Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Terrifying driveway

Update on the crazy bill I received.  They are required by law to send out those notices.  I merely have to respond explaining she had no assets and its taken care of legally on both sides.

The next few days are going to be rough for me to write the frugal diabetic posts.  I’ll try but there are lots of happenings going on preparing to move and afternoon thunderstorms to keep me away from the computer.

The driveway at my new house is really scary to me for several reasons.

New house 2016 047

I’m only used to parallel parking on flat ground.  I’m using someone else’s truck and I sure don’t want to damage it. My brother bought it to be a fixer upper to be a car show vehicle.  The truck is high and the seat set low for my brother.  I have to use a pillow in the seat to see the road.

New house 2016 041

Its a very narrow driveway.  I looked at other driveways on the block and they are all narrow but mine is the skinniest one.

New house 2016 038

Its in the center of a curve on a very narrow street.  Can you see the curve of the street?  My drive is the house on the far left where all the reflectors are located.  I saw almost all the drives have reflectors so I bought some too.

New house 2016 040

There is a two foot drop into a ditch on both sides.  It doesn’t look that deep in the photo but it is.  There is a deep ditch at the opposite side of the street where I must swing out to make the turn into the drive.  It looks different when looking out than when looking in.  Can you see that curve better?

New house 2016 044

I bought the reflector poles not for night driving but to put beside the drive at the beginning and end of the drop on both side.  They didn’t help.  I’m still scared.  I’m not afraid of the drop itself.  What scares me most is that I don’t own the truck.  If I owned a car of my own I’d be less worried and possibly less afraid of pulling into the narrow driveway.

At some point I’ve got to give it a try.  I’ve asked my brother to go with me on his next day off to coach me into it.  If he’s the coach and its his truck then any damage will not be entirely my fault.  I promise by the beginning of next week I’m going to be an old pro driving into that scary drive.  Quick, somebody talk me out of it.  (LOL)

BTW the painters are there getting started.

New house 2016 037

8 comments on “Terrifying driveway

  1. Kathleen
    June 14, 2016

    Wish I could help you out!! 😀

    • Anita
      June 15, 2016

      That would be nice. I’m getting two men and a truck to do the most work. I’ll move the light stuff.

  2. Donna
    June 14, 2016

    Anita, we will be here when you get moved, then you can continue with your diabetes posts. I’m SURE everyone will agree your move is first priority. Wish we could be there to help. My aunt had a driveway just like yours and it is scarry. We will be praying for your move and that everything will go fine.

    • Anita
      June 15, 2016

      Thanks, I appreciate that.

  3. Jackie
    June 14, 2016

    That is narrow! No wonder you are nervous! But…you’ve got this! 😃👏👍

    • Anita
      June 15, 2016

      I’m getting better at it already.

  4. janeisgreen
    June 14, 2016

    I’m sorry but I had to laugh. I lived in a house in Toronto once that was very close to the neighbour’s and we had a shared drive that went between the houses, each into our own garage at the end. I was petrified; solid brick on each side! I went in head first and backed out. After going about 2mph for some time, I eventually got used to it – lived there for seven years. Good luck! 🙂

    • Anita
      June 15, 2016

      I’m going about 2 mph still. I move the side mirrors of my brother’s truck so they point to the ground. That helps. I can see the edge of the drive as I cross the bridge.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 14, 2016 by in DOWNSIZING MY LIFE, MOVING and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,619 Hits
