Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Taking time off

Diabetes and poverty had wrecked havoc on my teeth.  Within a year my teeth went from semi-healthy to broken and decayed. Dental care is not covered by medicare and I didn’t have the funds to go to a dentist regularly.  Now its too late.

Last Monday I had all my top teeth removed.  There was nothing left to be saved.  I was scheduled to have the bottom ones removed too but I had a reaction and a resulting panic attack before the dentist could start on the bottom. It was a horrible experience.  I’m scheduled to get the rest pulled tomorrow.  Thank goodness I won’t have to go through that experience ever again after tomorrow is over.

On Tuesday my mother was found unresponsive with a very low blood pressure, a temperature of 84 and barely breathing.  She was sent to the hospital where she was put in a warming blanket and given medication to bring up her blood pressure.  By Thursday she was doing much better but apparently couldn’t eat.  Well yeah.  She’s just gone through hell and you want her to have a healthy appetite?

I don’t believe the hospital has any experience with feeding almost bed ridden patients.  The doctor wanted to put a feeding tube in her but she couldn’t tolerate the anesthesia so they had to stop the procedure.  Next they wanted to put a tube down her nose but I said no.  I know my mother would have pulled it out the first chance she got.

So the doctor recommends putting her on palliative care…. again. This means no medication and no food until she dies.  Basically its to starve her to death.  So she’s been sent back to the nursing home to wait to die.  Well heck, isn’t that what nursing homes do?  Care for those who are too sick to care for themselves until the end comes.

My mother has been through this same thing twice before and done just fine after getting her medically stable and back to her normal routine.  When I saw her last night she was alert, talking, and seemed to be fine again.  I came home to get some sleep and make phone calls.  And get myself ready for the dentist tomorrow.

I don’t know how things will be over the next several days so I’m taking a blogging break.  I really don’t want to have the pressure to post something or to answer comments when so much is happening.

13 comments on “Taking time off

  1. Kathleen
    February 25, 2016

    God Be with you and your family
    Amen ❤

  2. Donna
    February 21, 2016

    So sorry about your mom. When my mom quit eating the hospital wanted to insert a feeding tube. I told them no because that was the way she wanted it. She had COPD and just could not eat and breath both. Too hard. Her death certificate showed reason as malnutrition and dehydration. Took me a while to get overy that. I still did what she wanted even if it hurt me personally. Hang in there. Making decisions is often times hard. I will be praying for you and for her.

  3. Margie in Toronto
    February 21, 2016

    So sorry to hear about your troubles – of course you must concentrate on looking after yourself and your mother. Please take care.

  4. Erica
    February 21, 2016

    What a tough time you are having at the moment! 😦 I hope your mums health stabilizes again soon and that your dentist appointment goes smoothly tomorrow.
    I’ve only recently discovered your blog but have been power reading it in the last few weeks. Thank you for all of the knowledge that you put out into the universe for us to draw on! I really appreciate it and wish you all the best at this challenging time. Take all the rest that you need and know that we all wish yourself and your mum a swift return to health. Much love.

  5. KAYTHEGARDENER
    February 21, 2016

    Dear Na-Na,
    My prayers & best wishes to you & your mother in your illnesses. Hope for the best outcomes for both of you…
    Sincerely, KMC

  6. sarasinart
    February 21, 2016

    All the best to you and your mother.

  7. Jane
    February 21, 2016

    I’m so sorry! You and your mother are both going through terrible experiences. I wish your mother the best, and you a good rest after tomorrow.

  8. craftytadpole
    February 21, 2016

    Nothing to say really, you are going through a tough time. But I am sending you lots of hugs in case it helps.

  9. pattinround
    February 21, 2016

    My thoughts and prayers are with you. Look after yourself and your dear mother.

  10. Linda Smith
    February 21, 2016

    No response necessary – just know that you will be in my thoughts & those of many others .

  11. brandilynnwonderland
    February 21, 2016

    ❤ sending you and your mama love, strength, healthy appetites, and clear and helpful conversations.

  12. Andrea
    February 21, 2016

    Hi Anita, hope your mother gets well soon. Also hope your next dentist visit goes smoothly.

    Take care,
    Andrea

  13. Sandy
    February 21, 2016

    I will be praying for you and your mom.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
