Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Outside work done

The schools have been on fall break and Ladybug has been here with me.  I took advantage of the time by having her help me do some fall cleanup work.  When I first moved here I shoved things into the shed telling myself I’d deal with them later.  Well, later happened over the weekend.  Ladybug helped (a little) to pull everything out of the shed and reorganize it.  Several things are boxed up ready for freecycle.

Then we washed lawn chairs and stored those away for the year.  If by chance I should need them before next year its just a matter of walking to the shed for retrieval.

I’ve been s..l..o..w..l..y putting the base for my new clothes line into the ground.  I bought the screw in kind of base so it could be moved later if I want.  My muscle strength is that of a little old lady ’cause I am one.  I’d go out everyday and turn the danged thing once or twice giving it every bit of strength I had.  Even my son in law had difficulty the one time he tried. Anyway, I finally got the base low enough for a mower to go over it.  Its not perfectly straight but who cares.  I don’t think I’m going to move the danged thing ever.

food-and-kitchen-2016-323

Ladybug had fun opening and closing it several times.  Pull the string to open.  Push the button to close.  Be sure to stand back or duck out of the way of the lines.

food-and-kitchen-2016-325

This really should be called a clothes “twine” because that’s what it is, twine.  We decided not to give it a try with actual laundry just yet because there were so many mosquitoes attacking us.  I didn’t pay much attention to it before but that area of the yard is the perfect breeding ground for mosquitoes.  I’ve got to find a pesticide safe to use in damp yards.  I’m afraid this is something I’ll have to use continually because my house is in a flood plane and the yard will never completely dry out.

Next we mopped out the garbage can and the recycle bin.  Yucky!  Both had spiders in them and stank.  They still stink but the spiders are gone.

After all those things were done we came inside to move things around in the storage room.  I emptied a couple more boxes of stuff.  I can’t finish all the unpacking just yet.  I’ve still got some planning and decisions to make about having a quilt studio.  Upstairs or downstairs?

I drew a design on a piece of foam core board for Ladybug to color for me.  It is going to be an energy saver device to block air flow but that’s another post.

ladybug-2016

She works at the speed of a kid while I work at the speed of an old lady.  Sometimes that’s a good thing and often just exhausting.  Its hard to keep her occupied when she flits from one project to the next.  Now that fall break is over and she’s gone home I’m taking a couple of days for rest.

6 comments on “Outside work done

  1. KAYTHEGARDENER
    October 15, 2016

    Never thought of making homemade orange cleaners. I use a carrot peeler on the washed leftover breakfast orange or grapefruit halves to make strips and break them into pieces about 1/4″ x 1″. Spread them into a single layer between paper towels on a plate or pie tin. Put the dish in a spot on top of the refrigerator & check every few days till quite dry. Then crush a bit & behold! Citrus bits to use in stews, soups or desserts for excellent flavors…

    • Anita
      October 15, 2016

      Great idea. Thanks for sharing it. I guess this would be good for flavoring icing too.

  2. Julie V
    October 5, 2016

    Hi, I hope the mosquito issue is gone soon. I spray my yard and bushes where I have a problem with mosquitoes with equal parts lemon ammonia, lemon juice, and lemon dish soap. I read about it online years ago…not sure where though. I think it helps. I also read to spray a mix of equal parts peppermint oil and water on oneself as a repellent–I’ve done this also but with mixed results. I think they love us diabetics for our sweetness. Good luck with it.

    • Anita
      October 7, 2016

      Thanks, I’ll try it. Can’t hurt to try. Hee, Hee, maybe you’re right Julie we are sweeter.

  3. Leslie Saunders
    October 5, 2016

    Ladybug looks and sounds like good company to me! Wish I was as far along as you in the tidy and find detail, but Az. Let’s you get away with things in terms of weather. We put up a clothesline the minute we got here..saves a ton on electricity, because we have sun most days of the year.
    Want to share a simple cleaner that saves so much money . Take orange, lemon, tangerine, lime …any citrus peels, and place them in a glass jar. Pour white vinegar over the peels, cap the jar and refrigerate for a week or so. Use this in a spray bottle for air freshener, spots on upholstery, chrome, stains on clothing, refreshing plastic that has a musty smell…the uses are endless!

    • Anita
      October 7, 2016

      Yes, I do make homemade orange cleaner all the time. Ladybug is the only one of my grands who is interested in spending time with me doing stuff. She’s great company for me.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2016 by in DOWNSIZING MY LIFE, JUST THINKING.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
