than anything.

  2. Howto$tuffYourPig
    November 30, 2015

    Never canned before! I never knew it was this easy!

    • Na Na
      December 1, 2015

      Canning is very easy and a great way to save money. Most people start by learning to can fruits and making jam then move into more advanced canning when they purchase a pressure canner.

  3. boblosan
    November 30, 2015

    I’m glad you are feeling a little better. Please rest and take care of yourself. You will be quilting again in no time. Prayers for you are being said.

    • Na Na
      December 1, 2015

      Thank you. I’m back to quilting again…. finally.

  4. sarasinart
    November 30, 2015

    I’m glad you’re feeling some better.

  5. Kathleen
    November 30, 2015

    Looking forward to seeing your next post, this was going to be my next experiment but ,when I looked in my cabinet I realized that I had used up all my pinto beans last Friday..need to get more before I can…and I hear you thinking,and yes I have white,black,red,and soup mix 16 beans in it…But ,I love my pinto beans the most.
    so glad to see that you are up and about at least.
    You take good care of yourself.
    Kathleen

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,268 Hits
