Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Comments and followers

According to wordpress I have 147 followers and have had almost 130,000 visitors.  No way!  Its more like 10 to 15 actual followers.  The rest are “weird” internet troll people who follow blog after blog after blog for monetary gains.  They follow blogs in the hopes of getting people to reciprocate and follow their blogs to increase follower numbers.  They get money from advertisements everytime a person clicks on their website even if its from curiosity.   They get a larger amount per click if they have more followers.  They don’t have to actually read the blogs they follow because blogging people feel obligated to follow them.

Each time one of those following trolls leaves a comment on my blog its creepy and spooky.  Makes my skin crawl.  Their comments almost always contain a link of some type which I suspect is how they find other blogs to follow and increase the numbers.  No way could anyone be reading blog posts of over a million blogs on a regular basis.  Look at this post I wrote back in November 2013. Something doesn’t feel right.  Here’s a better post I wrote in December 2014 called Visitors followers and spam.

That’s when I started researching why I was getting strange followers.  As far as I know, none of the blog companies like wordpress or blogger allows you to block or delete spam followers.  That’s also when I started moderating all comments.  It may take a day or two for comments to show up on my blog posts because my computer is turned off until I have time to set awhile.  Readers read and comment at different times so I moderate the comments at different times.

The comments are below the boxes for related posts.

food-and-kitchen-2016-356

I’m not sure why they would not show up on a cell phone.  I don’t have a cell phone so I can’t figure it out.  I do know that you must click on the link in email to be taken to the blog where you can find the comments.  I follow some blogs by email and that’s what I do when I receive a post from their blogs.

I also want to say a big THANK YOU to the legitimate blog readers.  Even if you don’t comment and only click the like button it lets me know you are there.  Not every reader will have anything to say and that’s ok too.

30 comments on “Comments and followers

  1. Mandy
    October 28, 2016

    well now you have a new REAL follower =) this is why I struggle between having my instagram page private or open, half my followers are pimping their own stuff and never visit or contribute, but if I want valuable people to follow I need to leave the door open. I stumbled upon your blog on accident but very glad I did.

    • Anita
      October 28, 2016

      I’m glad you found me and thanks for letting me know you are real. I looked at your blog but didn’t see a follow button. I’m not on instagram. I did bookmark it so I can read it as time allows. Your canning looks great by the way.

  2. Elaine
    October 19, 2016

    I am not a blogger and have never heard of those troll people, but they are definitely creepy. I enjoy reading your posts.

    • Anita
      October 21, 2016

      Hi Elaine, thanks for reading. The internet troll people are comparable to those annoying phone calls from the “Microsoft” scam people or the “IRS” scam people trying to trick us out of money. The only difference is the device used for the scams.

  3. sarasinart
    October 17, 2016

    Hey I’m real too and have been following your words of wisdom for a while. I understand what you mean about what I call “cling-ons”, junk that appears on the blog. We can tell who’s really somebody out there and who are following for all the reasons you just said. And thanks for following mine!

  4. Donna
    October 17, 2016

    I am one of those who does not always comment but reads EVERY post. Your thoughts, ideas, and suggestions are little nuggets of gold which I enjoy so much! If it helps you out in any way I would gladly comment on each. I don’t get out much so I feel like you are a friend who shares their wisdom.

    • Anita
      October 17, 2016

      I appreciate the thought but comments aren’t really necessary for me to keep blogging. I enjoy writing. Comments are when people feel they have something to contribute and many do. I often learn new things from reading comments.

  5. Randal Oulton
    October 17, 2016

    I believe that only people who have wordpress.org accounts, and are logged in, can click the LIKE button. A friend reads your every post but is unable to comment or like as he doesn’t have a wordpress.org account. It’s a limitation of wordpress.org I guess. So just to say you may have a few more actively engaged mind-wise people than you know.

    • Anita
      October 17, 2016

      Thanks Randal. Tell your friend thanks for reading. Maybe you are right and its a wordpress thing.

  6. Kip Ashbourne
    October 17, 2016

    I can’t like your posts because I do not have a blog on wordpress but I read it all the time! Really enjoy your style of writing and your content

    • Anita
      October 17, 2016

      Thanks Kip. It probably is a wordpress thing. Thanks for reading.

  7. captnmike
    October 17, 2016

    I am a real follower – don’t comment or click the like button very often, seems to me my site as one legitimate comment for every several thousand page views,

    I have been moderating my comments since the beginning, a common practice is for someone to leave a comment that they have subscribed to something and get too many email, or the site does not display properly on their browser -I just ignore them

    Keep up the good work and don’t worry about the spam followers, I have no desire to follow a blog just because they follow mine, I don’t expect you to follow or visit my regular boating site, not your interest near as I can figure out – maybe I will leave a link to my mumbling site and my killer deviled eggs – like you have never tasted before (guaranteed 🙂 )

  8. Kathy Thompson
    October 17, 2016

    Hello, Anita. I don’t blog, and not being familiar with any of them I had a pickle figuring out how to send you a message. I just wanted to let you know that I’m a real person. I found you while searching for someone like-minded as I was about to retire and frankly a little scared of it. My husband had a horrible case of pneumonia and it took over a year to rebuild his health. I was afraid that by the time I retired I’d be sitting here all alone. So I found you, and a couple of other ladies blogging about their experiences. It reminded me that I have a backbone and can pretty much do anything I need to. Thank you for that! I seldom comment, but I find myself trying to hit the Like or Love button when you post something that really hits home. I have more time for quilting now, also, and I’ve enjoyed reading some of your quilt blog entries. My husband has recovered pretty well, probably because I was here with him instead of leaving him at home alone every day. Thank you for sharing the information! We were both laid off when the economy tanked, and found that food banks are here, but a good one may be hard to find. Some are great but half the goods are rotten, and some you have to pay for. We pick and choose and make out okay by cherry picking the store ads and farmers markets. My daughter has really gotten into the canning and independence from grocers, and we help each other out. Sometimes you post a tip or recipe that we both use. Thanks again, keep writing. From a Real Person (ha) Kathy

    • Anita
      October 17, 2016

      Kathy, I’m thankful that your husband is ok. I went through illness after illness after illness for five or six years so I can sympathize. I went through it mostly by myself. It took awhile for me to find a really good doctor and now no more sickness. I’m glad you found some like minded people. We all manage to survive somehow don’t we?

      Yes, lots of the food I get is bad too. I guess that’s why its so important for me to preserve the good stuff. Never know what we’ll get next. I can’t imagine my life without canning in it. I really believe its has a big influence on my health by keeping the chemicals out. If you need to send me an email instead of commenting its ok too.

  9. nancy lotzer
    October 16, 2016

    I enjoy your posts. It’s always interesting to see how others solve frugal/spending problems.

    • Anita
      October 18, 2016

      I feel the same way.

  10. Suzanne
    October 16, 2016

    I only recently found your website and avidly read all your past to present postings. I’m not one to comment often but I wanted you to know you have another dedicated follower.

    • Anita
      October 17, 2016

      Suzanne, comments are not required. Here for your reading enjoyment. (smile)

  11. janeisgreen
    October 16, 2016

    I just added another spam blocker plug-in to my wordpress blog (the other wordpress, not the one you use). It’s WP-SpamShield; don’t know if you can use it or not. Akismet has been allowing piles of spam comments lately, but this one gets them all. I no longer have to do it manually.

    • Anita
      October 17, 2016

      Thanks, I’ll give that a try. Say, are you the lady who lives in an old farmhouse and sells crochet items?

  12. Linda S
    October 16, 2016

    I’ve commented a few times because I think we’re close to the same age, we’re both quilters & we’re both frugal! I enjoy your posts.

    • Anita
      October 18, 2016

      Thanks Linda. You a longarmer or a topper?

  13. Cynthia
    October 16, 2016

    Well, I’m one of those non-spam readers who enjoys your blog. 🙂 I read it on my iPad or sometimes my phone. I know where the comments are supposed to be but most of the time I never see anyone else’s comments and after I send mine I see it for that visit and then it is gone when/if I come back to your blog. Thanks for answering my question today as until now I thought you didn’t show the comments. I wonder if it is just me who doesn’t see them or others don’t either.
    Blogger has some mysterious quirks, that’s for sure.

    • Anita
      October 18, 2016

      No, it seems several people don’t see the comments either. It seems to be a wordpress problem and I don’t know how to change it. Some have said they visit the blog on desktop computers to see all the comments.

  14. Linda
    October 16, 2016

    I’m Linda and I am a normal (?) real person who enjoys your blogs. Please don’t stop blogging because of those weirdos. I don’t blog so I had no idea people can actually make money but I guess that explains all of those annoying ads.

    • Anita
      October 18, 2016

      Yes, there are people who earn money from the ads on their blogs. Its a world “get rich quick” scheme. Thats why the visitor counts are important. Each one is money in the bank. I used to visit a couple of well known quilter’s blogs but had to stop reading because of lots of ads getting in the way of reading the posts. One quilter had over twenty ads. The pop up ads are very annoying. Those “follow me for more” boxes are the worst in my opinion. I leave those sites immediately without reading anything. There was a time when I thought about earning money from ads but it was so counter to what my blog is all about that I abandoned the idea right away. My blog is about saving money so ads to get people to spend is counter intuitive. The one ad on my blog posts is done by wordpress and not me. It helps pay for free blogs.

  15. boblosan
    October 16, 2016

    I don’t understand why people have so much time on their hands and so much negativity in their hearts. I guess some get paid to leave those comments. Some are just mean. Some take out their bad day on others by leaving hateful comments. I get a lot of information from you and you teach me things I didn’t have the opportunity to learn. I thank you for having this blog and for letting me be a follower.

    • Anita
      October 18, 2016

      Yup, there is a lot of negativity in this world. I’m glad I can keep my own frustrations to a minimum and not spread it around.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2016 by in JUST THINKING, PEST CONTROL, TODAY STUFF FOR YESTERDAY MINDS and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,140 Hits
