Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Kitchen weekend

I thought time in the kitchen was what I needed after being off my feet for a week.  Of course being hungry had a lot to do with it too. There are people wondering how I’ve gotten my A1C levels down so close to normal. Quite simply I’m eating as much as possible what I can make myself without all the sugars, salt, and chemicals.  I’m pretending its 1943 all over again.  Here is an example of how I cook without a lot of expense or time.  I use one day a week, usually Saturday, to make ahead foods.  I do as much multi-tasking as I can on that one day.

This time I’m still getting my strength back.  I started by making a loaf of bread.

Food and kitchen 2016 005

Bread just cries out for jam.  Ok, the sugar content in jam is much too high for me to eat.  I’ve been using plain fruit as a natural sweetener. Dehydrated fruits are really good as a sugar replacement.  I made a half pint of raisin spread to go on the bread.

Food and kitchen 2016 006

There was some chicken breasts in the freezer that I needed to use soon so I cooked those for some quick meal fixings.  Chicken soup, chicken pot pie, chicken chili, chicken bbq, chicken stir fry, etc.

Food and kitchen 2016 008

I boiled them so I could also make some chicken stock in the process.  I canned ten pints of stock and had 12 packs of chicken for quick meals.

Food and kitchen 2016 007

The smell of chicken cooking had me hungry so I decided to have some chicken salad.  That left 11 packs of chicken in the freezer.  Well, my chicken salad needs mayonnaise,  which meant I should make some.  I made a pint.  I made my mayonnaise recipe  three times which came out to one pint.  The size of the egg makes a difference.  I used medium size.

Food and kitchen 2016 009

The chicken salad was a simple one without relish.  I’m out of homemade relish and the store kind has too much sugar, salt, and chemicals in it.  This tasted so good!  I think I have my appetite back.

Food and kitchen 2016 010

I chopped up 10 red bell peppers for the freezer too.  I got all ten of them for $2 in the discount bin.  I looked at the price on the shelf and they are selling for $1.99 each.  Not a bad bargain.

I’m doing like Kay and eating down the food in my freezer.  I hope to make it last until I’m able to go to the food banks again in the spring.  No raise on SS is hurting all of us.

6 comments on “Kitchen weekend

  1. Amy
    January 12, 2016

    What a great article!! Now I am hungry!! Are there links to these recipes?? I just love your blog Anita. I may go for a couple weeks without reading this, then catch up in a day full of inspiration.

    • Anita
      January 12, 2016

      Amy we all have priorities. I don’t set at the computer all the time either. Life is too important to waste it setting in front of a screen. Any kind of screen. There is a link within the post for the mayonnaise. Click on the words “my mayonnaise recipe” to get there. I just wrote a post about the raisin jam. The chicken is just boiled chicken. The broth is just the water from boiling the chicken.

  2. sarasinart
    January 12, 2016

    Your appetite and all your energy has come back, good! You were very busy and so productive!

    • Anita
      January 12, 2016

      Yeah, lots of energy after sleeping for several days.

  3. jane
    January 11, 2016

    I’m glad to see that you’re getting your energy back! This post gives me great inspiration as this morning I was figuring out my week’s meals. I usually do my major cooking only on the weekends as that’s when electricity costs are the lowest (and before 7:00am & after 7:00pm), but I was laid low this weekend. I’m going to try to get a big pot of soup going after 7:00 tonight, chili tomorrow night, etc.

    • Anita
      January 11, 2016

      Hope you are feeling better. We don’t have variable rates here. I sometimes wish we did so I could take advantage of off peak rates. But then again, knowing its the same all the time has advantages too. A pot of soup or chili sounds great. I’m thinking maybe beef vegetable barley would be nice.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 243,603 Hits
