Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

No knead whole wheat bread

I often wish bread flour or whole wheat flour was included in some food bank boxes though I can understand why its not.  Very few people would know what to do with it if they got it.  I want to share with you a recipe for a single loaf whole wheat bread that I use. No kneading. It takes a little over an hour to make from start to finish.  It stays fresh for several days even when not frozen.

Put the ingredients in your mixing bowl in the order listed but do not mix until its all in there.

Whole wheat no knead bread 007

1 cup of warm milk – between 110 and 115 F

2 teaspoons (or 1 packet) instant or rapid rise yeast

2 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons lard, oil, or room temp butter

1 egg

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 cup bread flour or all purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

Now mix it together.  Yes, you can do this by hand but it will take longer.  I used the paddle for my mixer instead of the dough hook.  It works better for this recipe.  Mix everything together for five minutes.  It will be like cake batter but thicker and stickier.

Whole wheat no knead bread 004

While this is mixing oil the sides of your loaf pan really well.

Whole wheat no knead bread 008

Now put a small amount of flour on your counter and scrape out the mix onto the flour.  Its going to be quite sticky.  I use a stiff plastic spatula to scrape it from the sides of the bowl.  Add just a small bit of flour on top and on your hands.  This is only for keeping the dough from sticking to your counter or hands while you form it into a loaf shape.  There is no kneading of this bread.

Whole wheat no knead bread 009

When you have a reasonable loaf shape place it into the pan and let set for about half an hour.  You want the dough to rise to just a bit above the sides of the pan.  It will rise more in the oven.  While the dough is rising start the oven warming to 375 F.

Whole wheat no knead bread 010

When the dough has risen put it into the hot oven and bake for 15 minutes.  Make a foil tent and put loosely over the bread. Bake for another 15 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let set for five minutes before taking it out of the pan.  Place your bread on a wire rack to cool.

It should be a golden brown color.  Let cool completely before cutting.  Ok, no one really waits longer than they have to for a slice of fresh made bread still warm from the oven. So at least let it cool long enough to handle it safely.  It does cut much easier when it has cooled completely.

Whole wheat no knead bread 011

I cut mine with my electric slicer.  I cut thin to be diabetic friendly.  I’m surprised this bread doesn’t raise my blood sugar all that much.  Place into a plastic bag and store.  I had a bread box but it grew legs and walked away several years ago.

Whole wheat no knead bread 012

This bread lasts several days without freezing.  I usually give half a loaf to the neighbors who somehow smell it baking.  I gotta stop opening the door so often when I’m baking.  🙂

3 comments on “No knead whole wheat bread

  1. Joyful
    February 10, 2016

    I make a version of no knead bread but your recipe seems quicker. I’ll have to bookmark and try it one day.

    • Anita
      February 10, 2016

      I’m hooked on whole wheat bread these days cause its so easy to make.

  2. nancy lotzer
    February 1, 2016

    Sounds very tasty.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
