Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Dealing with carpet

I have carpet on some floors.  Many older homes had carpeting installed over nice wood flooring.  I do love wood floors.  So, I had the carpet removed from the studio floor before I moved in.  I plan to have the rest of the carpeting removed from the other rooms just as soon as I can pay to get it hauled away.  There are nice hard wood floors underneath that are in really good shape other than needing refinish.

Its difficult to keep carpeting clean.  Even a really good vacuum doesn’t get it clean and germ free like mopping a floor does.  Ok, this presented a problem for me.

New house 2016 128

I don’t want to purchase a vacuum because I know I won’t be using it long.  But, the floors do need some cleaning.  Using a broom is just too much work.  So, I bought this carpet sweeper.

New house 2016 151

This is cheap enough that I can afford to give it to my daughter after the carpeting is removed.  It works really well and doesn’t use any electricity.  It won’t do any deep cleaning but that’s ok for now.  I can keep the dust and germs to a minimum by using a sponge mop dampened with vinegar water.

4 comments on “Dealing with carpet

  1. Jane
    July 26, 2016

    I love my 161-year-old pine floors. I just scrub them once a year and apply raw linseed oil. Hope you can lose your carpets soon. 🙂

  2. kathi
    July 25, 2016

    LOVE the sweeper. hmmm? So glad things are progressing in your new home. also loved the “bathroom bling”. SO HAPPY for YOU.

    • Anita
      July 26, 2016

      Thanks Kathi. I’m slowly making it a home instead of just a house.

  3. Donna
    July 25, 2016

    I agree with losing the carpet! It harbors germs and mold and you can never truly get it clean. Hard on allergies too.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 243,598 Hits
