Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

I think I’ll live

Its terrible to be sick on one’s birthday like I was.  The last few days have been pretty rough but the worst is over now. I’ve gone through two boxes of tissues and whole bag of cough drops.  I’ve slept so much that the days are just a blur.  The tissues and sugar free cough drops were given to me in a food bank box last summer.  I didn’t need them at the time so they stayed in my storage.  That’s one reason to have an emergency stash.  I’m taking the rest of the weekend for more rest and a bit of planning.

I’ve been living off liquids the last few days so I need to eat to get some strength back.  I had a very strange craving for deep fried chicken wings that simply wouldn’t go away.  The craving stayed with me for two days.  So at 4 am this morning I was in the kitchen cooking chicken wings.  After eating enough to satisfy my craving I’ve been feeling better ever since.

I’m late talking about my 2016 goals.  I don’t plan anything spectacular.  Just to renew my efforts to live frugally and control my health.  You might say I’ve delayed my start of 2016 by a week.

I’m actually getting less SS this year than last year due to the increase in Medicare costs.  My goal for this year is to do more DIY frugal things for survival.  I can’t see how I’m gonna make it if I don’t.  Everything costs so much more these days. I’m suffering the same as many like me in the same situation.  I hope to continue to inspire as many as possible by writing about the frugal things I do.

I sure do think some strange things when I’m feverish.  A thought that kept popping up…. or a question of sorts.  You know how high food prices are blamed on weather issues like the drought in California? Well, there is no drought in the ocean to blame for a shortage so why is the cost of fish so high?  I told you it was a strange thought.

Here’s to a frugal new year.

10 comments on “I think I’ll live

  1. Maranda
    February 10, 2016

    If you are getting less SS based on a Medicare increase, you might want to call Social Security. You can call the 800# and ask them about ‘variable SMI’. It doesn’t apply to everyone, but they might be able to lower your Medicare premium because it adversely affected your take-home amount of SS. Worth a shot!

    • Anita
      February 11, 2016

      I called and I qualify for extra help which can’t be combined with other programs.

  2. KAYTHEGARDENER
    January 9, 2016

    Dear Na-na,
    Glad to hear that you are better & thinking of even more frugal ways for 2016!

    I am resolved to eat down the foods in my pantry & freezer for at least 3 reasons —
    1) have to watch my budget — no Social Security raise in 2016, again!!
    2) want to defrost my freezer manually around Asian New Year (late Jan/early Feb), since that is when the West Coast USA usually has a few days (6-10) of warmer weather, before the winter rains hit again for months. But who knows with erratic weather patterns setting new records?!
    3) Warm stews, soups, & chili sound very nice & healthy for the long rainy days!!
    Greetings to all the readers & may you have a wonderful 2016!!

    • Anita
      January 10, 2016

      Thank you Kay. No raise this year is hurting a lot of us. I’m eating down my freezer too. I like the feeling when I see empty spaces in there. That means its being eaten instead of just taking up space. I’m stretching the food out as much as I can until the spring when I’m able to go back to the food banks OR have a raised bed garden started.

  3. Kathleen
    January 9, 2016

    Good Morning Anita,
    So glad that you are feeling better!! 🎶🎶
    Yah, “THEY”say that the cost of living has not gone up for the last 2 years in a row.that’s why my husbands retirement check hasn’t gone up any either…. What a bunch of b.s.
    I do believe they blame the cost of fish on fuel..transportation costs and such.
    Defination of a cheat”make up the rules as you go!”
    I am excited this month…starting a new raised garden this year.My husband built me raised garden boxes 4 feet off the ground 2 years ago..get the best spinach and parsley out of them..they are shaded so once the leaves on the tree grows they stay cool until July when the dry hot heat starts and forces them to go to seed..best kale I ever grew was in an old wheel barrel.Try to grow off the ground around here because of Goffers! Dang things kill trees if you don’t kill them first.
    Oh, look at me yapping away…sorry.
    Get better real soon!!! ((((hugs))))
    Kathleen

    • Anita
      January 10, 2016

      Go ahead, yap away, I love hearing about others frugal endeavors. We have walnut trees in abundance which kill many things around them. Raised beds keep everything above the roots of the walnut trees. I’m going to do my very best to have a raised bed garden again this year. I don’t have the physical strength to make it myself so I’ll have to pay someone. IF, I can budget enough to pay them.

  4. sarasinart
    January 9, 2016

    It’s great that you’re feeling better after such a bad sick time!

    • Anita
      January 10, 2016

      Thanks for caring.

  5. Linda Smith
    January 8, 2016

    My birthday was Jan. 1; I was 70. I was healthy but everyone else in the house was sick so I got to play nursemaid. Belated happy birthday to you & best wishes for health & prosperity. We didn’t get a cost-of-living raise this year on SS but the congress voted themselves a raise. Funny how that works.

    • Anita
      January 10, 2016

      Yeah, its funny how that works. Happy birthday to you too.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
