Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Moving

I’ve mentioned several times that I live in a high crime area that’s also a food desert.  I hear gun shots quite often.  Sometimes the gun shots are just outside my house.  Evidence of this is bullet holes.

Food and kitchen 2016 099

A few days ago a bullet went through a window of the house next door.  That’s a window of the room where a toddler sleeps.  Luckily she was not hurt.

Food and kitchen 2016 069

The crime in the area surrounding my home is outrageous.  In almost every major city in America the “west end” is always the poverty and crime ridden section.  I live in the west end of Louisville, KY.  Our west end is a food desert consisting of liquor stores, convenient stores, and carry out.  And drugs of course.

When new neighborhood improvements are announced by the mayor for the east end its new hotels, new apartments, new hospitals, and new businesses.  What does the mayor announce for the west end?  A food court and a methane plant.

Food and kitchen 2016 097

The news has reports daily of people being shot in the west end.  Some live, some die. News reports of robbery, burglary, home invasion, or other crimes usually don’t make it to the news but those of us who live here know about them through word of mouth.

Just walking to a bus stop is dangerous.  Gangs of teens beat up elderly people merely for the fun of it.  Babies are shot sitting on a front porch.  Young kids are shot riding a bicycle to a youth activity center. Kindergarten kids are shot riding a tricycle in their yard.

I can’t say the problem is just my neighborhood.  The world seems to be getting more disrespectful and violent every day. Heck, even a presidential hopeful can keep insulting world people and become even more popular for doing it.  What is our world coming to?

Food and kitchen 2016 098

Well, I can’t do anything about the evil of the world but I can change the place I live.  When I bought this house over 30 years ago I had dreams of paying it off and living rent free the rest of my life.  I wanted to have a garden, and chickens, and fruit trees, and even a fish pond.  I did manage to pay it off a few years ago.   Sometimes dreams die.  Mine has.  I can’t take it here anymore.

Of course I know crime happens everywhere.  But it happens much less frequently in other places.  I’ll be moving to one of those other places.  I plan to move by July or August if possible.  I’m not exactly sure where I’m moving or how just yet but I do know I have to get away from the west end for my own sanity.

24 comments on “Moving

  1. Terran
    March 12, 2016

    Anita, my heart goes out to you. Some years ago, I lived in a very high-crime, scary neighborhood in Austin, Texas. One day I packed up the kids, cleaned out my apartment and with my two children, two garbage bags of clothes moved to Vermont. We lived in an old mobile home w/o electricity for two months until I had enough money from my job to move into an apartment in a little rural town. I never regretted that decision and pray for the best possible solution for you.

    • Anita
      March 13, 2016

      Sometimes we just have to make a decision and then follow through. I’m glad things turned out for you. I believe I made the right decision too.

  2. Margie in Toronto
    March 8, 2016

    How terrible for you – I hope you get to somewhere safer sooner rather than later. Good luck and be careful.

    • Anita
      March 11, 2016

      Thanks. I’ll get there. It just takes time.

  3. Amy
    March 8, 2016

    The hard thing is moving away from family. In my case I have a small paid off house with a couple of acres. But the area is so remote there aren’t any food banks nor cheap groceries. I would like to live closer to my daughter and grandkids, but rent in that huge city is outrageous. However, that being said, my area is relatively safe. So I will stay here and make do.

    • Anita
      March 11, 2016

      Amy I’d gladly trade the convenience of cheap food and food banks for the quiet of remote living. My fondest memories are living with my Grandma Mama on a very remote farm. I wish I could give that type memory to my own grand kids.

  4. Kathleen
    March 7, 2016

    Hope you find your new dream home Anita!
    If I were closer I would come help you move.
    ;)))

    • Anita
      March 11, 2016

      Thanks Kathleen, I wish you did too. I could use some company while I sort and make decisions on what to get rid of and what to keep.

  5. maris
    March 7, 2016

    what are you doing with your house?
    Selling would not be easy

    • Anita
      March 11, 2016

      You’re right. It won’t be easy. I’m hoping a section 8 landlord will want it. I’m also looking at possibly donating it to Habitat. A few repairs and its ready for a family in desperate need.

  6. Cynthia
    March 7, 2016

    I think a move is a wise idea but I’m sorry you have to do it. Those bullet holes are horrifying. Good luck with finding a safe place that you like, hopefully with better opportunities for food shopping nearby.

    • Anita
      March 11, 2016

      Its a little sad but exciting too.

  7. Sandy
    March 7, 2016

    I am praying that God shows you a way to a safer and happier life. You have earned it.

    • Anita
      March 11, 2016

      Thanks I believe good things eventually happen.

  8. Linda Smith
    March 7, 2016

    I had no idea, Anita. Good luck on your search for a new place.

    • Anita
      March 11, 2016

      Its out there, I just have to find it.

  9. Donna
    March 7, 2016

    I am so sorry to hear of the end of your dream. But safety and peace of mind are worth a great deal. I will be praying for your safety and peace for this upcoming move. I sincerely hope you will continue your wonderful blog as I am somewhat selfish and so look forward to your writing. Hope your mother is doing well. God bless.

    • Anita
      March 11, 2016

      Yes, I’m continuing the blog. Especially about the downsizing and other changes I make to my life. Hopefully for the better. Mom is holding on.

  10. Jane
    March 7, 2016

    I’m so sorry that your dream has been dashed by such disgusting violence. You’d be welcome in Canada!

    • Anita
      March 11, 2016

      I may take you up on that someday. Jane, what’s the full address for your blog? I’ve tried to click and go look but all I get is a download of something.

  11. Jeanie in MO
    March 7, 2016

    So sorry your neighborhood is like that. Hoping you find a nice place and can get moved and feel safe again. I’ve read your blog for years and know you have made lots of improvements to your home along the way. I’m sure your neighbors will miss your kindness to them.

    • Anita
      March 11, 2016

      Most of the people I knew for years have moved away. The new people don’t really know me. I’m still going to be blogging but now it will be about my new adventures.

  12. sarasinart
    March 7, 2016

    Good luck finding a safe and nice place to move to and getting a good deal on your house. And with the move itself.

    • Anita
      March 11, 2016

      Thanks.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 243,603 Hits
