Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Frugal diabetic – three

I have an inquisitive mind.  I don’t always understand the world around me so I ask questions and seek out answers.  I’ve had people get defensive as if I’m questioning their judgment or honesty but that’s not it.  I’m just curious how things work and how it effects me.  I guess that’s why I like doing research so much.

Food and kitchen 2016 192

Anyway.  Somewhere in my research about diabetes I discovered that the food industry, the medicine industry, and the diet industry are all owned by many of the same people.  What does that mean?   It means that not only are they giving us food that makes and keeps us fat but they are also the ones creating the medicines to control the diseases caused by eating those foods and they are the ones selling us the diet solutions that just don’t work.

We count calories, keep up with points, visualize or measure portion sizes, check the carbs, take medications, have surgery, and all the different ways diets are supposed to work; yet most of us continue to be sick in one way or another. Some of us do actually loose weight and feel healthier for awhile.  What happens when we go back to eating normally?  It all comes back.  Often worse than before.  It becomes a lifelong fight to stay thin and healthy.  I don’t know about you but I get tired of the constant fighting.  I prefer peace between my food and my body.

At the risk of sounding like a doomsday person let me say this;  if our food is made in a lab it will take a lab to digest it.   Starting in the years of WW2 and the beginning of rationing continuing into all the years that have followed we’ve been eating chemical food.  Its been fed to us little by little to get our bodies used to eating it.  I’m not sure which chemical food came first but I do know margarine replaced real butter and shortening replaced real lard.   Fluffy, soft bread replaced homemade dense bread.  In today’s modern food world we have chemicals called MSG, Aspartame, high fructose corn syrup, pink slime, and meat glue used in our food along with a whole bunch of other chemicals.

When one natural ingredient is removed from a food its replaced by chemicals to mimic the taste of food.  We’re not eating food anymore; we’re eating chemical products made to taste like food. For example, when fat is removed from a food then that food tastes like cardboard.   So to compensate for the removal of the fat there are various chemicals put back into it.  Sugar is added to disguise the disgusting taste of those chemicals.  Our bodies are designed to crave sugar. Replacing fat with sugar convinces our tongues and brain that what we’re eating is food.  Could that be the reason for so many chemical varieties of sugar?  We become food junkies craving those chemical sugars.  Now you know why they call it junk food.

Sugar is not harmful in moderation.  You find sugar in fruit and in honey but they aren’t harmful.  There is sugar in carrots but those aren’t harmful either.   You don’t automatically loosen your belt in order to eat second or third helpings of carrots or apples do you? No you don’t.  But with the highly sugared or salted artificial foods you will.  You’ll loosen that belt or unbutton that top button to eat second and third helpings.  An hour later be ready to eat more.  You’re craving that high just like any junky.

Its the act of getting too much sugar disguised in what we eat that’s harmful to our bodies.  Sugar is made in many chemical forms. Again with the chemicals. I believe at last count there were 56 different names for chemical sugars.   How are we ever supposed to remember all those names so we can avoid them?  One of those chemical sugars is high fructose corn syrup (HFCS).  You’ve heard of it haven’t you? Who hasn’t these days.

High fructose corn syrup is the cocaine of the sugar world.  Here’s how HFCS was explained to me.  Its well known that cocoa leaf tea is not addictive or harmful.  People in South America, especially in Peru, drink cocoa leaf tea much like the US people drink their coffee or the British drink their tea.  The concentrated form of the cocoa leaf is cocaine.   Cocaine as everyone knows is highly addictive and harmful.

Corn by itself is not harmful although it does contain natural sugar. We eat corn as a vegetable dish, bake it into bread, create a desert from it, and use the starch as a thickener without a problem. Now if you remove the sugar (fructose) from the corn and reduce it down to a concentrated form you get high fructose corn syrup.  HFCS would then be the cocaine of the sugar world.  I believe HFCS is highly addictive.  Its put into just about every food we consume these days.  Even baby formula.  (Gotta get them hooked early.)

The more HFCS is used in food, the more our craving for it.  We are addicted and want more just like any other addict craves their drug of choice.   I can’t prove it but I believe HFCS is injected into cuts of meat disguised as a tenderizer or a flavor enhancer.  I’m not talking about just lunch meat.  By the way, the WW2 generation would have made their own lunch meat at home.  Now really, where do you think the food companies got their secret family recipes?

Sometimes I wonder if HFCS is somehow being injected into fresh fruits too?  I can remember a time when one apple would be enough to satisfy my desire for an apple.  Now days I’ll find myself eating two or three apples and still want more.   Its the same with other fruit I eat.  Pears, peaches, bananas, or oranges; one piece doesn’t really satisfy my craving.  Its possible, I guess, to have an injectable form of HFCS for fruit because if apples can be picked and kept for months in storage without spoiling wouldn’t it be possible for chemical sugars to be added to the fruit as well?

Animals and bugs know what isn’t good to eat.  Its their instinct. Something is seriously wrong with our food if the animals and bugs won’t touch it.   Meat eating ants won’t go near frozen chicken nuggets. Wild birds won’t eat the bread crumbs. Chickens won’t eat the tomatoes.  Opossums won’t eat the garbage.  Yes, something is wrong but we must eat.  What we are eating needs to change before we can change our health.   Until a person really studies and understands what is going into the body they can’t control how that body reacts.  We must stop relying on the medical industry for pills, the food industry for truth, or the diet industry for quick fixes.  We must take control of your own health.  Study, learn, make changes.

I’ve been hearing how HFCS is now being removed from different foods.  That could be a good thing providing its not being replaced by something just as addictive or worse.  I worry it could simply be renamed. Remember there are 56 different names for sugar already.  One more will not be noticed right away.

TO BE CONTINUED

Shoot, I did it again didn’t I?

15 comments on “Frugal diabetic – three

  1. Emma
    July 17, 2016

    I just tapped into your blog and I am loving it. My passion for healthy eating led me to take a holistic nutrition course a few years ago. A lot of what you are sharing is what we discussed in some of our classes. Re. not feeling satiated – there are theories now that our bodies are craving more because our food quality has been so degraded we are actually nutritionally deprived. An apple today doesn’t pack the same nutritional punch as an apple of yesterday. Re. cornstarch as a thickener – arrowroot flour is a better option. Contains minerals and is gluten free. Re. – injections in food. You are dead on. Meat is injected with fillers to make it appear plumper. Disgusting. I’m moving into my own house again at the end of August. I can’t wait to grow my own raised box garden next spring. Veggies picked fresh off the vine taste heaps better than store bought. Yield can be substantial, too. I plan to distribute to my parents who are on a fixed income. Anyway, you now have a new follower:)

    • Anita
      July 19, 2016

      Thanks Emma for following. I’m just a little old lady trying to survive by being very frugal and share my thoughts while I’m still around to share them. I do understand your passion for healthy eating. However, I do not have celiac disease and I’m not allergic to any grains so I’m not avoiding gluten nor trying to become vegan. I follow a diet that more closely mimics the WW2 food I remember my Grandma Mama fixing when I was a child. Some older folks would call it bread, meat, and potato meals.

  2. Kathleen Wood
    June 12, 2016

    I am rereading 1 thru 5 and thought of another comment..hope you don’t mind…
    I bought some red delicious apples one time at the store “on sale” cheap cheap…..
    when I cored and cut them and put them on a white paper towel to take outside to eat they turned my paper towel RED!!!! they had been dyed that pretty shiny RED!!!
    Made me mad and sick at the same time. &^%$*&^)(*&%%%&*&^ is what I said out loud. 😦

    • Anita
      June 12, 2016

      Ooo, I’d be extremely mad too. *&%%%&*&^ is good. One more reason to believe there is chemical sugar added to the veg and fruits. Wish I could prove it somehow.

  3. KAYTHEGARDENER
    June 12, 2016

    PS — I come back to this post to look at the picture of the eggs = “boneless chickens”, as a good joke to start the day!!

    • Anita
      June 12, 2016

      I do believe you are the only reader to have noticed the picture. I still chuckle on seeing it.

      • Kathleen
        June 12, 2016

        I saw the picture and showed it to my husband!!! Very cute!!!

  4. Clara
    June 5, 2016

    Breathlessly read your three posts – can´t wait to read more!!!

  5. Donna
    June 5, 2016

    Your insights are definitely logical and right on. Please keep informing us we all need this info.

  6. boblosan
    June 5, 2016

    My son (he’s in his 30s) keeps telling me that these changes are because there are now way too many people to feed naturally on our good Earth. I do try to eat fresh and local whenever possible. Unfortunately, even that is not generally possible.Thank you for your insightful writing!

    • Anita
      June 6, 2016

      That may be true. Maybe the world is over populated. I’m just thinking here. I believe there should be more victory garden type campaigns to plant edibles instead of flowers, shrubs, and pretty trees. I believe the food banks should be encouraging people to learn garden and food preserving skills instead of just handing out food. The garden centers should be donating plants to food banks instead of destroying any that don’t sell. I’ve offered several times to teach a canning class at the food bank but they look at me like I’m crazy and say no thanks. You can’t help people who refuse to help themselves.

      • carenowplease
        June 6, 2016

        I imagine if you suggested the churches planted food you’d get a similar ‘are you crazy’ look, people won’t get it until they find themselves impoverished. I say church because the one near me doesn’t even respect the flowers and plants in their displays- they rip them out every few weeks and just replace with new ones! I kid you not. Sometimes I think the world has gone mad…

        • Anita
          June 6, 2016

          Yes, I would get the same reaction about a garden. The people handing out food can’t see beyond today and the food before them. You are SO RIGHT the world is going mad.

  7. Jackie
    June 5, 2016

    Oh my gosh! Love this!

    • Anita
      June 5, 2016

      Thanks Jackie.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2016 by in 1940s (WW2) FOODS, DIABETES AND FOOD BANKS, Frugal diabetic.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,312 Hits
