Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Baking marathon

I’m feeling a little better.  Illness always affects me much more than others.  A one day virus often has me off my feet for a week or more.  Over the last few days I’ve slept, coughed, gone to the bathroom, and slept more.  A couple of the coughing spells were quite scary and lengthy.  I sure don’t want to go through that again.

Well anyway, I must be feeling better today because I started feeling like my stomach could tolerate a little more than just water. I looked in the freezer for a pre-made meal and there wasn’t any there.  I had to take time to bake some bread so I could at least eat a sandwich.

Food and kitchen 2016 255

I rarely turn on the oven for just one item.  I use the wisdom of my Grandma Mama who always said why heat the oven several times when once will do?

I baked bread, cornbread muffins, biscuits, and my Grandma Mama’s favorite mix and match cake.  That is an egg less, milk less, yeast less, recipe from the depression that uses backing soda and vinegar for a light fluffy cake.  Mix and match meaning you can change the flavor when you want.  I used chocolate because thats what I had handy.

The cake looked and smelled so good I ate a piece for lunch along with my last jar of beans and a cornbread muffin.  I’ll need to do some canning soon.

Food and kitchen 2016 256

I like making my own bread for several reasons.  But, I can’t possibly eat a whole loaf of bread before it would go bad if left on a counter so I slice it and put into the freezer.  Its easy to thaw a couple of slices for a sandwich when needed.  The same with the biscuits, cornbread muffins, and cake.  I put those in the freezer too and thaw only what I need for a meal.

Food and kitchen 2016 257

Those items will stay good in the freezer for two or three months.

Grandma Mama would cook meats, vegetables, breads, and deserts all in one marathon of cooking.  With many mouths to feed she did this at least twice a week.  Ok, I’ve done all I can for today.  Going back to bed for more rest.  I’ll read the comments later.

12 comments on “Baking marathon

  1. Jasna from Patagonia
    September 14, 2016

    Those baked treats surely look yummy!!! Going to bake some oatmeal cookies here. Be well!!!

  2. Randal Oulton
    September 8, 2016

    I’m always interested in those wartime recipes — from a WeightWatchers point of view, as they usually end up lower in ww points than more modern recipes. I Googled “mix and match cake” but didn’t get any satisfactory results. Did the recipe come down to you in a book, or on a piece of paper? At some point in the future, would you consider doing a post on it, or, sharing the recipe in comments section?

    • Anita
      September 8, 2016

      Hi Randal, I’ll write a post with the recipe so it can be printed out. Its a very simple recipe but it is not sugar free unless you use artificial sweetener. It came to me through word of mouth from an aunt who still makes it often.

  3. sarasinart
    September 8, 2016

    It all looks so good! Enjoy every bite and feel better.

  4. Donna
    September 8, 2016

    Sorry you have been under the weather. It is bad to have to cook when you don’t feel well. Get some rest and recoop.

  5. KAY CAREY
    September 8, 2016

    Dear Na-Na,
    Sorry to hear that you’ve been under the weather… Here is my recipe for a soothing drink to moderate the coughing…
    Fill a mug with water, heat it in the microwave about 1 minute, then add a pinch of powdered ginger, a squirt of bottled lemon juice & about 2 TB of honey. Stir well & sip while resting…
    Best wishes for your recovery!! KMC

    • Anita
      September 8, 2016

      Thanks Kay, I’m feeling better now. I use honey lemon mix often but haven’t tried it with ginger before. I’ll give it a try next time.

  6. Linda Smith
    September 7, 2016

    Sorry to hear you’ve been ill. Feel better soon so you can show us more of your new house!

  7. nancy lotzer
    September 7, 2016

    Loved looking at your baking. I’m waiting for cool weather before turning on the oven. I won’t run the oven when the air-conditioning is on. Take care of yourself.

    • Anita
      September 8, 2016

      I would have waited too but my hunger won the battle.

  8. Leslie Saunders
    September 7, 2016

    Anita,
    We just got a break here in Az., with some rain and cooler air! It’s a real treat. Anyway, your post inspired some biscuits here, along with a Mac and cheese.
    I’m sending you a prayer that you feel better soon.
    Leslie

    • Anita
      September 8, 2016

      Thanks Leslie. I had heard your area was getting rain brought inshore as the remains of a hurricane. Must have been good timing for the cooler air and making biscuits. You make extra to freeze?

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
