Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Jelly alternative

I remember Grandma Mama would often use fruit as an alternative to sugar in her cooking because she had learned to use them when sugar was scarce.  I’ve been using fruit in place of sugar to help get my diabetes under control.

Not long ago we got small boxes of raisins at the food bank.  We got 6 single serve boxes.  I ate one right away as a snack.  Many people don’t want these but I do.  I use them to make a spread for my fresh bread instead of using jam.

Food and kitchen 2016 001

The recipe is very simple.  Put the raisins in a heat proof container.  Cover with boiling water and let set overnight to re-hydrate the raisins.

Food and kitchen 2016 003

Next day drain off the water but save some.  Put the raisins into a food processor or blender and chop them to a fine past.  Add just a bit of the water if needed to make it spreadable.

Food and kitchen 2016 004

Put into a jar and enjoy your raisin spread.  Store in refrigerator.

Food and kitchen 2016 006

I don’t know how long it will stay fresh in the fridge because mine doesn’t last long.  Those 5 boxes (about 2 cups) made 1/2 pint of spread.

5 comments on “Jelly alternative

  1. J.
    March 16, 2016

    There are some dried redcurrants to pick up yet. This might work, YAAAYYYY… Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. Randal Oulton
    January 12, 2016

    Great idea. It would be great on / with many things, including cheeses, but right away I’m thinking on a piping hot, split scone (baking powder biscuit) hot out of the oven. Thanks for this!

    • Anita
      January 12, 2016

      Aww, now you’ve gone and made me hungry for biscuits. Yes, I do try to eat cheese along with the raisin spread. It helps keep my sugar level instead of spiking.

  3. Amy
    January 12, 2016

    Thanks for your recipe Anita. Just what I was looking for. I think I will do this with a package of Palisades Peaches I have in the freezer. They are naturally sweet.

    • Anita
      January 12, 2016

      Ooo, that sounds good! I do love peaches.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
