Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Bathroom bling

I felt that my bathroom needed “something” but I wasn’t sure what that something should be.

New house 2016 097

I’m not even sure how to describe it.  The best I can describe is the bathroom was clean and neat but not glamorous.

New house 2016 098

I found these bling stickers (a few weeks ago) that look very much like the quilt designs I use all the time on customer quilts.  I had to have them even though I wasn’t sure where I would use them at the time.

New house 2016 100

I came across them again when unpacking.  Then it occurred to me that these would be the perfect touch to make my bathroom look glamorous.

New house 2016 131

I added a plant and an artificial flower to give it more glamour.  I feel my bathroom sink is now magazine worthy glamorous.  The rest of the room is still a work in progress.  Some readers may wonder why this bit of decorating is so exciting to me?  Well its that at the old house I couldn’t do things like this even though I owned the house.  In neighborhoods like that if you have too much to show then you become a victim.  Not always a victim of crime but a victim of “borrow-itis” lazy neighbors.  Its hard to deny you have something when its there for all to see.  Too many pretty things meant you had money that people could “borrow” to be paid on a payday that never came.  I don’t have that problem anymore.  I can display as much bling as I want and no one will come to borrow.

4 comments on “Bathroom bling

  1. craftytadpole
    July 25, 2016

    Good for you. Every girl deserves a bit of glamour every now and then.

  2. Jasna (aka Clara)
    July 24, 2016

    Congrats, Anita, it´s really lovely!!!

    Hugs from cold Patagonia (It´s minus five degrees, while people are enjoying the second and final night of theWinter Carnival. I didn´t feel up to it this year – oo cold for my bones. We just watched it on TV. The most amazing feature was an 8-metre Transformer which ACTUALLY transformed itself.)

    (Oh, and I perfectly understand “borrow-itis”, having suffered it myself.)

    Have another wonderful, exciting week!!!

    • Anita
      July 26, 2016

      I’m always amazed that someone at the other end of the world and I can talk to each other as if we were next door neighbors. While you are bundled from the cold we are having extremely hot temperatures. You stay warm.

  3. Linda
    July 24, 2016

    It looks lovely. I am so happy for you.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 243,603 Hits
