Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Flu

Quick post.  At my last doctor visit, the Wednesday before New Year, I got a flu shot.  I knew the shots always make me feel bad for a day or at most two but not as bad as actually getting the flu.  Well this time the shot really knocked me off my feet.  I probably could have saved myself some money by walking up to someone with the flu and kissed them.  I’ve never had the shot affect me this way before.  I really need to re-think getting the shot next year.  Thank goodness this was a holiday weekend so I could stay in bed.

I’ll be back posting in a few more days.  Right now I’m drinking some chicken broth then heading back to bed.

13 comments on “Flu

  1. nancy lotzer
    January 7, 2016

    Just found your wonderful blog. I’ve had a wonderful couple of days reading every post. It was great to see some “new” ideas for saving and being generally frugal. I hope that you are feeling better soon. Thank you!

    • Anita
      January 8, 2016

      Thanks, I’m finally feeling better. I’m glad you found me Nancy.

  2. T
    January 6, 2016

    A little late here, but I hope you are on the mend.

    I hope you will continue to get the flu shot, even though it may make you sick, it’s still much better than the flu.

    Hubby and I contracted influenza in 2012, and it wasn’t pretty. I don’t know if you’ve had influenza before, but it is horrible, especially when you’re older. It’s a whole other level of being sick.

    Just trying to walk felt like I was trying to move through molasses. The fatigue was unbelievable. Couldn’t sleep because our lungs were crackling from so much mucus that wouldn’t come up. I almost passed out once. Hubby got through it without meds, but I ended up needing breathing treatments and steroids. Took a month to recover completely. We get our flu shots every year now.

    Just some food for thought.

    I hope 2016 treats you kindly :o)

    • Anita
      January 8, 2016

      I’m going to do a whole lot of research before taking another one. I’m told that the older we get the less effective the shot is for us. I took the pneumonia shot without any problem in November. I’ve taken the flu shot several years without a problem but this year it was just as bad as having the flu. Yes, I’ve have influenza before. Was hospitalized for four days. I probably should have been hospitalized this time but I toughed it out.

  3. craftytadpole
    January 6, 2016

    Feel better soon.

  4. KAYTHEGARDENER
    January 4, 2016

    Dear Na-Na,
    Please get well quick, so that we can hear more of your wonderful thoughts!!
    You inspired me to borrow the equipment from my son, the trained chef. So over the holidays, I canned 6 1/2 qts of pears, 9 pts of pear sauce, 6 pts of applesauce & 3 1/2 pts of apple mint jelly!! I’ll be thinking of you every time I eat some goodies!!

    • Anita
      January 8, 2016

      YIPPIE! Doing the Snoopy happy dance to read this. I’m hoping you’ll have your own equipment soon. What did your son think of your efforts?

  5. Pattinround
    January 3, 2016

    I had a couple of days feeling lousy after my flu shot too.
    Take care of yourself. Keep warm.

  6. Kathleen
    January 3, 2016

    Good Morning Anita,
    Hope you feel better soon.
    Every time my husband gets a flu shot and later on gets the flu we hear…He got a Different stran then what flu shot he recieved.blah,blah,blah. :p
    Fluids and sleep ,lots of blankets. Lol
    🙂
    Kathleen

    • Anita
      January 8, 2016

      It was odd to grab my coat everytime I had to get out of bed to drink fluids or go to the bathroom. I kept it hanging next to the bed. The house was plenty warm but I felt like I was freezing the whole time.

  7. Andrea
    January 3, 2016

    Get well soon Anita!

  8. sarasinart
    January 3, 2016

    I hope you feel all better quick!

    • Anita
      January 3, 2016

      Thank you.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,605 Hits
