Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Another surge protector

There is another place I wanted a surge protector.  I wanted to clear up this mess on the floor from my computer.  That surge protector doesn’t hold all the plugs because some are too wide and it only has one off button.

New house 2016 139

I bought this one.  Each port has its own individual off/on switch.

New house 2016 140

See the on/off switches?  And, the ports are oriented side wise instead of lined up in a row like marching ants.

New house 2016 142

The computer, the internet modem, and the phone should never be turned off.  The printer, the monitor, and the speakers are turned off when not being used.  I only turn on the printer when I want to print something.  With this surge protector I can turn off only the ones I want off while the rest remain on.  I used some plastic bag ties as label markers on each plug.  See how the plugs fit together better?

New house 2016 143

I still have an ugly mess of wires but they are contained and off the floor.  I won’t be tripping over them.

New house 2016 147

Yup, I’m still using an old tower computer.  This set up is only temporary until I can either make a desk or find one I really like at a thrift store.  This desk belongs to Ladybug.  She wants it back when I finish using it.

New house 2016 144

I’m saving money one penny at a time.  I want to become so energy efficient that the utility company thinks I’m on an extended vacation.  I’m hoping (wishing) to get a laptop computer from someone who may be upgrading or maybe from freecycle.  So far no luck.  I’m just not that lucky.

13 comments on “Another surge protector

  1. Kathleen Wood
    August 25, 2016

    Anita ,
    I think that a printer should be left on because it needs to be updated regularly or it won’t work after awhile…..but I love all of your organizational thingies… 😀

    • Anita
      August 26, 2016

      Maybe for newer models but mine is old. It has stayed unplugged when not in use for at least 6 years without problems. It doesn’t have automatic updates.

  2. Margie in Toronto
    August 25, 2016

    I have these in at least 4 different locations – I live in an old apt. and there are only a few outlets – and not always where you need them! I’ve managed to hide the cords in a couple of locations but there is another that is a bit of an eyesore – I’m going to go through all the various pots & containers that I already own to see if I can find something to hide them behind!

    • Anita
      August 25, 2016

      How about one of those artificial flowers set in a plastic flower pot sold at the dollar store? Its all one piece. Put a hole in the back side for the cord to go in then another for it to go out. All the extra cord can be hidden under the flower inside the pot. I’ve been looking at some of those for myself.

  3. boblosan
    August 25, 2016

    I sure wish I lived closer to you. Here in CT I use Freecycle a lot. It’s very quiet now though. My hubby works on computers and if we lived closer, I would have him help you out. God bless you and I hope you find your desk.

    • Anita
      August 25, 2016

      Maybe he can advise me about the devices used to watch youtube on the tv? There are lots of quilting videos I like to watch for inspiration. I wish I could watch them while working in my studio but the computer is in another room. I have wifi now as a part of my house phone. I know there are different types and different brands but are there any that DON’T require a cell phone to set them up? I watch the freecycle posts as often as I can but someone always beats me to the lap tops.

      • boblosan
        September 6, 2016

        I will ask him for you.

  4. Randal Oulton
    August 25, 2016

    Do you remember around how much that surge protector cost? I’m seeing wildly varying prices for it on Amazon….

    • Anita
      August 25, 2016

      It was $10.99 plus shipping cost. The way I buy through Amazon is to view an item to the point of purchase then cancelling before hitting the buy now button. In a few days I view it again and many times it will be for a lower price. I think Amazon does that to entice you to buy when you haven’t quite made up your mind yet. But that’s only a guess on my part. I always look at the “used” versions because often there are items listed as used but aren’t. It is a Rosewill 6 outlet power strip with individual off switches. I see it listed as $24.99 now.

      • Randal Oulton
        September 8, 2016

        Got a bunch for 9.99 each, free shipping. Thanks for the heads up, they are all over the place now in the house, even have one in the kitchen with the microwave etc plugged into one.

        • Anita
          September 8, 2016

          Yippie!! I’m so glad someone else appreciated the value of using surge protectors.

          • Randal Oulton
            September 8, 2016

            Our electricity in Ontario is 18 cents a kWh and head for 25 cents, owing to government policies that artificially drove it all to the very bad place. You find me a hamster generating cage to go with that power bar, and I’ll be all over it :}

            • Anita
              September 8, 2016

              Oh my, and I thought our price at 8.5 cents kWh here in Kentucky was high. Ok, its all the extra fees tacked on that drive our costs here so high. For example on a bill with zero electrical usage the fees still come to over $40 and zero gas usage has around $50 in fees. So even if the poor have their electricity and gas disconnected for non-payment the bill continues to climb by almost $100 a month. The fees also go up according to how much is used too. Can’t win either way.

              I agree about the hamster cage. I’d be all over that too. BTW are you getting the new LED 8 watt light bulbs too? Or am I confused and you already have those?

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,619 Hits
