Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Frugal diabetic – eight

It’s really your parent’s fault but how were they supposed to know that the Zappo Shock Toilet Trainer wasn’t really the latest scientific development and how it would affect your development?  As an adult you’ve got the cleanest house anywhere and a $10 a day cleaning products habit.  You’re on a first name basis with Mr. E. Coli and Ms. Super Bug and you know its a not-so-clean world out there.  Its chock full of lax personal hygiene and cooked shrimp somebody forgot to devein.  Given the probability of strange and foreign objects finding their way into the food production line you probably want to know whats in your food.  Right?  Well tough!  The processed food industry is not a restraunt and you have to take what everyone else is getting….. and like it.

New house 2016 101

Simple food for regular eating is not enough.  Most people want a little mystery in their food.  That’s why we accept secret recipes, secret sauces, and secret herbs & spices.  Secret is the food industry code word for “you don’t really want to know and we sure aren’t going to tell you.”  Millions of hearty eaters are happy with post-industrial chemical laden food and are willing to pay for it.  In my opinion; Mom was right all along…. don’t play with your food because you don’t know where its been.  😉

The main reason I became a “from scratch” cook and re-learned the art of preserving my own food was to know what was in my food.  During the move from my old house to this new one there were several days I had to eat fast food or go hungry.  I couldn’t find the box containing the cooking pans.  I also ate at the soup kitchen near the old house a couple of times and I skipped some meals.  As a result my blood sugar average went up and so did my weight.  I have a doctor appointment the end of this month and I’ll see just how much my A1C went up.

New house 2016 102

Its now time for me to get down to actual day to day living again.   This is home now.  This is where the next phase of my life begins.   I want it to be as healthy as I can possibly make it.  I haven’t baked a loaf of bread in what seems like a very long time.  There hasn’t been any food bank visits or food preserving either.  I did find where one mobile food bank is located.  It comes only once a month instead of once a week and doesn’t give much produce. Its mostly processed food. I’m told there is another mobile food bank drop off site not far away so I’ll be checking on that one.  I haven’t found a farmer’s market for this area yet.

I’m still waiting for the electrician to do the wiring so I can use the quilting machine. I can’t get started quilting until the wiring is finished.  I have to get someone to look at my washer too.  It leaks water when it spins and I can’t see where the leak is happening.

New house 2016 103

I really should be focusing on my WW2 diet to control my diabetes but my thoughts keep going back to unpacking and getting settled in this new house.  I keep thinking about organizing and preparing for winter and ideas for keeping my energy bills low.  I took my SIL shopping yesterday and instead of looking for food bargains I found myself looking at long johns, thick socks, LED light bulbs, and shelving.  When my mind refuses to stay on what it should I usually give up and go with it.  I’m rarely disappointed with the results.

Food and kitchen 2016 230

Ladybug asked if I had bought a new table.  No, I just have it being used as intended finally.  She had never seen it because it was in the storage room of the old house since before she was born eight years ago.

12 comments on “Frugal diabetic – eight

  1. Tegan Mally
    August 3, 2016

    Never mind! I found it! LOL My browser must be having a brainfart…

  2. Tegan Mally
    August 3, 2016

    I’ve been binge reading your blog posts for the last few days… I love hearing about how a return to common sense about food is healing. That’s something I’ve been doing for my own family, in an effort to control my weight (80lbs down so far!) and reading about someone else’s journey gives me new ideas… that said, did I miss the installment “Frugal Diabetic- seven” ? I can’t find it and don’t want to miss something.

  3. Kathleen Wood
    July 17, 2016

    So glad to hear that everything is getting settled. Didn’t worry a bit, knew that you could handle it.
    I have been busy myself with these dang chickens, I told my husband the other day “let’s load these hens up and take them back to Tracker Supply”!!! 😀 joking,….wouldn’t give them up for nothing…some days are just very long. a lot more work then I thought that it would be. they are 5 months old and 3 out of 6 are laying now. Someone said that fresh eggs are selling for $10.00 a dozen..2 years ago was the last time I bought fresh eggs and they were only $2.50-$2.75 some where in there. I know for sure that this flock is Never going to be in the black…initial cost was “WOW” a lot.
    You take care , enjoy your new home.
    In my thoughts and prayers
    Kathleen

    • Anita
      July 19, 2016

      Kathleen guess what. Ok, don’t worry, I’ll tell you. For several days I kept hearing a rooster crowing early each morning as I took the furry kid for his early walk. It was kind of faint so I couldn’t tell which direction it came from but I knew someone close by had chickens! I was told we couldn’t have them in this area. Anyway, a couple of days ago as I was leaving my house I saw 6 chickens, a turkey, and 3 big white ducks roaming free in a front yard a few houses down. Yes!! I was in a hurry so I couldn’t stop and I’m bashful so it may take me awhile but I’m gonna go see them up close. I gotta get up the nerve to knock on a stranger’s door. That’s one neighbor I really want to get to know. I believe fresh eggs at a local farmers market are selling at about $5 a dozen here. The price goes up when the weather is hot and back down when its cooler.

  4. Donna
    July 17, 2016

    Glad you are getting back to normal. It takes a while.

    • Anita
      July 17, 2016

      Waiting on the professionals is the hard part. The electrician, the termite inspector, the appliance repair person, the phone installer. Now I know how my quilt customers feel when waiting on me.

  5. kathi
    July 16, 2016

    settling in. GOOD. life is SHORT. dance naked. ok. in the SHOWER. but just DANCE and ROLL WITH IT ALL. hugs and love.

    • Anita
      July 17, 2016

      You know me so well. 😉

  6. Randal Oulton
    July 16, 2016

    (I know, typical eh? You write about 9 million things and then people hone in on the picture of the pet :} )

    • Anita
      July 17, 2016

      That’s ok, as long as it gives others ideas. When I first bought the heating pad and the furry kid realized it was warm, I swear he smiled at me. You should see him warming up his treats. He pulls the pad to the side, lays a few treats on the floor, then pulls the pad over them. Thats why I have the cord anchored to the chair. I kept tripping over it.

  7. Randal Oulton
    July 16, 2016

    Is the dog snuggled up on a heating pad?

    • Anita
      July 17, 2016

      Yes, his very own electric blanket. Set on the very lowest setting of course. He is old, very small, and he gets cold being so close to the floor. In summer its air conditioning and winter I keep the house cool.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
