Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Moving soon

I’m so excited!  I have a house picked out.  I’ve been approved for the loan.  I have a buyer for my current house.  I have someone to move my quilting machine.  The only thing left is the waiting.  Waiting until all things start to happen.  And packing of course.

The people living in my new house are staying until school is out so the kids don’t have to leave before the end of the year.  My life is on hold for the next month or so which means not a lot to blog about unless you find that seeing someone putting stuff into boxes exciting.  There may be a post or two but for the most part this blog will be on hold until about July 15.

I want a food garden but it looks like it won’t happen this year.  If I planted one here I’d have to leave it behind.  It will be too late for planting a garden at the new house.  I’m not going to the food bank for awhile and I’m not canning more than a bit of essentials because it will be less to move.  I never knew it is so difficult finding boxes for packing.  Stores don’t want to let people have boxes for some reason.

The posts on this blog will be very few, if any, over the next 5 or 6 weeks while I finish up the last of the in house quilts before my move.  🙂

Its hard to describe the relief I feel knowing I’ll be leaving this horrible neighborhood.  When I bought this house I believed I’d eventually pay it off and live rent free the rest of my life.  The day I paid the final payment I had hope for an easier, less stressful time. I never in my wildest thoughts believed I’d have a new mortgage at this stage of my life.  Sometimes free isn’t worth the risk.

Well, with my news told, its time to head into the quilt studio and get to working.  I have three more quilts to finish and if possible a quilt of my own for entering into the fair.  Entry deadline is in July.

 

26 comments on “Moving soon

  1. Cynthia
    May 21, 2016

    It’s good to know you have found a house in a safer neighborhood and with space for s garden? Wonderful! I hope the move goes smoothly, with lots of joy and minimal stress.

    • Anita
      May 22, 2016

      Thanks. I’m counting down the days. Almost everything is packed and ready to go.

  2. carenowplease
    May 16, 2016

    The best of good luck for your move.

  3. Donna
    May 15, 2016

    So happy for you! Selling your house was a blessing. I know you will enjoy your new place. I am so in awe of you making a move like this. Can’t wait for more of your blog. You are so interesting and I learn a lot from you. You are such a brave lady.

    • Anita
      May 16, 2016

      Thanks Donna. I have high hopes for a less stressful life in my new neighborhood.

  4. Erica
    May 15, 2016

    That is wonderful! Such exciting news! That will put a spring in your step and make the rest of the packing a joy knowing that you are boxing up for a new beginning! I can’t wait to hear about it all. Your moving day can’t come fast enough for me either!! 🙂

  5. RMC
    May 14, 2016

    Good luck with the move!

  6. Margaret Holz
    May 14, 2016

    congratulations on finding a new home and a buyer for the old one, I hope you will be very happy there

  7. anita
    May 14, 2016

    Best of luck with your move and all that goes with it.

  8. craftytadpole
    May 14, 2016

    Good luck with your move.

  9. Sandy
    May 14, 2016

    Congratulations.
    You might call some businesses and see if they have copy paper boxes you could have.
    Good luck. Will try to wait patiently for July.
    Question, does your new house have a current garden? If so, maybe the current owners would let you plant it.
    Containers are another possibility.

    • Anita
      May 15, 2016

      Thanks and I thought about that. No, the current owner doesn’t have a garden and doesn’t want me to start one until after she moves. The neighbors don’t know yet. I’ve found some boxes.

  10. boblosan
    May 14, 2016

    Congratulations on getting everything done! Looking forward to seeing your new house and hearing from you again. Best of luck for the move!

  11. KAY CAREY
    May 14, 2016

    CONGRATULATIONS, NaNa!! Look’s like you will be celebrating the new house around the July 4th holidays. What a wonderful way to celebrate your own independence!!

    • Anita
      May 15, 2016

      You are so right! I hadn’t thought about that. I could have a backyard cookout housewarming and holiday celebration. I’ve never had a cookout at this house. I wonder if I could get ready for one in time for the holiday? You’ve given me something to think about, thanks.

  12. pattinround
    May 14, 2016

    I wish you all the best in your new life. THis is a very corageous step you are taking. Many people in our stage of life are unhappy but afraid to make a change. Me included. You are an inspiration. I’m looking foreward to the new house blogs.
    Good Luck.

    • Anita
      May 15, 2016

      Oh, but it really is scary. What if my new neighbors are bad? What if I don’t like the house after I’m in it? What if my budget doesn’t fit the new expenses? What if I made a big mistake moving? At the same time its exciting. Planning a new studio. Planning a garden I won’t be worried the neighbor kids will destroy… I hope. A fenced in yard for my furry kid to be safe from roaming pit bulls. Starting completely from scratch to organize and decorate the rooms. Sort of a blank slate. So its both scary and exciting.

  13. Kathleen
    May 14, 2016

    Anita,
    I am soooo happy for you!!!
    May the next few months go by fast and once settled and happy last forever!!!!
    My local grocery store started recycling cardboard boxes…and I think they get something for doing it….a few pennies maybe.
    You are in my thoughts and prayers.
    Kathleen

    • Anita
      May 15, 2016

      Thanks Kathleen. The days really do seem to be moving by really fast. I did find some boxes. My thoughts are on getting my quilting studio back up and working. That makes the time go by easily.

  14. mem37814
    May 14, 2016

    maybe when u get moved u will have time to plant  a small fall garden. There are lots to plant. I do not know what state u r in as to what your weather will b like. I have 2 large pots of strawberries and this year is the first for me picking large lush red strawberries. I think it is bec of the neighbors cats that keep the birds at bay.I  I have containers w/ lettuce,basil,one tomato,2 green pepper,yellow squash, potatoes that sprouted in the house before I could use them-,and flowers.. Lots of catnip for the cats.    Praying u have good health and weather to move.

    • Anita
      May 15, 2016

      I have thought about a fall garden but my funds will go to getting my studio back up and running. I think it better to get some herbs that can grow on a window sill during the winter and give myself to thoroughly plan a garden for spring. When my quilting is back up and earning money I can budget for a spring garden.

  15. Jen
    May 14, 2016

    I am glad you’ll be somewhere safer, soon. Could you grow food in pots once you move? We’ve had great luck with spinach in pots on the patio

    • Anita
      May 15, 2016

      I’m thinking I may get some herbs in pots that could be grown inside during the winter. I’m saving all my available money for getting my studio back up and running. Quilting income can then be used for planning and planting a spring garden.

  16. Jane
    May 14, 2016

    Congratulations! That’s a few major considerations off your mind. I worry about being able to sell my house & finding something more suitable when the time comes.

    One thought: with climate change, it may still be worthwhile to do a small food garden after your move. Here at least, warmish weather has been continuing well into the autumn. I’m going to try planting some things toward the end of summer this year as I’ve heard other people say that now works.

    Enjoy your quilting and packing, and we’ll ‘see’ you in your lovely new house!

    • Anita
      May 15, 2016

      Thanks Jane. Yes, I’ve thought about a fall garden. I think for now I’ll concentrate on getting my studio back in operation which will take most of my money. Everything I get from the sale of this house is the down payment on the other house so money will be still be tight. Waiting for spring will give me time to scrounge around for gardening supplies and budgeting for heirloom seeds in the spring.

  17. sarasinart
    May 14, 2016

    Best of luck with it all, and we’ll be looking forward to seeing and hearing about your new life! Less danger, less stress.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
