Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

More energy saving ideas

I guess everyone already knows closing room doors and shutting off vents in unused rooms will save energy?  That idea has been around a very long time.  Centuries.  I’ve been keeping doors closed and I’m still working on ways to stop air flow.  This open area between the hall and the studio has no doors.  Its like an invitation for heated air to travel through the studio and up the stairs to where its not needed.  This area needs something to prevent air flow.

energy-diet-2016-054

At my old house there was an opening like this where I had a quilt hanging.  It would raise and lower like a window shade.  This is closed.

energy-saving-2013-051

This is open and you can see the rolled up quilt fit inside the area at the top.  If you click the photo to make it larger you should be able to see the strings that made it work.

energy-saving-2013-050

The quilt I had used at the old house was too small for the open area of this house.  A friend had given me some blankets to see if I could find a use for them and sure enough one of them fits this opening pretty close.  The next problem was how to hang it.  Command hooks don’t work on these walls.  This is what happens.

energy-diet-2016-060

That is from a plastic clock weighing only about 6 ounces.  It fell during the night.  Some of my pictures have fallen off the wall as well.  What’s with this house and things falling to give me a fright during the night?  Strange.

energy-diet-2016-061

I thought about using a closet rod similar to the one used at the old house but there would still be a gap above it where air could flow past plus there isn’t enough room for it rolled up.  So, thinking about options, I finally came up with the idea of cup hooks on the wall and safety pins on the quilt. That would cover the whole opening without a lot of bulk or any gaps at the top.  It will be easily removed to wash or to put away in the spring.  It needs a bit of adjusting with a new hem but its ok for now.

energy-diet-2016

The next area that needs something to block air flow is the stairway door.  A cloth shower curtain is hanging there.  I don’t have a quilt to fit so I thought why not add another shower curtain as an added layer.

energy-diet-2016-071

This works for a temporary solution.  Lady bug had started coloring a piece of foam board for me to use as a cornice to stop the air flow above.  She only finished half and will finish the other half when she comes back again.  Isn’t it pretty?  It’s put up with double sided tape.

energy-diet-2016-072

Ok, those two things (the quilt and curtains) are not going to stop all heat from going up the stairs but I believe they will help slow it down.  I still have not turned on the furnace.  I need the guy to come explain to me how it works with the humidifier.  So far, the temperature inside the house hasn’t gone below 60 degrees yet.

8 comments on “More energy saving ideas

  1. Margie in Toronto
    November 11, 2016

    My grandmothers in Scotland used curtains or quilts like this all the time and it certainly helped to keep things cozy. They also used draft blockers for at the bottom of doors – mostly home made – looked like stuffed “snakes” and again blocked drafts – every little bit helps.

    • Anita
      November 14, 2016

      I used door snakes at the old house but luckily I don’t need them here. I’m guessing that living in a cold climate means you do lots of things to stay warm? You could probably teach me (and the readers) a few things. Any tips you’d care to share with us?

  2. Janice Humes
    November 10, 2016

    I have been reading your blog for several months. We are about the same age and I have enjoyed your frugal tips and wisdom. However, I am very disappointed to read your political statement, calling our new president a dictator. I am not saying I will not visit here again, but your words make me feel unwelcome in your home. I can go other places online to discuss politics, but that is not why I come here.

  3. Donna
    November 10, 2016

    You are so clever! What a great idea for blocking air flow! The cup hooks are genius. I may borrow that for my bedroom. I have the same problem with command strip not sticking.

    • Anita
      November 14, 2016

      Sure, go ahead and use the idea. Glad it helps.

  4. camcoogan
    November 10, 2016

    Creative solutions!

  5. Nini
    November 9, 2016

    You are so clever and inventive. It looks great!

  6. nancy lotzer
    November 9, 2016

    Love your make-do attitude!

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,605 Hits
