Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Quiet lately

Since having my teeth pulled I’ve not had much to talk about.  I haven’t been to the food bank either because I’m baby sitting so there hasn’t been any canning to do.

Its hard to talk about cooking with food bank foods when I’m not getting any.  Its hard to talk about cooking and eating mushed up food when I really want crunchy stuff.  I want carrot and celery sticks.  Ooo, and apples.  I want apples.

Food and kitchen 2016 072

Its surprising how much I miss certain foods now that I can’t eat them. There are four more teeth to be pulled later this month.  Its going to be a few weeks before I get false teeth.  I decided against paying for temporary teeth because of the cost.  I’ll wait until my gums heal and shrink to get a permanent set.

My daughter brought me her nutri-bullet food processor to use for awhile.  She isn’t using it.  Without access to fresh vegetables and fruit its nothing more than a fancy food musher upper.

Food and kitchen 2016 076

Some of the recipes in the book actually sound pretty good.  If I had the ingredients I’d try them.  So, she brings me some greens.  Which I put into water.  Greens are plants and the same way flowers stay fresh for a few days in water so do greens.

Food and kitchen 2016 082

She also brought me some fruit too.  Yes, apples!  Ok, apple sauce isn’t quite the same as biting into an apple.  For now, these will do.

Food and kitchen 2016 083

I don’t plan to do a juicing diet but I sure am glad to have a way to eat fruits and vegetables without cooking them.  Juiced is better than nothing.  Hmm… I wonder how toast and apple butter tastes when mushed up?  Should I bake a loaf of bread to test it?  Maybe I will bake a loaf over the weekend.  My neighbors are always happy to get homemade bread if my experiment doesn’t work.

12 comments on “Quiet lately

  1. wjcalderon
    March 6, 2016

    When I had to have dental surgery many years ago, I also got very tired of liquids.
    One day, I scrambled an egg – very soft, didn’t cook it too long.
    I had to eat it my mashing it against the roof of my mouth with my tongue.
    To this day, that is the best scrambled egg I ever ate!!

    • Anita
      March 11, 2016

      Yup, I read this and then scrambled myself a couple of eggs. Delicious.

  2. Donna
    March 4, 2016

    I can totally identify with you. After stomach surgery I was on liquids for a while and all I wanted was salad. Still crave salad 4 yrs later aND can’take get enough. Hang in there. It will get better and be so worth it.

    • Anita
      March 5, 2016

      Thanks Donna, I’m glad to know others have had similar experiences.

  3. Margie in Toronto
    March 4, 2016

    I sympathize with you – I’m having a bit of trouble with a tooth at the moment as well so carrot sticks are out and apples have to be sliced – can’t bite into them. Going to the dentist next week.
    I had jaw surgery a few years ago and got so tired of a liquid diet that I got really good at mashing things until they were manageable – lots of mashed potatoes with baby food!
    Take care.

    • Anita
      March 5, 2016

      Yeah, lots of mashed potatoes with baby food. But now I can have my fruit smoothies.

  4. nancy lotzer
    March 4, 2016

    Glad that you are thinking creatively about the foods that you can eat.

    • Anita
      March 5, 2016

      Thanks. Being very hungry was what did it.

  5. Kathleen
    March 4, 2016

    Anita,
    So glad to here everything is going good….you notice I didn’t say Great?.lol
    I had to have all my teeth pulled about 10 yrs ago…so I feel for you…pain and mental pain…took me a few days to get my head around it…not having MY teeth. I have been keeping busy lately,gardening,(which almost everything is starting to come up its been so warm here in New Mexico),volunteering at our local museum going through local history files,stories of Billy the kid and Geronimo.old west tales..amazing….we also just got 6 chicks..never raised chickens before…mmm fresh eggs!!! In 5 month that is…bought a roost and a friend is going to give me her old roost her recently late husband built. I figure to give them lots of space to keep them happy ☺ ❤
    Take care of yourself!!! 😉
    Kathleen

    • Anita
      March 5, 2016

      Oh I’m so envious. I want a garden and chickens too. We are still getting bits of snow and weather in the 30s and chickens would get eaten by stray dogs.

      • Kathleen Wood
        March 6, 2016

        Well, our chickens will be enclosed in chicken wire for all their lives….we have 5 acres that they COULD run around on if we didn’t have dogs and 2 really really good mousers and birder TOM CATS!! I wish they could run around free all the time.
        The more I read up about raising chickens the scarier it gets…everything is always trying to get in their pen so you really have to keep them safe , especially the first 8 weeks….mites,fleas,mice,rats,bugs,coyotes,dogs,cats,other birds,skunks,racoons that can unhook latches….oye via!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀
        ttyl
        Kathleen

        • Anita
          March 11, 2016

          Yes, I had the same reaction when reading about them. We had chickens when I was a child. I had no idea it was so difficult for my Grandma Mama.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,268 Hits
