Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

How quick life changes

My daughter has been struggling financially.  On Wednesday my daughter decided to go to the food bank for the first time.  I was going with her to help her through the process.  We were on our way and it was raining.  A truck in front of us stopped suddenly. The car my daughter was driving hydroplaned into the back of a pickup truck.  Everyone was ok including the truck driver.  His truck had only a very small spot on the bumper but my daughter’s car is totaled.  This will put her into a further financial bind.

I called my SIL when I got home from the accident.  She told me my niece had also been in an accident.  My niece had pulled onto the lot of a filing station to check on her infant grandson in his car seat when a man ran his car into her car on the driver’s side.  The rain caused that accident too.  They are ok but the door is tore up.  Her car is out of service until the door is replaced.

Later, I got a call from my sister.  She was on the way to take her daughter to a doctor appointment when a car in front of her stopped very suddenly, for no apparent reason, and my sister hydroplaned into the back of it.  They are ok too.  Her car has a broken brake line.  No brakes.

So, now everybody is without transportation.   In a few seconds a life change can happen.  I’m used to being without a car but they are not.  It reminds me how much people depend on autos for daily living.  Some feel totally crippled without a car to go places.  Work, shopping, doctor visits, school, and lots of other things all require a car unless someone is like me.  I do just fine without a car.  Going places takes much more time but I do get there when I need to.

I feel the after affects of being in an accident.  Although I’m not really hurt my muscles ache from tensing up as I saw it about to happen.  I have a bruise on my neck from where the seat belt pulled tight.  We all are happy with small blessings.  Things could have been worse.

 

23 comments on “How quick life changes

  1. KAYTHEGARDENER
    October 2, 2016

    Oh, Na-Na, what a storm of troubles!! I hope that everyone recovers soon…It’s no fun to have to search out a replacement vehicle suddenly.
    Take care of your family, get some relaxing by doing quilting & we’ll wait for your blog at your convenience. Again, so glad that no one was hurt badly…

    • Anita
      October 4, 2016

      Thanks, I will.

  2. Trisha
    September 30, 2016

    I’m so glad that you are all ok. It is amazing just how quickly your life can change. Take care of those sore muscles.

  3. Leslie Saunders
    September 30, 2016

    Anita,
    I’m so sorry younand your family went through all this. Have to say I’m grateful none of you were injured. Maybe your daughter and relatives could encourage some kind of rideshare, in exchange for some other service. Wishing you all well.

    • Anita
      October 4, 2016

      Everyone is looking at all options.

  4. Jasna
    September 30, 2016

    What a stressful week for your family! Thank God you are all fine.
    I am a non car -owner myself, and I agree that, even if it takes a bit longer, one gets to places in time. Plus, walking´places and to and from bus-stops is good exercise. I´ve found I don´t go breathless when I have to climb the stairs as other people do.
    Take things easy and try to rest a bit so that those annoying after-shock effects go away quickly.
    Hugs from Patagonia.
    Jasna

  5. Margie in Toronto
    September 30, 2016

    So sorry to hear about all the accidents – thank God no one was seriously hurt – but it must be terrible for all concerned with having to deal with insurance companies and the added cost of repairs etc.
    I never did get my driver’s license – had a learner’s a couple of times but never followed through. But I live in a big city with extensive and safe public transit so it’s never stopped me from doing anything. Even those who have cars will often not drive downtown – we are always encouraged to use transit and the price of parking alone certainly encourages everyone to think twice!
    I also walk a lot – even though I use a cane – and I have a couple of “bundle buggies” to use if I’m getting a lot of things or items that are extra bulky or heavy.
    If I lived in the suburbs it would be more difficult although we have good bus service – I’m lucky in that I usually only take the subway or a streetcar. I live right across the street from a subway stn. so that really makes it very convenient.
    Hope you aren’t too banged up and that things get sorted for your family.

    • Anita
      October 4, 2016

      The cost of parking in downtown Louisville was just raised to $3 or $4 per hour at meters. I have no idea how much a parking lot or garage costs.

  6. Erica
    September 30, 2016

    What a tough time! But as you say, everyone has been so lucky that it is only the cars that have been seriously hurt! My thoughts are with you all and I hope that your family adapt to this car-free period without too much inconvenience. I haven’t had a car for 4 years now and I actually enjoy the extra activity that I get from using public transport. Sometimes the extra travel time is a nuisance, but it’s never stopped me from going anywhere. I also hope you are feeling like yourself again soon too! It would have been terrible to see it unfolding in front of you. Xx

    • Anita
      October 4, 2016

      We are all doing fine after a couple days rest. Thanks.

  7. Donna
    September 30, 2016

    So sorry for the accidents. Hope you don’t have a whiplash! Things always seem to happen at the worst times. Take care of yourself. I will be praying for all of you.

  8. Kathleen
    September 30, 2016

    Omg….God Bless you and your Family!

  9. kathi
    September 30, 2016

    oh Anita!! Yes, Thankfully everyone is Ok after all these accidents. But yes, for many, to be without a car is a very helpless feeling in this day and age. I often now yearn for the days when “public transportation” was frequent, and convenient. Now. it is not. I am praying for your daughter. When our children are in difficult financial ways, it hurts us and we want to help. Most of the time, we cannot. That hurts, I know. My daughter still had quite the mess going on. I will pray that a miracle car comes for your daughter. Or at least some serious help in the transportation department. As well as all the others now with disabled vehicles. sigh.

    • Anita
      October 4, 2016

      Yes Kathi, it does hurt when we can’t help them. She’s taking the bus for most things but will rent a car on days when its absolutely necessary. Like when its required she travel out of town for work.

  10. Jackie
    September 30, 2016

    M so sorry! I m hoping it ALL gets worked out quickly!

  11. Rachel Jernigan
    September 30, 2016

    I am so glad everyone is okay.
    I have been following your blog for a while but never commented.
    I enjoy reading all your stories.

    • Anita
      October 4, 2016

      Thank you Rachel. I’m happy to have you reading my blog. Comments aren’t required (smile)

  12. Cynthia
    September 30, 2016

    What a series of bad luck, but thank goodness in all that no one was seriously injured. It is a major difficulty to be without a car in most places in the U.S. Unless you have public transportation as a priority in selecting where you live and plan your daily life around its availability, it can be impossible.
    I hope your soreness heals and all are able to find transportation quickly.

  13. sarasinart
    September 30, 2016

    I’m sorry all of you went thru all of that! Things could be worse: nobody got hurt, but what a lot of problems in one family and so quick. Feel better.

  14. janeisgreen
    September 30, 2016

    My goodness, what a frightening day! I can’t even imagine all those things happening at once. I’m so glad that everybody is more or less okay.

    (The only thing I don’t like about living in a rural area: the need for a car. I didn’t have one when I lived in the city.)

  15. Emma
    September 30, 2016

    Bless you. Glad you and your family are okay.

  16. Nini
    September 30, 2016

    I am so sorry for all the mishaps in your family. However I am so happy that they didn’t turn into tragedy. Albeit…losing your only source of transportation definitely puts a monkey wrench in your daily life. Hopefully insurance will cover all expenses and will get everyone up and running again soon.

  17. Pat
    September 30, 2016

    So sorry to hear about these accidents. Even when yo think you’re ok, the after effects can last years. Blessings to you all.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2016 by in JUST THINKING and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,273 Hits
