Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Finally online again

I got all moved.  Yikes, I sure have a lot of stuff!

Day one – the painters finish up all the painting and I scrub clean the floors, kitchen, and bathroom.

New house 2016 037

Day two – my gas stove is unhooked and moved to the new house and hooked up.  The stove, washer, and dryer that are already there were given to someone who really needed them.  I kept the refrigerator.  I do like my tiny fridge but the freezer on this fridge is nice too.  I’ll put the tiny fridge on freecycle.

Day three – The quilting machine is moved.  I was amazed at how efficient the Gammill guy was.  He had an enclosed pick up truck which I swore wasn’t long enough to move that big machine.  To my surprise the back opened and the truck bed grew.   He had a special made bed that came out to just the right length for the machine.  Every piece of my machine had a special holder with custom made quilted covers.  If you ever need a Gammill machine moved Gary of Touch of Thread in Ohio is your guy!  Well worth the cost.  Dang, I couldn’t find the camera to take a picture of that expanding truck.

Day four –  The movers came and moved almost everything.  They had to take it in the front door past the quilting machine which I was able to move out of the way.  Except the washer and dryer that had to go through the back door.  I had the guys put all the boxes in one room so I could unpack one at a time.  Plans don’t always work.

New house 2016 055

That night I slept on my bed in my new house.  I couldn’t find the linen so I threw a quilt over the bed and fell fast asleep.  Sometime in the wee hours of the morning I woke up to hear someone screaming inside my house.  Heart racing, I jumped up quite confused.  I know I’m supposed to be alone.  Then just who the heck is in here screaming and why?  No, it wasn’t me.  I wasn’t having a nightmare.  A few seconds later I hear it again.  That’s when I realize it was a train with screeching wheels going by.  The train track is about 100 feet from my bedroom window.  The only thing between me and the screeching is those pieces of paper on either side of the air conditioner.  I’m sure glad the air conditioner is bolted in place.  I plan to get central air before next summer.

New house 2016 069

Day five – I went back to the old house for two pickup loads of things not moved by the movers.  I ran out of boxes and they only move what is furniture or packed in boxes.  My helper disappeared so I did this all by myself.  It was very hot and humid.

Day six – I simply had to prepare a way to bathe and sleep better which meant finding bed linen and towels. Some boxes were marked with the contents but many were not.  I marked but my helper didn’t.  This meant lots of moving the boxes around looking for the right ones.  I unpacked a few as I moved things around.

New house 2016 062

Day seven – The phone and internet was supposed to be hooked up.  Waited all day.  No one showed up.  I called them using a friend’s phone and was told the installation man called me but no one answered.  UH DUH!  So explain this to me…… just how is he going to call a phone that he is supposed to be hooking up? Gee whiz you’d think they would at least have some common sense. The next available appointment is next week.

Day eight – I needed a way to eat.  I can’t keep eating fast food.  My sugar count is rising.  I go looking for the boxes with the cooking utensils and pans.  Now why was I not surprised the box I needed was way in the back at the bottom?  Thank goodness I have plenty of canned food to get me by for awhile.  I made a pot of hamburger stew to last several days.  Put some in the freezer for later.

Day nine – A dental appointment for more dentistry.  Thank goodness no more being stuck with needles.  Next appointment will be for making a mold for the dentures.  Dentist says I should have my new teeth by late August.

Day ten –  I unpack boxes of stuff and made a run to the hardware store to buy a doorbell.  There wasn’t one and I really do need a doorbell.  I bought a remote kind that doesn’t need to be wired and it also tells me when the mail person has left me mail.  I love the Westminster chime.

New house 2016

Days eleven and twelve – I’m too exhausted to do much of anything but sleep and walk my furry kid.  He still remembers what out means even after several years without going outside.  I no longer have to worry about roaming mean pit bull dogs.  Its so peaceful here.

Day thirteen – go to the bank to set up an automatic payment to the mortgage company.  Bank tells me “we don’t do automatic payments.”  Huh?  She repeats and tells me the mortgage company does that.  So I go back home to tell the accounting man at the mortgage company what the bank told me.

Day fourteen – More unpacking and a run to the hardware for new dryer vent and new parts to put my intake table back together.  That is a project that may take a whole day.  I also chauffeur SIL for a doctor appointment and to the grocery.

New house 2016 073

Day fifteen –  I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed and sad.  Did I make a mistake moving?  I love the new house and neighborhood but the idea of being in debt again scares me.  What if I don’t get quilt customers again?  I must trust I made a good decision and look forward to the good things I can do here.  A garden, hanging laundry outside on nice days, walking the furry kid, sitting in my back yard, no loud thump thump cars, no gun shots, no racing motorcycles, no disrespectful kids, just nice peace and quiet.

Day sixteen – the phone and internet is finally hooked up.  Just in time for the holiday weekend.  I have the new uverse internet which is nice.  I wish I had a nice lap top but that isn’t in the budget.  For now I have to put up with all the wires.  Eventually I’ll need a good desk too.

New house 2016 070

There is still some things to be done before I’m ready to start quilting again.  An electrician is scheduled to come after the holiday.  I need new overhead lights installed above the quilting machine and new electrical outlets in order to plug up the machine.  The room doesn’t have three prong grounded outlets or any overhead lighting.  The outlet for the dryer is an old style and needs changing too.  I don’t plan to use it much in warm weather but will be nice to have when I do need it.

Now comes the dreaded chore of finishing the unpacking and weeding out the stuff I don’t need anymore.  What doesn’t fit will be donated.  I’m still trying to figure out where all the canning will eventually be stored.  For now its in the hall way.  I think its going to be a very busy weekend for me.

New house 2016 071

By the way, Spanky is walking.  He’s been doing it for a couple of weeks.  He turned nine months on the 21st.  With five big brothers and sisters urging him to walk he had the confidence to try.  I believe he’ll be running in a few days.  He wants to keep up with everyone else.

20 comments on “Finally online again

  1. Linda Smith
    July 8, 2016

    Feeling your pain, sister. I just moved 40 miles from a house I lived in 12 years. As my disabled son & his 2 kids live with me it was quite the ordeal! My 15 yr old grandson was worth his weight in gold. I did hire someone to move beds, freezer, dressers & bookcases but we did the rest – in many trips. Took a week to get internet switched. (At first they told me there was no house here! Excuse me, I’m sitting in it!) Anyway, I’m excited for you & myself. I moved from a city of 250,000 to one of 14,000. Much better. I, too, have trains going by but I love to hear that whistle. Congratulations!

    • Anita
      July 10, 2016

      Thanks Linda. The customer service from call centers located in other countries (especially India) is horrible. And…. they have no plan in place for emergency service either. A friend of mine, on a transplant list, was not able to get service restored quicker than ten days. The train doesn’t whistle and is barely heard unless there is a squeaky wheel.

  2. morgne
    July 4, 2016

    I grew up near a fairly active train track … Even 20 years later, a different state, I was thrilled to discover that there was a train track close enough that I can just hear the sound of the train in a quiet night.

    The train will just be background noise soon. You won’t even notice the sound that is left after the insulation boards you are thinking of installing. 🙂

    • Anita
      July 12, 2016

      I don’t even know they are passing now unless I’m in the yard walking the furry kid.

  3. Margie in Toronto
    July 3, 2016

    So glad to hear that you are finally settled in – please try not to overdo things too much.
    For my last two moves I was lucky enough to have access a week or two early and that way I was able to set up my bathroom and kitchen first and that made such a difference – everything else went so much quicker after that.
    Take care of course;f.

    • Anita
      July 4, 2016

      Thanks Margie, I won’t be unpacking as fast as I packed. 😉 I’m going to be here for a very long time so there’s no hurry. I’m enjoying the process of fitting my favorite things into new nooks and crannies.

  4. Gaby
    July 3, 2016

    I enjoy your tips on frugality, especially now that I’m a SAHM and don’t generate a second income like I used to. I didn’t realize you’re in Ohio! If you live in the Columbus area then you’ve got a reader here who is here to help if you ever need anything 🙂

    • Anita
      July 4, 2016

      Thanks Gaby. I hired the Gammill guy from Ohio to come to Louisville, KY to move my machine. We don’t have anyone at all in KY that could move the machine. As far as I know he’s the only one on the east coast qualified to work on or move these big machines. It was absolutely worth the money I paid him to be sure nothing went wrong. I appreciate the offer though.

  5. sarasinart
    July 3, 2016

    What an adventure you’ve had but you’re figuring it all out and you made it! Be happy and well in your new home.

    • Anita
      July 4, 2016

      I sure am happy. Its so quiet and restful here. I would love to see your garden gone wild. I hope by next year I’ll have one too.

      • sarasinart
        July 4, 2016

        Yes next year you can start early and plan to grow a few things. 🙂 Quiet and restful is so good.

  6. boblosan
    July 2, 2016

    Congratulations on living in your new home! Moving is so hectic and disconcerting. I’m very glad your first few weeks are over, as they are the most overwhelming. I hope your move brings you peace, the prosperity you need and new friends.

    • Anita
      July 4, 2016

      Thanks Sandy.

  7. Donna
    July 2, 2016

    So happy you are all moved in. Everything will work out, just give it time. Normal will be so much better in your new house!

    • Anita
      July 4, 2016

      Thanks Donna.

  8. Kathleen
    July 2, 2016

    I can not tell you how happy I am for you!!
    Stop and smell the roses every once in awhile.
    You don’t have to get it all done at once,sounds like you have been overdoing it.
    This is what they say”Kettle calling the pot black”. I always overdo once I get started.
    You take care of yourself Anita.
    God Bless you and your new Home!! ❤
    Kathleen

  9. kathi
    July 2, 2016

    I am TOTALLY OVERJOYED for YOU!!! What a WONDERFUL new home you have. THE PEACE. To be able to sit in the yard, and relax. To take a walk with the furkid and NOT be terrified he or you will be eaten by other dogs. To GARDEN. To hang the laundry outside. Doing the CRAZY HAPPY Snoopy dance for and with you.

    • Anita
      July 4, 2016

      Thanks Kathi, I feel your joy. I knew you’d understand since you’ve known me so many years. Since I can’t hug you myself give David a hug instead.

  10. Theresa
    July 2, 2016

    Wow, that’s a lot of work! Looks like it’s going well. They sell a heavy clear vinyl that you can cut to fit and use soapy water to adhere to your windows to cut down on the train noise. I’ll see if I can find the link. It’s as good as double paned windows and helps with heating and cooling, too.

    • Anita
      July 4, 2016

      I found that clear vinyl you told me about. The windows are good, its the pull out sides of the air conditioner that are just paper. Paper is not going to keep out the noise. I believe a couple of pieces of rigid board insulation should work. I can buy that at the hardware store. So far I’ve not heard the train wheels screeching again.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2016 by in DOWNSIZING MY LIFE, MOVING and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
