Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Started organizing early

I’m checking in so that no one thinks I’ve gotten sick or something. I hope all my readers are safe from the storms.  Its sad to see so much destruction and loss of lives.  We’ve had lots and lots of rain.  Flash flood warnings for the next couple of days.

Usually I’m busy quilting up until Christmas Eve but this year I pushed myself to finish the last quilt a few days early.  There are several organizing things I’d like to accomplish before the quilting work starts again in January.

Organizing 2015 021

I spent some days cleaning up and downsizing my quilting blog. That was a big organizing accomplishment for me that I’ve tried to do for a few years.  I started that blog in 2003 or 2004 and it had over 3,000 posts.  Many of those posts were missing the photos and there were posts not even remotely connected to quilt work done.  I was really tempted to keep all of the posts because it was sort of like deleting history.  It took great resolve on my part to delete so many to get it cleaned up in a very short time.

The thing is, no one really cares if I had a doctor appointment on Friday eight years ago when they are visiting my blog because of my quilt work.  The same with this post on this blog a few months from now.  No one will be interested in reading about my end of year organizing six months from now if they come to my frugal living blog to read about senior frugal living ideas.  I’m happy to say the quilting blog now has less than 700 posts, all quilt related except for a few that will be deleted too just as soon as I’ve printed them on paper.  Maybe I should make downsizing my blogs a yearly task.

I hated loosing so many of the quilting posts but without the photos they made no sense.  Very few of the posts were tagged at all and several are listed in the wrong category.  I’m slowly repairing those. My goal is to make that blog look more streamlined and professional.  Because I am a professional with over 35 years experience.  I can’t expect to earn a professional salary for quilting if the blog itself looks ghetto.  Know what I mean?  I haven’t changed prices for anything since 2010 so that needs doing too.

Over the next couple of weeks I plan to clean up my internet bookmarks.  I have way too many research bookmarks I simply don’t need anymore.  Heck, I can’t even find the blogs I’m really interested in reading because of all the extra bookmarks.  Gotta work on that.  A trip to the computer doctor for updating the anti-virus software is in the near future as well.  I believe I seriously need to update my computer from a tower to a laptop.  I just can’t afford it right now and no one is gonna give me a free one.

Organizing 2016

In years past, the week between Christmas and New Year has been used as the time to do end of year paperwork and inventory.  I’d always be in such a rush to finish it on time.  Not this year.  Its almost done already.

I’ve not been able to get to the food bank for weeks and it may be awhile more before I’ll be going again.  I started baby sitting my new grandson when my daughter returned to work a couple of weeks ago.  But that’s ok.  I have enough food to last for awhile.  Thank goodness for canning.  I’m only watching him for a few weeks like I did Ladybug.  I’ve given him the nick name of Spanky because to me he looks so much like the boy who plays Spanky in the old little rascals.

Organizing 2015 033

Things should return to normal routine right after the new year starts.  BTW I’m gonna be another year older on New Year’s Day.

8 comments on “Started organizing early

  1. Donna
    December 28, 2015

    Happy birthday Nana! Hope you have a great 2016! Love your blog soo much. Very helpful and interesting.

  2. jane
    December 28, 2015

    What fun to be born on New Year’s Day! My last furbaby was a rescue & I didn’t know when his birthday was, so I chose New Year’s so the whole world would celebrate with us. 🙂

    I decided to take the week off from my regular work, too, and I’ve been doing exactly what you’re doing: cleaning up computer stuff. That’s how I re-found your blog and I’m enjoying it very much.

    Happy Birthday to you and Linda Smith!

    • Na Na
      December 28, 2015

      Thank you for both of us. Cleaning the computer makes a difference doesn’t it? Glad to have you reading again Jane.

  3. sarasinart
    December 28, 2015

    You have been very busy and very productive! Have a happy birthday.

  4. Kathleen Wood
    December 27, 2015

    Hello Anita,
    Happy New Year and Happy Happy Birthday!!!!
    I was actually just thinking that you were really busy quilting and doing the Holiday Family thing so I really didn’t expect you to be on the computer through Christmas.
    Love the Grand-babies nick name … Spanky, love it. He is so adorable.
    Ladybug looks like she’s kind of a Na Na’s girl…. 😀
    So happy you can spend time with your Grand-kids. Some people don’t get the chance to watch their Grand-kids grow-up and be a part of their lives.
    You are Very Blessed
    Again, Happy Birthday!!!
    Kathleen

    • Na Na
      December 28, 2015

      Yes, I do feel very blessed. Ladybug is the only grandchild interested in learning about my quilts and crafts. Of course I’m happy to teach her. I wasn’t on the computer the entire time. I got on the computer when not spending time with family and friends. During the quiet times of very early morning and late evening is when I can get the most accomplished. I treat this time as vacation time but I also want everything ready to go when the work starts again.

  5. Linda Smith
    December 27, 2015

    Oh my gosh Anita, my birthday is New Year’s Day too! I will be 7 decades on this earth. When I was little I used to think all the fireworks & parades & such were for my birthday. I was crushed when I learned the truth. Lol Well, Happy Birthday to us!

    • Na Na
      December 28, 2015

      HAPPY EARLY BIRTHDAY TO YOU TOO! The whole world celebrates our birthday. My favorite doctor’s birthday is the first too.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 27, 2015 by in CLEANING, ORGANIZE, TODAY STUFF FOR YESTERDAY MINDS and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
