Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Frugal diabetic – four

Each time I researched about diabetes I had more questions and I really wanted answers.  My inquisitive mind wouldn’t let them go.

One big question I kept having was why are people who promote good health not having more effect on the number of baby boomers with chronic disease? Why are the grand children and great grand children of the baby boom generation growing heavier and less active too? The number of obese people is greater than its ever been regardless of age.  I read that about 41% of the population is now obese.  Those extra pounds create a host of unhealthy medical conditions.

Why the heck are people getting fatter and sicker instead of healthier?   Quite frankly its because there is no profit in keeping people healthy.   That means no profit for those who make us sick in order to sell us products to make us feel better while we continue to eat what makes us even fatter and sicker.   Think about it; if you treat the real cause of obesity there would be no profits to be made for anybody.

Rather than do something about the cause of obesity, people are given drugs to lower cholesterol, shots or pills to control blood sugar, medications to drop blood pressure, bypass surgeries that fix plaque-burden hearts, and still we are unhealthy.   The baby boomers are popping pills to stay alive while moving around with canes, walkers, motorized chairs, and stair lifts.  We are dependent on surgical solutions and medications rather than creating our own good health.  We are now being called “the fattest generation” and our children and grand children are on a path to be “the super size fat generation.”  We super size everything these days so why not our kids too?

The campaigns to promote health through exercise and better eating habits are not effective enough against the counter advertising of unhealthy foods which are high in fat, sugar, salt, and chemicals our bodies were not designed to handle.  Everywhere you look there are images of delicious looking foods.  These ads are on tv, in magazines, billboards, and even in video games.  Have you ever noticed there is not a single ad promoting carrots, cabbage, potatoes, or onions?

As I got deeper into my research I began to feel as if I was living in an episode of the Twilight Zone.   Hmm…. maybe I mean Fear Factor.  Except instead of eating scary bugs I saw that I was scarfing down scary unknown chemicals in my food…… three times a day, everyday.   Many ingredients that are considered poisonous are banned in other countries but are common place in mass-produced food manufacture here in the USA.

It was suggested the reason we have so many chemicals in our food is because there isn’t enough food to feed the world’s population.   That may be true but it also brings up more questions in my inquisitive mind.  If there really is not enough food for everyone then why do we have so much food waste in America?  Why are so many fruits and vegetables allowed to rot in a landfill instead of feeding the hungry?  Why aren’t backyard gardens highly promoted like they were during the rationing years?  Why don’t food banks teach gardening and food preserving classes?  It goes back the that thing about no profit in healthy people.  I am a voice of one.  I can’t solve the world hunger problem but I sure could do something about my own.

I knew I wanted to live on the diet of my parents and grandparents. I wanted to follow the WW2 ration diet but a return to boiled cabbage, beetroot sandwiches, bread in bone broth soup, and frozen carrots on a stick didn’t sound very appetizing.  It sounded bland and monotonous.  Could I really live without the familiar fast food and the endless supply of junk food?   Well ok, I reasoned with myself, this would simply be one more diet to try.  I’d been through numerous diets before so what could it hurt to do another one?

At about this time is when my memory suddenly reminded me; I was raised on those foods for heavens sake!  It had been staring me in the face all this time and I hadn’t seen it.  Strange but I can’t remember foods I ate as a child tasting bland or boring.  I thought the foods we ate were delicious.  My best childhood memories are of my Grandma Mama and the way she gardened, foraged, canned, dehydrated, and smoked foods. I remember Grandma Mama’s food as delicious meals every day.  As a child I even thought turnip soup was good.   Yes!  I made up my mind.  I would live on that kind of food again.  Hmm…. I thought to myself.  Does this mean I’m starting to go through my second childhood?  I’m told it happens to older people.

When I started my WW2 diet plan I knew the biggest hurdle would be getting fresh fruits and vegetables with very limited funds.   Could I do this diet with only food bank food?  I hate to cut this post off but I’ve some new house related stuff to get done.

TO BE CONTINUED

 

8 comments on “Frugal diabetic – four

  1. Kathleen Wood
    June 11, 2016

    On the edge of my seat Anita!!!

    • Anita
      June 11, 2016

      I’m working on it Kathleen. Is what I’m writing helping you? Just curious.

      • Kathleen
        June 11, 2016

        I have been trying to go”Back to basics” for several years. Garden, Chickens, Debugging… Detoxing my world(as much as possible).
        Washed my hair with baking soda and vinegar for the last year and a half…hairdresser wanted to know what I used that made it soooo shiny.ha ha .
        You are Inspiring me to keep trying to eat healthy. I could be a vegatarian except I like a chunk of meat every once in a while…too bad it’s tainted with growth hormones and antibiotics.and JUNK like that!!!!
        I have also been reading cookbooks from 1850s-1950s free on-line for years..learning to cook from scratch…its funny,sometimes I come across a cookbook from the early 1900s that say”open a tin of soup and pour over yada yada yada”. You know the kind. Ahhhh. makes me crazy.
        I clean with vinegar and lemon juice and baking soda…..sometimes,fall back on bleach, but not too much.
        I love hearing and reading others ways of “Back to basics” “rationing”.
        I have watched all kinds of shows about rationing during the war.
        There is a 3 book series called “Nell Last’s War” …very cool books..diary from Britain during the war.
        I could keep going but I am running out of paper…ha ha ha. 😉
        I thank you for doing your blog…I really love reading it. So many great ideas that I have started doing. You Inspire me with every blog!!!! 😉

        • Anita
          June 12, 2016

          It feels great to know we are taking care of our own lives and making things simpler and healthier doesn’t it? I admire your courage to follow your own heart. I don’t think I could ever be completely vegetarian cause, like you, I like a chunk of meat too. I’m going to look at the library for those 3 books. They do sound interesting…. umm… after I move and things settle down so I can relax and read. Too many things to do these days.

  2. Donna
    June 10, 2016

    Anita, you have me hanging on EVERY word! Everything makes total sense! We are poisoning our bodies with all this fake food. When I was growing up, mom canned, we had sugar cured hams, no fast food existed. How did we get from that to today where everything on sale or that has coupons is prepackaged? We have let ourselves be led down the garden path. And I don’t mean that path in a good way.

    • Anita
      June 11, 2016

      Thank you Donna. It was only through doing my research that I realized food today was nothing like it was a few decades ago. What troubles me even more is that the younger generations never tasted real food and don’t have a clue to what it should taste like. The garden path has led to a cliff over an abyss.

  3. Linda
    June 10, 2016

    You should really write books. I am loving these installments and I’m always anxious for the next episode!

    • Anita
      June 11, 2016

      Thanks for the compliment. I appreciate it. This blog is my book.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 243,603 Hits
