Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Pomelos

I found pomelos in the discount bin this week.  The regular price is is between $4 and $6 each but I got them for fifty cents apiece.  Had they not been in the discount bin I couldn’t afford to buy any.

If you don’t know what pomelos are they are the original grapefruit but much sweeter.  Pomelos have been known to be eaten in ancient times by the Egyptian Pharaohs and earlier.

The photo makes them look small but they are like giant grapefruits with a much thicker skin.  Some pomelos can weigh up to twenty pounds.

Food and kitchen 2016 063

It takes some muscle to peel these but the skin inside is easy to pull off the flesh. I’m told the white part is quite edible but the process takes several days so I’m not gonna do them.  Here is a good video on youtube showing how to peel them.  You will notice there is very little juice when peeling pomelos.  Put it on mute if you don’t like spooky music.

Food and kitchen 2016 065

There was an article in the Chicago Tribune 1931 about canning pomelos.  See the article here.  I just love looking at old newspapers.

I decided not to can these.  Instead I flash froze them to be eaten a little at a time for the health benefits.  Pomelos don’t raise my blood sugar the way grapefruits do and they have plenty of potassium for heart health.  When thawed they taste just like fresh peeled.

Food and kitchen 2016 066

They look really strange when frozen.  But…. oh wow are they tasty. Hard to eat only a little bit at a time.  I’ll have to keep them as an occasional treat.

5 comments on “Pomelos

  1. Randal Oulton
    February 18, 2016

    It’s interesting that the confusion between grapefruit and Pummelos / Pomolo has continued over the decades, as witnessed by the Chicago Tribune 1931 article. (Grapefruit have 12 fruit segments in them, Pummelos will have 11 to 18). Did the name of the Iowa State person quoted sound familiar? Louise L’Engle was the sister or Tracy L’Engle (broadcaster and writer), and both were cousins of Madeline L’Engle. All shared an ancestral home in Jacksonville, Florida and I think all had roots in St John’s Episcopal Church there.

    • Anita
      February 19, 2016

      That family connection slipped right by me. Thanks for pointing it out.

  2. sarasinart
    February 14, 2016

    You taught me something again, cos I have never heard of them. Enjoy your frozen treats!

  3. mem37814
    February 14, 2016

    I love the discount cart at the groceries and never pass w/ out cking for goodies. Never heard of Pomelos. very educational post

    • Anita
      February 14, 2016

      I’m a true discount cook. You must be one too. People mistake pomelos for giant grapefruit and pass on buying them. I like that because I get them very cheap.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,312 Hits
