Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

New lights and surge protectors

I’m slowly getting my new nest in order.  There are still several boxes left to empty and lots of organizing to do.  It will take time but its also a lot of fun searching, finding, buying, and using new frugal living stuff.  Many of the ideas are not new but are updated for today.

Did you ever see a person get really excited about a light fixture before?  I remember at the old house several years ago when I finally managed to get overhead lights above my quilting machine and how happy I was.  At that time florescent lighting was the newest energy saver.

Fast forward to today.  Well dag gone it, this new house doesn’t have overhead lights in the living room turned studio either.  What’s up with that?  Don’t people need to see in a living room?  The minute I saw there were no lights I realized my quilting time would again be limited to daylight hours until I could save the money for new overhead lights.

New house 2016 108

Then a very good friend bought me this…..

New house 2016 107

Ain’t it pretty?  She had it installed too.  I can’t thank her enough.  Because of the way the walls and ceilings are made and having bedroom floors upstairs instead of an attic the wiring had to be installed differently.  The wiring had to be inside conduit and visible.  I can live with it.  A little matching wall paint and no one will notice its there.

New house 2016 115

I can see to quilt whenever I want and that’s what matters.  The installer told me the center of the fixture is solid and tight but the ends are not.  They are delicate and I should not move the bulbs too often. I think I’m more excited about these lights than I was about the florescent ones.  The box said these bulbs are good for 50,000 hours of operation and use 75% less power.   Wow, that’s much better than squiggly bulbs.

New house 2016 112

Actually I need to replace 23 incandescent bulbs throughout this house.  That would be in all the ceiling fans and the bathroom fixture.  Apparently the previous occupant wasn’t trying to be frugal.

Most of the energy saving things I did at the old house are really outdated now or just won’t work here.  Back there I used the long strip surge protectors with a “turn off” button to help cut back on energy use.  They were ugly hanging on the walls but they were what I could afford and served their purpose.  Well, a new house deserves new surge protectors so I got these from Amazon.

New house 2016 121

I really like those single port surge protectors.  I believe each type has its own usefulness.  One of these is for the microwave because I really don’t need it using standby electricity until I’m ready to warm up my coffee or some leftovers.  Another one is for my quilting machine.  I don’t believe it uses any standby electricity but it doesn’t hurt to have it on a surge protector.

New house 2016 127

The three port surge protector was supposed to be for my tv and DVD player but it didn’t fit above the air conditioner plug.  So for now I’m using one of the old six port ones for the tv.  The tv won’t remain where it is.  It will go into what will be the den/living room when that room is cleared of boxes.  The three port protector will work in that room

New house 2016 137

There was one more place I wanted to put a surge protector.  It had to have a long cord because the wall outlet is behind the intake/work table.  This one is acting as an extension cord.  I don’t want to be moving the table and crawling behind it everytime I need to plug up the iron or my domestic sewing machine so this one is attached to the wall just above the table and within easy reach of the area I would be working.  Forgive the mess on the table.  The studio is still a work in progress.

New house 2016 138

I’m having a lot of fun researching new energy saving devices.  The ideas are the same but the items are all updated versions.  Even though we are going through a high heat wave at the moment my thoughts are on surviving through winter’s high utility bills.  The more I can do now the better it will be later.

10 comments on “New lights and surge protectors

  1. Leslie Saunders
    July 23, 2016

    Happy to hear that you are settling in and finding new ways to save money. It really is a process. Before my husband and I moved into our senior cottage here in Az., we painted, redid floors and covered shelves so that “moving in” would be easier. I agree with Donna. It is a good place to be, once you are settled in. I wish a sense of home and belonging for everyone, because there is nothing else like it.

  2. sarasinart
    July 22, 2016

    It’s so good you’re getting all settled and happy in your new nest.

    • Anita
      July 22, 2016

      Thanks, it does feel more like home.

  3. Margie in Toronto
    July 22, 2016

    You are really doing well getting things sorted bit by bit. I completely agree with you about the lack of overhead lights in living rooms – mine is like that too. Luckily I have big, west facing windows so at this time of year I don’t really need to turn on any lights until about 9pm – but in winter it’s another story. I have 3 different table lights plus the overhead fixture in the dining room but it’s not really enough. Buying additional lighting is the first thing on my list once I’ve saved up enough money.

    • Anita
      July 22, 2016

      It does make a big difference in how I feel at night. I wouldn’t have these lights if they hadn’t been a gift. Way out of my budget.

  4. Donna
    July 22, 2016

    So glad you are feeling more settled in. Moves take time and feeling like it’s finally your place is a good place to be.

    • Anita
      July 22, 2016

      You are so right about that Donna.

  5. mem37814
    July 22, 2016

    I belong to lots of frugal sites ,visit You Tube for frugal ideas but none fit my life style like your site. thanks for sharing

    • Anita
      July 22, 2016

      If you are like me you want more than the same old “wash with cold water” or “turn off the lights when you leave the room” type frugal tips. When I figure out a new way to save money or time or energy its exciting to me. I have one of those AHA moments.

      • Donna
        July 23, 2016

        That’s why we avidly follow your posts Anita. You have meaningful insights that provide powerful info we can all use.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
