Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Packing to move

Moving is the perfect time for me to downsize my life.  I started sorting and packing stuff in preparation for moving.  Yes, its a bit early but why wait until the last minute?  Starting now gives me plenty of time to decide what I really want to keep and what needs to be donated. Most of it won’t ever be used by me but may just be what someone else is looking for.  The less I have the less to be moved.

Organizing 2015 046

I had already gone through my fabric stash a few weeks ago.  I had donated 4 tubs and 2 boxes of fabric to a charity group.  I had more fabric for quilts than I’d ever make in my lifetime and saw no need for keeping it all.  On Saturday I donated the rest of what won’t be used.  What I kept is my PIGS and UFOs and the fabric to finish them.  I kept only my stash of selvages, neckties, and t-shirt scraps.  I make quilts from the selvages and neckties.  I make rugs from t-shirt scraps.  I now have those down to a manageable amount.

Food and kitchen 2016 074

My daughter now has the freezer.  She needs a big freezer much more than I do.  The other appliances, except for the bar fridge, will stay with the new owner of my house.  It’s been listed with a real estate agent.

Food and kitchen 2016 095

I went through old papers and shredded enough to fill 2 trash bags.

Moving 2016 002

Its strange but I look at things now and wonder what the heck was I thinking when I kept it?  When I move into a new house I want only what will actually be used.  Its not necessary to keep things “just in case” anymore.

11 comments on “Packing to move

  1. Lyndsey Stanfill
    April 1, 2016

    Anita, Which charity group did you donate your fabric to?

    • Anita
      April 2, 2016

      I’ll talk about it when you pick up your quilt.

  2. KAYTHEGARDENER
    March 24, 2016

    I just came back from a visit to my cousin whom I hadn’t seen in person for decades!! Great inspiration for new ways of doing things! It was also eye-opening seeing my own place in a new light — clear out the clutter!!

  3. Terran
    March 16, 2016

    Anita, you are right…it’s never too early to start. Strike while the iron is hot! So inspired by you

  4. sarasinart
    March 16, 2016

    Good organization to get ready for this next phase in your life. I hope it all goes well and you’re very happy in your new house.

  5. Margie in Toronto
    March 15, 2016

    From Margie in Toronto – good for you! Starting early is the smartest move – I can’t believe the number of times I’ve gone to help friends move and found them still packing boxes while the truck and movers waited!
    My current apt. is a 1 bedroom and 560 Square feet – I’ve lived smaller and I’m seriously thinking of going back to a smaller space before I retire.

    • Anita
      March 16, 2016

      Thanks Margie. I’ve often thought about moving to a “tiny” house. I like them alot. But, there wouldn’t be enough room for my quilting machine. I’m keeping that option for when I actually retire and not just take time off.

  6. Donna
    March 15, 2016

    Anita, I envy you having the courage to make this move at this time in your life. It will be a freeing thing to divest yourself of all those “things”. Your peace of mind will be so worth all of your hard work now. Even if we aren’t moving, it might be a good idea to pretend we are and start purging. After all, if we don’t, someone else will have to in the future. I think I am going to start right now…..

    • Anita
      March 16, 2016

      I agree. I ask myself the same question everytime I pick something up to decide whether to keep or toss. Do I want my kids to have to deal with it in the future? Its easier to let go of things.

  7. Aunt Bea
    March 15, 2016

    I found this quote helpful to me when I was ‘shedding’ my excess possessions.

    “When someone steals another’s clothes, we call them a thief. Should we not give the same name to one who could clothe the naked and does not? The bread in your cupboard belongs to the hungry; the coat unused in your closet belongs to the one who needs it; the shoes rotting in your closet belong to the one who has no shoes; the money which you hoard up belongs to the poor.” – Basil the Great

    Good luck to you in this new chapter of your life!

    • Anita
      March 16, 2016

      Thanks. I like that quote. I’m gonna remember it as I get rid of things. I have several bags of stuff ready to donate already.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2016 by in MOVING, ORGANIZE and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,310 Hits
