Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Moving update

I’ve been asked to give an update on my move.  The house I’m moving into has been a rental house for several years.  The seller is older, like me, and doesn’t want to deal with the problems of rental property anymore.  I decided not to take any photos to post in respect of the renter’s privacy.   There will be plenty of time for photos when I get the keys.   After all, that will be my home for a very long time.  The buyer of my current house plans to convert it into a section 8 rental.

My current house:  3 bedroom, one bath, one story, shotgun style, built in 1900.  High crime neighborhood.  Over half the houses stripped of sell-able materials and boarded up.  Very busy street.   Constant struggle to find parking space when I borrow a car.

The new house:  4 bedroom, one bath, two story, box style, built in the 1950s.  Nice neighborhood.  No boarded up houses.  Neighbors about my age.  Quiet dead end street.  Walking distance to library, major grocery store, bank, and also on a bus line.  Very short distance to my daughter’s house and my brother’s house.

Exactly which day I move will depend on the Gammill man’s schedule.  Unless something changes that day will be near the end of June.  I’m having it professionally moved to be sure nothing happens to it.  It will also be tuned up and carefully checked.

I plan to be sleeping where my machine is located even if my other stuff isn’t there.  I’ve too much money invested in that machine to take any chances with a burgler damaging it during the night.

Almost everything is boxed and ready to move.  I’m taking more stuff with me than I plan to actually keep.  I haven’t been able to measure spaces inside the house so what I’ll do is fill a space starting with what I want to keep most.  What doesn’t fit will be given away.

I’m excited about starting fresh with new organizing ideas and energy saving stuff to post about.  I’ll be able to sit on my porch or sleep at night without fear of getting shot by a stray bullet. No more street walkers at night.  There will be plenty of room for grand kids to move around in when they visit.   My furry kid will have a yard with new sights and smells to explore.  I’ll have a real storage shed and not need to keep everything inside the house like I did here.  The closets will be closets instead of storage spaces.

The difference between where I’m leaving and where I’m going are like night and day.  I’m walking away from a dangerous, dismal house to a relaxed, happy home.  If everything goes as planned I’ll be in the new house for Independence day.  What a great way to celebrate!

27 comments on “Moving update

  1. Dorothy cripplewing
    June 2, 2016

    I am so happy for you. Your place sounds perfect and you deserve a bit of peace, quiet and safety. I wish you all the best in your new surroundings and look forward to some pictures once you are in and settled. I had to laugh at the picture you painted sleeping with the quilting machine. Are you tucked up together? LOL I understand though…..it is your ways and means to provide for yourself. May you have many years of happiness in your new abode.

    • Anita
      June 2, 2016

      Thanks Dorothy, yes, we will be sleeping side by side and a gun under my pillow should he get fresh with me. LOL He does have horns and a tail ya know.

  2. sarasinart
    June 2, 2016

    Congratulations! I hope your move goes well and you can live there in peace. Pictures after you move!

    • Anita
      June 2, 2016

      Yes. I plan to take lots of pictures.

  3. Joyful
    June 1, 2016

    That’s fantastic news!

  4. Margie in Toronto
    June 1, 2016

    Very excited for you – keeping my fingers crossed that everything goes smoothly and you are all settled in within the next few weeks. It sounds like a lovely neighbourhood and I’m sure you’ll be very happy.

  5. Sarca
    June 1, 2016

    Congratulations to you, Anita, and best of luck with the move. Sounds like a good deal all around!

  6. Linda Hillin
    June 1, 2016

    Just found your blog and it’s very interesting. Twelve years ago we sold our home in Texas and moved to Oregon. That was an exciting move. I look back on that now and wonder how we did it.

    • Anita
      June 2, 2016

      Thanks Linda. Texas to Oregon is a very long way to move. Makes my move of only 5 miles look tiny. I’m sure I’ll look back someday and wonder how I could have remained in a bad neighborhood for so long.

  7. Linda
    June 1, 2016

    I am so happy for you. You deserve peace of mind and safety.

  8. janeisgreen
    June 1, 2016

    This sounds absolutely wonderful, Nana! Perfect location & perfect house. I’m so happy for you. 🙂

  9. Kathleen
    June 1, 2016

    I am SOOOOOOO! Happy for you Anita!! 😉 😉 😉

  10. Jeanie in MO
    June 1, 2016

    so happy for you! Hoping everything goes great for you.

  11. pattinround
    June 1, 2016

    So glad for the optomistic update. I can just see you all settled in. The hard part is waitingbut I believe that, “All good things come to she who waits.”

    • Anita
      June 2, 2016

      Me too.

  12. Sandy
    June 1, 2016

    Sounds wonderful!
    I am so happy for you, your furkid and your extended family.

  13. Donna
    June 1, 2016

    So happy for you Anita! You deserve a safe place to live your life without fear. Keep us posted as best you can. We all want to know how everything is moving along. Not nosey so much as wanting to share your happiness.

    • Anita
      June 2, 2016

      I understand. Good news and happy things are always best shared with friends.

  14. J.
    June 1, 2016

    This is all so very exciting! ( I have started downsizing myself, and am finding it hard.) I´m sure you and your beloved ones will be very happy in your new home.

    • Anita
      June 2, 2016

      I agree, downsizing sure is hard. The STUFF multiplies itself when we are not looking. Other STUFF sneaks back home after we think we got rid of it. Reminds me of the nursery song… the cat came back.

  15. RMC
    June 1, 2016

    Congrats! Can’t wait to see photos of the new home.

  16. KAYTHEGARDENER
    June 1, 2016

    “Walking distance to the library…major grocery store…neighborhood filled with many folks my own age” — you must feel like you’ve won the lottery!!
    Just hope you can stay inside to keep up your quilting!! Ha Ha !! 🙂

    • Anita
      June 2, 2016

      I did! I did! I hit the lady luck lottery. Usually she passes right by me without looking but this time lady luck looked at me and smiled. Awww… quilting isn’t as much fun as being outside in the summer time.

  17. Leslie Saunders
    June 1, 2016

    I am very happy for you, and can relate to how you feel. We love our retirement cottage out here,with nice neighbors, and close to church, library, and senior center.
    Its so nice for you to have family close by as well. All the best!

  18. Amy Wilson
    June 1, 2016

    Congratulations!! I have a feeling this is that “endless possibilities” kinda place. Best wishes and if I believed in luck I would say good luck. My belief is we make our own luck!! Wow!! 4 bedrooms. I am so happy for you Anita.

    • Anita
      June 2, 2016

      Yes, four bedrooms means lots of room for grands to visit.

  19. Carolanne Howitt
    June 1, 2016

    Fabulous! Hope it all goes well. 😊

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,273 Hits
