Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Kitchen weekend six

Yup, its the sixth weekend in 2016. Weekends are for canning and baking since I’m not babysitting those days. The kitchen is after doing some quilting work first.

I was rather productive this past weekend. I canned beans first. Six pints white beans and four pints brown beans.

Food and kitchen 2016 036

I had found some discounted mushrooms at the store on Thursday evening after the baby went home.

Food and kitchen 2016 042

Those got turned into 14 half pint jars of mushrooms ready to use.  I use and eat lots of mushrooms.

Food and kitchen 2016 047

Did you notice I’m using the tattler lids again?  I have the newest self venting ones that don’t have a learning curve.  I treat them just like the metal lids and so far there has only been a couple of fails.  I believe the fails are from the metal ring instead of the tattler lids.

After that I made two loaves of bread for my daughter.  One cinnamon raisin and one sandwich loaf.

Food and kitchen 2016 057

I baked cornbread and made beef barley vegetable soup too but didn’t take a photo of them.  Right now I smell the beef barley soup being warmed.  Its making me hungrier.   I’m gonna eat dinner then do a bit of quilting before bedtime.

7 comments on “Kitchen weekend six

  1. Lily
    February 10, 2016

    YOU ARE AMAZSING! And a Treasure! So glad I found your blog.
    Are the 2 loaves of bread made from the no knead bread receipe?
    They sure look yummy!

    • Anita
      February 11, 2016

      The recipe is the same. Only the type flour used changes. For the raisin bread I used all purpose flour. The sandwich loaf I used white whole wheat. Different flours create different textures.

  2. Randal Oulton
    February 9, 2016

    You heard that the Tattlers people are calling for more headspace with the Tats, right? Since I have done that, sealing rate is identical to metal lids.

    • Anita
      February 9, 2016

      No, I hadn’t heard that. How much space is recommended? Where did you hear the news?

  3. sarasinart
    February 9, 2016

    You have been really busy! All good stuff.

  4. Linda Smith
    February 8, 2016

    Wow! You make me feel like a slug! You make such pretty bread. I’m assuming you’re feeling all better now?

    • Anita
      February 9, 2016

      I still have a runny nose and cough but getting better. Some days I feel as if I’m moving in slow motion but other days it seems as if work just sort of falls into place. Practice makes it all go better. I get lots of practice canning.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,605 Hits
