Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Something stinks

I kept getting a whiff of an awful smell when I’d walk through my kitchen.  I blamed my furry kid because it smelled sort of like dog urine.  I admit in his old age (12) he has mishaps but nothing that bad.  He’s a tiny purse dog and I clean up after him quickly. The smell kept getting worse and worse but I simply couldn’t find any uncleaned spots.  He looks guilty doesn’t he?

Food and kitchen 2016 168

I also thought I had some kind of grain weevil problem because I would see a tiny brown bug fly around.  I never saw more than one and only every few days.  I got rid of any grains and flours I thought questionable even though I couldn’t find signs of infestation.

I gave up locating the source of the smell thinking it must be coming through the floor or duct work from the cellar.  Maybe something had gotten in there and died.  I couldn’t check that because the only access to the cellar is through a hole in a closet floor.  There aren’t any steps and its a 7 ft drop.

Well, yesterday I discovered the source of the smell and the bugs quite by accident.  I was cleaning my kitchen stove.  I use baking soda as a cleaner.  I keep a shaker container of it in the cabinet below the kitchen sink.  I opened the cabinet door to reach for the baking soda and the smell was horrible!  Several small brown bugs flew out too.  Everything was wet and moldy.  No wonder it smelled horrible.

Food and kitchen 2016 159

So everything stored under the sink went into the trash.  Again. This is not the first time I’ve had a problem with the kitchen sink leaking.  I should have remembered that smell.  So I sprayed a bug killer, poured peroxide onto the slimy water, and shut the door for awhile.  I have no idea what those bugs are but they obviously thrive on wet, moldy, stinky wood.

I went back later to clean up the best I could.  It’s not easy to be on hands and knees at my age to crawl into a cabinet so I used a mop and bucket.  Its not getting down that’s the problem.  Its getting up.

Food and kitchen 2016 161

The leak is fixable but I’m moving.  I don’t want to put any more money into this house because I won’t be here.  I want my money to be used for fixing stuff in my new house.  So, I put two water catchers inside the cabinet with some newspaper to soak up any remaining water and sprinkled baking soda to absorb odor.  I’ll leave the problem for whoever has this house when I’m gone.  I’m pretty sure they will want updated cabinets.  These are from the 70’s.

Well dang!  I happened to notice there was water in another area that was no where near the kitchen sink.  Where the heck did that come from?

Food and kitchen 2016 162

Dag gone it!  The water heater must be leaking.  Why?  Its only about 6 or 7 years old.  Then I noticed a drip, drip, drip, coming from the clean out faucet.  The washer in that faucet must be bad.

Food and kitchen 2016 167

I’m not going to fix that either unless it gets much worse before I move.  The price of labor for a plumber to put in a washer would be much more than paying a higher water bill over the next month.  I put a water catcher under it too.

6 comments on “Something stinks

  1. Dorothy cripplewing
    April 26, 2016

    Do you have to fix the plumbing problems when you sell? Often here in Canada the purchaser puts in a clause (subject to ) something being fixed before they will buy …can you sell as is? Will you live somewhere nearby or near the family? I am still thinking of getting something smaller myself so am interested in how you are changing your life. Here my final decision is about to be made as the natives (Indians) have proposed a reserve nearby. I don’t mind living with the natives but when they put in a reserve we (the people nearby) have to pay 10x the taxes for the additional services to be put in & we have no control over what they do on the land. So they could put any kind of business or never keep it up which happens a lot up here and then the place looks like a garbage dump. If it was just a small piece of land it probably wouldn’t matter so much but they are purchasing 648 acres. Sometimes its not easy deciding what to do is it?
    dorothy

    • Anita
      April 27, 2016

      Here you don’t have to fix anything if you say its being sold as is or as a fixer upper. You can also turn down any offer that requires you to fix something you don’t want to fix. I plan to move a few miles away which would be closer to my brother and my daughter. You are right about not having control over your neighbors. I keep thinking what if I move and the neighbors are just as bad or worse than where I live now? What would I do then?

  2. Linda Smith
    April 25, 2016

    I hear ya, sister. My landlord is selling my house; after 12 years I have to move. They have fixed nothing in those 12 years but neither have they raised the rent. Now I’m experiencing “sticker shock” at current rents. I have a leak under my sink as well. In the past I would have paid to fix it but not now. And I surely know what you mean about getting down okay but getting up……not so much.

    • Anita
      April 27, 2016

      I’m experiencing sticker shock too. Even with low interest rates house payments are going to be a big chunk of my income.

  3. Donna
    April 25, 2016

    So sorry for the leaks. Always something. Are you having any bites on your house?

    • Anita
      April 27, 2016

      Nothing so far.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,312 Hits
