Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Update

Thank you everyone for you kind comments.  I appreciated knowing there are other who care.

Mom is back at the nursing home and is her feisty self.  Weaker but just as feisty.  First thing the nursing home did was feed her. Thank goodness!  Mom asked for chocolate pudding and ate the whole bowl.  I was so glad to see her eating.  The hospital had put her on a no food diet to let her die.  Mom had pneumonia which was help with antibiotics.  The last time she was put on palliative care was five years ago.  The hospital was willing to let her die then too.  So, she’s had five more years than they had given her.  Maybe she’s gonna have that many or more after this incident too.

I went back to have the rest of my teeth pulled but there was a mix up with the scheduling and it couldn’t be done on that day.  I have a new appointment for March 18 or earlier if there is a cancellation.  I’m healing but I sure am tired of eating baby food.  I cook and then use my food processor grind it up for eating.  I get the taste of the food but its not the same as chewing it.  I was asked if I wanted temporary teeth that would hold me for about three months and I said no.  For a thousand dollar savings I’ll wait for the permanent ones.

I’m still waiting to hear about getting another house.  No news is supposed to be good news.

The baby is due here in a few minutes so that’s it for this post.  I need to get a pot of soup started before he gets here.

Thank you again for all the nice comments.

4 comments on “Update

  1. KAYTHEGARDENER
    February 26, 2016

    Good News to hear that things are improving with you… take some time off to spend with your family… they are your roots!

  2. sarasinart
    February 26, 2016

    More best wishes for both of you. Good luck with the house, too.

  3. Jane
    February 26, 2016

    Good news about your mother! Hope your teeth get looked after a.s.a.p.

    • rachelmcastro
      February 29, 2016

      Glad to hear your mother is doing better. Thanks for the update! Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,273 Hits
