Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

So excited

I had my 3 month checkup with my doctor today.  I could hardly wait to tell my news.  I’ve been told a normal A1C should be somewhere between 4.5 and 6.2.  I started with 11.9 or something like that about a year ago if I remember right.  I tried to find the information but can’t.

I knew my 30 day average from my meter has been getting lower and lower.  This was from a few days ago.

Food and kitchen 2015 744

Anyway, I’m proud to say my A1C report this time is 6.5.  Yippie! Yippie! Doing the Snoopy happy dance here.  That’s just .3 away from the normal range.  My other tests are all showing great improvement too.  And…. I’ve done it all while depending on food bank foods

I’m here to tell you, it can be done.  If you would like to read the post I wrote about how and what I’m eating these days go to this post.  Would Great Grandma eat it.  I tell myself everytime I visit the food bank that “free isn’t always a good thing”.  Just because I’m receiving charity food doesn’t mean I have to eat it.  I get rid of all but a select few items.

5 comments on “So excited

  1. Jackie
    January 1, 2016

    Good work! That speaks volumes! Wow!

  2. Nathalie
    December 30, 2015

    Congratulations, what an achievement, especially with the constraints that you face! You’re awesome, Nana! Here is to continued health in 2016!

  3. Sandy
    December 30, 2015

    Congratulations. Glad to see all your hard work has paid off.

  4. Kathleen
    December 30, 2015

    Great !!! Way to go Anita!! I am so happy for you.
    Kathleen

  5. Donna
    December 30, 2015

    Congratulations! I know that feeling because I have been there myself and always felt defeated when my numbers were high. Keep up the good work!

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,140 Hits
